Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Straightedges : String Action Gauge

String Action Gauge


Read 179 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Fast, accurate measurements for setups. Our String Action Gauge is a "Swiss Army Ruler" for setup adjustments on any stringed instrument.

See details below

Email a friend
String Action Gauge

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0670 Inches Yes
$18.95

0670-M Metric 5-7 days
$18.95


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Precision Straightedges



Radius Gauges



Guitar Player Repair Guide



Fret Rocker



Fret Slot Depth Gauge



Precision Straightedges
Radius Gauges
Guitar Player Repair Guide
Fret Rocker
Fret Slot Depth Gauge



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Articles
Instructions
This pocket-size stainless steel rule has become a luthier's favorite in busy shops. It's the best way yet to get vital measurements on acoustic and electric instruments.
• String height
• Bridge saddle height
• Saddle slot depth
• Fret slot depth (unbound fingerboards)
• Nut height
• Pickup polepiece height


No more "three-and-a-half-64ths or 3/32" plus one of those little lines." This gauge measures in ways that regular rulers can't. —Dan Erlewine

Developed here at Stewart-MacDonald by Dan Erlewine and Don MacRostie, the gauge features a progressive string height scale: simply slide it across the frets and read the measurement under the string. It's faster to use than any ruler, and stays parallel to the fingerboard—much easier than trying to hold a ruler perpendicular to a rounded fret. The string height markers are graduated from .010" to .140" on the inch model, and from 0.25mm to 3.50mm on the metric version.

The back of the gauge has a time-saving fractional/decimal/metric conversion chart.

The String Action Gauge is made of durable stainless steel with precision-etched markings, and fits right in your pocket.

Tip: You can use the gauge to set router depth, instead of a shop ruler. It sits solidly on your router base, with the scale right where you need it.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
String Action Gauge
String Action Gauge
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 179 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 101 – 110 < 1  ...  10  11  12  ...  18 >
5 12-23-2011
String Action Gauge

Usually I set up my guitars basically by trial and error and bits of paper with pencil marks on them for string height etc. However I recently purchased the String Action Gauge and it makes things very much simpler and much more consistent. As a result I have reset up 4 guitars since getting it and eventually I'll work my way through the rest.

Pat Green  UK Read my reviews (20)
5 12-21-2011
Gotta have a dozen!

Why? So I'll have one for the rest of my life if they quit making them - that's why! One would easily last a lifetime on the shop table, but I want to carry one in my billfold like a credit card and I'm afraid the ink and markings will wear off (probably won't though). This is the single most all-round valuable tool on this website. I promise!

JLondon  Owensboro, KY Read my reviews (13)
5 12-18-2011
String Action Gauge

Simply excellent and especially fast to be used. A++++

giuspe  Milan, Italy
5 11-25-2011
Handy Little Tool

I was having some tone issues after changing the strings and adjusting the action on my Godin 5th Avenue. I tried to adjust every string just above buzz, but it just wasn't quite right. With this little tool, I had everything right within 2 minutes. The price is way less than I would have paid for set-up. Be sure to watch the instructional video. That was helpful as well.

Diana Wagner Music  Salisbury, MD, USA
5 11-19-2011
String action gauge

Only a very simple product, but a very necessary one if you want to get into setting your guitar up properly. The quality of the product is excellent with all the markings clear and accurate. The rudimentary instructions and benchmark values are also very helpful. The purchase interface (the website), considering I am buying everything from "overseas", is second to none. I have bought before from firms in the USA and have had endless problems. This firm has got it right. Thanks for the service you offer.

Mateo de la bodleiana  Oxford, England
5 11-13-2011
S.A.G. rules the bOard!

it makes your life simple. no more guessing... and by the way it includes "forbidden notes"...LOL. just get one and you'll know whats the Forbidden notes. ;p

jiROck Custom  Philippines Read my reviews (58)
3 11-07-2011
good but not great

i would rather have the gauge mirrored on the backside than have a fractional to decimal conversion table. This would allow you to flip the gauge when working on the high E side and have the gauge near the string and your eye. instead of having to look down over 5 other strings and try and judge the height accurately. if you try and do this with the gauge as it stands you will not be able to use the string height markings near the nut.

dharper  Cambridge, ON, CA
5 11-06-2011
easy to read

Worked great.

Set-up Technician  Solon,Ohio Read my reviews (18)
5 11-04-2011
Super Setup Tool

This gauge has been incredibly useful! It's the easiest way to measure string height at any given fret. I got the metric version, and I use a table to convert to inches. Highly recommended!

Slip'ry Dan Weisberg  San Jose, CA Read my reviews (6)
5 10-21-2011
Great for setups

Great tool for quickly measuring string height after making saddle or truss rod adjustments. It not as active as a file or saw but it's extremely handy to have available. The conversion chart on the back was a nice use of space as well.

tb  Portland OR Read my reviews (50)
Displaying 101 – 110 < 1  ...  10  11  12  ...  18 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 12 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce