Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Straight Router Bits

Straight Router Bits


Read 12 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Cutter bits for inlay routing, widening fret slots or bridge slotting. 3/32"-diameter shank. For Dremel and Foredom rotary tools. Sold in sets.

See details below

Email a friend
Straight Router Bits
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1188 0.055" dia, pkg of 6 Yes
$12.62

1187 1/32" dia, pkg of 6 Yes
$12.62

1190 5/64" dia, pkg of 5 Yes
$20.50


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Precision Router Base



Precision Router Base Complete Set



Precision Router Edge Guide



Collet for Dremel



Binding Router Guide



Precision Router Base
Precision Router Base Complete Set
Precision Router Edge Guide
Collet for Dremel
Binding Router Guide



Details
 Pictures
These bits require a 3/32" Collet for Dremel, which is not supplied with Dremel tools.

1188 Made of high-speed steel for inlay routing. 3/32" diameter shank, width of cut .055". Package of 6.
1187 Made of high-speed steel for inlay routing, or for widening fret slots. 3/32"-diameter shank; width of cut 1/32". Package of 6.
1190 Solid carbide, for bridge saddle slots. 3/32" diameter shank; width of cut 0.078"; cutting height 1/4". Package of 5.


/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Straight Router Bits
Straight Router Bits
 
4 out of 5 stars
Based on 12 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2 >
5 4-13-2013
Bits

Nice and precision tool.

Vytautas  Lithuania Read my reviews (3)
5 1-27-2013
Sharp and well Made

Very Sharp and Quality

Adrian Stuckey  Gold Coast Australia Read my reviews (29)
1 12-20-2012
Don't waste your money

Anyone serious about inlay work will NOT buy these. Opt for the carbide down-cut bits instead. They're more money for obvious reasons - my first one lasted three years, and cut inlay on 30+ guitars. These cheap things lasted about 10 seconds before breaking. I bought the six pack and I've got one left, and that's only after cutting a single inlay route.

ClarksGuitars  West Lorne, ON Read my reviews (2)
5 7-24-2012
Better than expected

After reading the reviews I was a little worried these might be too delicate to do inlay work, I was pleasantly wrong. I used the 0.055" and 1/32" bits and they worked great. I did two passes, increasing the depth after the first pass and just let the bit do the work. These bits just walked through the wood and I had no issues with burning or breaking.

GER  NJ
3 3-15-2012
Ok for the outline

These were ok for tracing the outline for my inlays. They get hot fast and then break. When the wood starts smoking change the bit!

Tallen2303  Nashville, TN
5 12-14-2011
As good as your good eyes and steady hands

These pretty much operate as advertised. The price is good for what they are. I used them on hard maple, which is not really a picnic, but it was my very first time. If you're a first timer, consider getting the magnifying eyewear w/ lights: then you will be sure to do it right and not mess up. Also, if you have tight corners, like the tips of the abalone stars StewMac sells, get the finest / skinniest sized bit!

I botched the job my first time (on a strat headstock shown in photo), but fixed it after the fact by routing a more precise channel around the star inlays (w/ skinnier bit), then supergluing in glitter from my daughters art kit, then sanding! I know -- kind of a Bootsy meets glam rock final product. Anyway, the bits did fine in maple.

Ed G  Tempe, AZ, USA Read my reviews (8)
Customer supplied image for review
4 11-10-2011
1/32 router bits

Am using these to route a dove into a cross. Use a Dremel tool (nonadjustable)to do the engraving. Have had problems with some woods, particularly hard maple. Am using donated wood so species are generally not by choice. After a couple of crosses the bits start to burn. This is ok in that it makes the dove stand out better. However it eventually takes its toll on the bits. Feed speed doesn't seem to matter. Still the best deal and bit I found so far. Have thought about trying a variable speed router????

Bill Oswald  Wyoming, MN
5 6-08-2011
Straight Router Bits

Despite the low cost and other reviews stating these bits are fragile , I have had absolutely no problems routing out inlay channels other than the feathering on spruce which I expected as these bits aren't spiral downcut, but careful marking out with a sharp craft knife prior to routing quickly overcame this problem and lets you know when you are up to the line as the feathers fly off, all together great value for money and cheaper than buying equivalent bits here in England.

Paul Howarth  England Read my reviews (2)
5 2-11-2011
Excellent bits

I saw the price was less than the carbide down cut bits I usually buy, thought I'd give them a try. The smallest one, for fine inlay cutting, worked well, didn't last as long as a carbide, but a good tool.

David Newton  Beaumont, Tx Read my reviews (10)
3 1-31-2011
Useful but get plenty of them

These are great for the detailed inlay work that is part and parcel of high-end guitar making. But expect to spend a good deal of time replacing bits, as these are by no means the most durable option on the market. And buy a few more than you think you need for the same reason. Low cost is good; short lifespan can be frustrating.

JGS Guitars  South Africa Read my reviews (11)
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 30 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce