Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Truss rods : Pocket Truss Rod Wrenches

Pocket Truss Rod Wrenches


Read 43 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Pocket-size steel hex wrenches that fit in your guitar case. The 1-1/8" (28.58mm) socket is tapered to fit into recessed truss rod access cavities.

See details below

Email a friend
Pocket Truss Rod Wrenches
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
6104 For 1/4" nut Yes
$8.98

6105 For 9/32" nut Yes
$8.98

6106 For 5/16" Gibson nut Yes
$8.98


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Truss Rod Wrench Set



Truss Rod Rescue Kit



Gibson Truss Rod Nut



Precision Straightedges



Basic Setup Kit



Truss Rod Wrench Set
Truss Rod Rescue Kit
Gibson® Truss Rod Nut
Precision Straightedges
Basic Setup Kit



Details
 Pictures
For 5/16" Gibson and other hex truss rod nut sizes.

Our veteran guitar technicians developed these high quality steel truss rod wrenches for the repair shop. The length, durability, and variety of sizes let you perform truss rod adjustments efficiently.

Not all truss rod cavities are the same width. Make sure the wrench will fit your cavity by comparing the outer diameter of the wrench barrel to your guitar.

Wrench Outer diameter
#6104 For 1/4" nut 0.385" (9.78mm)
#6105 For 9/32" nut 0.405" (10.29mm)
#6106 For 5/16" nut 0.436" (11.07mm)

These tools are available in our money-saving Truss Rod Wrench Set.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Pocket Truss Rod Wrenches
Pocket Truss Rod Wrenches
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 43 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  5 >
5 10-20-2012
Bought the whole set

These little guys are cheap enough to buy the whole set. I picked them up to replace the odd balls I had for my shop bench. Nothing works like them when you need the bullet shaped head to get in the tight spaces for those grunged up old vintage axe truss rod slots. The shipping folks sent a duplicate of the 1/4" size and left out the 5/16" one. A simple call to the customer service folks and the correct one was shipped out the same day and arrived before I was looking for it.

PST Guitars  King George, VA Read my reviews (8)
Customer supplied image for review
5 10-18-2012
5/16 "GIBSON"

Excellent wrench, i have one foe every Gibson electric guitar i own.

LMB  Essex,Ontario CANADA Read my reviews (4)
5 10-10-2012
Works Great!

Awesome. I was fixing up a friend's Jackson and I ended up needing one of these to straighten out the neck. I ordered one and in a few days it arrived and I got straight to work. The results were greater than I had expected them to be. The only things that could be improved is to shorten the point at the end of it. It makes it a little difficult to take out of the truss rod cavity sometimes. And the handle needs to be welded to the cap. Other than that, it's a necessity to the work I do.

masterluthierintraining  Texas
Customer supplied image for review
5 10-07-2012
High quality tool

Ok I didn't really want to pay this much for a tool that comes free with a lot of guitars (hint to Taylor) but this is a well made wrench with high quality plating. I recommend it.

gravityfree  FL
5 9-26-2012
Yep, it is a truss rod wrench

Nothing fancy here, just a well made tool that Gibson decided not to put in the case of the $2,700 guitar they sold me. Guess they were afraid I might damage the merchandise.

ccutter  Crescent City Cal Read my reviews (8)
3 9-06-2012
Not as good as I thought

I have just written a review on the entire set of truss rod wrenches which are a great set.

However one of these little guys gave me a lot of grief. I was working on an Ibanez K7 seven string which has an awful truss rod pocket - deep and square walls all around it. The pocket wrench fitted it beautifully and due to the domed bullet shape slid in nicely - getting it back out was another matter.

Sadly it was stuck and as I tried to wiggle it free the metal handle came out of the hole - it is actually a push fit and not integrally welded to the socket. I had a devil's own job to get the smooth round slippery bugger out of the deep square truss rod pocket. On finally getting it out I realised that the point of the bullet needs grinding flat (unnecessarily long) to reduce its length and the handle needs to be welded to the socket - trying to push the handle back in is no easy task as the socket is bullet shaped and difficult to hold it still to press or hammer the handle back into its hole. I failed to get the handle well seated into it so need to make a jig to stop the socket moving.

So I have some work to do on this at some point before I use it again. Shame really as it could easily have been great if manufactured better with a weld.

Leo Crossfield  UK Read my reviews (12)
StewMac responds

Leo,
We're sorry for the trouble you had with the pocket truss rod wrench. We're happy to send a duty-free replacement wrench. Just let us know. Thanks again for your orders.

Customer supplied image for review
5 8-25-2012
A Must Have Tool

A simple, effective and convenient tool. Great to have in your guitar case for when you need to make quick adjustments.

Dave Ward  Oklahoma City, OK Read my reviews (14)
5 8-04-2012
good

Very good and useful tool.

André  São Paulo, SP - Brazil Read my reviews (6)
5 8-04-2012
US Peavey

I got a couple of the 5/16 wrenches for myself and a friend of mine who both own US made Peavey basses, specifically the Forum and T-40. These are perfect and fit inside the neck cavity with ease. I was able to save my neck and the bass as a whole as a result. I now know where to send my fellow T-40 owners. Thanks!

Jameseth  Fairfax, VA
4 7-10-2012
Pocket Truss Rod Wrenches

A very useful tool.Fits, Gibson Les Paul Custom

Gusty  Ro Read my reviews (91)
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  5 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 15 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce