Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Straightedges : Notched Straightedge

Notched Straightedge


Read 66 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Read the fretboard instead of the frets. Developed in our shop, the notched straightedge has become a standard for evaluating fretboards.

See details below

Email a friend
Notched Straightedge

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
3814 For guitars Yes
$79.37

3813 For basses Yes
$81.58

3812 For short scale basses and baritone guitars Yes
$81.58


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Neck Relief Gauge



Radius Gauges



Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam



Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files



Neck Relief Gauge
Radius Gauges
Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam
Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files



Details
 Pictures
 Video
The notches fit right over the frets so you can check the straightness of the fretboard itself, without the interference of worn or badly-seated frets.

Made of machined stainless steel, satin-finished for easy marking with a pencil (cleans off easily).

#3814 For guitars
One edge is notched for Gibson "long scale", plus Fender and Martin fretboards. The other edge fits Gibson's 24-3/4" scale, plus 25" Paul Reed Smith and Dobro® Scale.
Length 16-1/2" (420mm)
Width 1-1/2" (38mm)
Thickness .130" (3.25mm)

#3813 For basses
One edge is for Fender 34" scale; the other edge for 35" scale.
Length 22-5/8" (575mm)
Width 1-1/2" (38mm)
Thickness .130" (3.25mm)

#3812 For short scale basses and baritone guitars
One edge fits Fender Bajo Sexto 30.2" scale, Gibson EB 30.5" scale, plus Fender 30" short-scale bass and Danelectro 30" baritone scale. The other edge fits Fender's Baritone Custom Jaguar 28.5" scale, Eastwood's 28" scale and custom baritone scales falling between 28" and 28.5".
Length 19" (482.6mm)
Width 1-1/2" (38mm)
Thickness .130" (3.25mm)


/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Notched Straightedge
Notched Straightedge
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 66 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5  ...  7 >
5 1-08-2012
notched straight edge

interesting way to see neck relief

sing  volente texas, Read my reviews (3)
5 12-28-2011
I love it!

I have been doing guitar setups for years without this tool. Now that I have it, I don't wanna work without it anymore. I use it everyday to check the neck on guitars and for setups. No more guessing, no more looking along the neck and still not being sure.

MoorMusic  Switzerland Read my reviews (44)
5 12-23-2011
Real Answers

I finally broke down and bought one of these. I'm working on a problematic bass neck so I started with that one. I love it. The one for guitar is on my short list. It really does take all the guess work out of reading a neck and gives me a clear picture of what I'm working with. This thing is a good chunk of metal that will last a lifetime. BTW, the difference between 3.25mm and 3.56mm is roughly .012" (which is about 3 pieces of printer paper). That's well within the tolerances most manufacturers work with, especially on a non critical dimension, and the "thickness lie" mentioned is a non issue.

Rob's Mod Shop  Holland, MI Read my reviews (2)
3 12-01-2011
The Thickness is only 3.25mm,not like the mentioned 3.56mm

Disappointed about the “thickness lie”

Riocky  Nanning,China
StewMac responds

Riocky,
We are very sorry to hear you have received a Notched Straightedge that doesn't match the advertised thickness. Our supplier has changed this spec and we are in the process of updating our website. 3.25mm is plenty rigid enough for this tool. Again, we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.

5 11-16-2011
Another great tool from Stew Mac

Straight edge really works well for pinpointing problem areas on a neck. There's always the "sight the neck" technique, but this really allows the user to see where the problem(s) are. The edges are sharp so be careful when using around instruments.

A&Z Guitar Repair  Eolia, MO
5 11-11-2011
Peace of mind

Having these straight edges really gives me peace of mind. I don't have to worry about if I'm leveling frets on a flat neck or not or if my set is accurate. I use these tools frequently.

Jeff deVries  Ottawa, Canada Read my reviews (2)
5 10-23-2011
GREAT

Very smooth surface, edges are very sharp,
good weight and thickness.

Must have this tool even you're guitar player.
to know your own instrument, to great play.

This is valuable tool.

drinkbarmits  Tokyo, JAPAN Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
5 9-07-2011
Very nice!

Great quality tool to add to the tool box. Makes fret work and set up easy.

wileyj59  Rochester, NY
4 8-30-2011
Great for a true reading of the neck.

I have both sizes to cover both instruments. They are handy for understanding where the wood of the fingerboard is vs the fret-heights. Makes for better decisions on fretwork.

This tool could also be used to read the tops of the frets if you are on a budget and could only buy 1 tool.

My only complaint is that I have run into a few guitars that had a scale-length that didn't fit any of the tools.

Middleton Guitars  Southern California Read my reviews (51)
5 7-19-2011
Notched Straightedge

I use this tool in my repair shop every day. I could not imagine not having this tool.

JTM Musical Repairs  Marion, IL
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5  ...  7 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 12 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce