Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Routing : Tremolo Routing Templates

Tremolo Routing Templates


Read 38 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Template set for routing a traditional Fender tremolo and Floyd Rose and Schaller locking tremolo systems.

See details below

Email a friend
Tremolo Routing Templates
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1110 Traditional Strat tremolo front / rear cavites, set of 2 Yes
$13.75

1118 Floyd Rose or Schaller locking tremolo front / rear cavities, set of 2 Yes
$18.75

1119 Floyd Rose or Schaller modification for recessed front cavity Yes
$19.55

1087 Complete set of routing templates for tremolos SAVE $5.27 Yes
$46.78


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Swamp Ash Body Blank



African Mahogany Body Blank



Alder Body Blank



Ball Bearing Router Bits



3M Double-stick Tape



Swamp Ash Body Blank
African Mahogany Body Blank
Alder Body Blank
Ball Bearing Router Bits
3M Double-stick Tape



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
The most precise routing templates available. Helpful centerlines are laser-etched to aid proper placement, eliminate guesswork and produce cleaner results. Transparent acrylic, 3/16" (4.76mm) thick. Instructions included.

Sold individually or SAVE when you buy the complete set of routing templates.

Clear templates for Stratocasters® and clones having standard Fender-style, Floyd Rose® or Schaller locking tremolos with rear-routed spring cavities.

These time-saving templates can be attached to the body with countersunk screws or double-stick tape. We recommend ball-bearing router bits for best results.

The #1119 for recessed tremolo is a template to modify the front cavity to allow extra arm travel for super whammy action. Recessing the tremolo creates extra clearance at the rear of the unit, and increases the range of upward arm movement. The tremolo (and the strings) can be closer to the guitar's face, reducing the need for neck shims.

Use the #1110 Strat templates for proper installation of these tremolos:



Gotoh Traditional Tremolo for Strat


Wilkinson/Gotoh VS-100N Tremolo


Wilkinson/Gotoh VSVG Vintage Tremolo

Use the #1118 Floyd Rose templates for proper installation of these tremolos:



Schaller Locking Tremolo


Golden Age Locking Tremolo


How to install a Strat tremolo and get it right
How to install a Strat tremolo and get it right
How to install a Strat tremolo and get it right Read more

In this issue:
Erick Coleman has a quick tip that will save you a lot of trouble.
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Tremolo Routing Templates
Tremolo Routing Templates
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 38 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4 >
4 1-28-2012
Needs center line for 2 point trem.

Note that if you are using it for a traditional trem, that the centerline is only correct on the 6 point side, and not the 2 point trem side. Stewmac's templates are great though, just watch the heat from your bit or it'll melt them pretty quickly.

Bryan P.  Knoxville, TN Read my reviews (7)
5 11-03-2011
Routing a problem? Not anymore

Floyd Rose cavities are probably the hardest to rout. But with these templates and instructions that come with it, its a piece of guitarcake :D

Jurwt  The Netherlands Read my reviews (4)
5 10-21-2011
Trem Routing Templates for Strat

I needed a trem template to correctly position the bridge and trem on a strat body I purchased on eBay. After a lot of searching, Stewmac's template was the best choice.

When I received the product I was impressed by it's preciseness.

It has done exactly what it said it would do and much more.

I would recommend this product to anyone.

Joe H.  Newport, NC Read my reviews (2)
4 10-04-2011
Tremolo Routing Template

Great template but too thin.I've attached them to a 15 mm 'frame' and they work fine. Also I've used them for a hipshot, wilkinson and Gotoh (6 screw)tremolos and you need to be careful with the dimensions to centre it accurately. Works easiest with the 6 screw, I found. Also I found that centring the spring cavity using the 'index' hole method suggested by SM didn't suit me. What I do is route out the top trem slot as deep as I can go then drill a central 1/2" diameter hole with the drill press (not in the corner or touching the sides!)then use a 3/8" end bearing bit from the guitar back and you then have a perfect slot.I then mark out the centre line for the spring cavity I don't try and use the back template to get the spring cavity at right angles to the slot as I found it would always be an irritating mm or so out. Instead I set it up to the guitar back centre line.

Pat Green  UK Read my reviews (20)
Customer supplied image for review
5 8-25-2011
Good Templates

I haven't used them yet, but have used other stew-mac templates. They are all great, you just need to take your time, and learn how to use them properly. It is also a great idea to make thicker templates out of MDF first, because if you mess up your master templates, you'll have to order new ones.

flyingv  manitoba Read my reviews (28)
4 5-28-2011
Traditional Strat template set

I used these for the first time for a Wilkinson Tremolo set up. they worked fine for me but like others have commented, they need to be thicker & it would be nice if the centering lines were there that you have to make. Other than that, they do the job. Cellini's custom guitars. Las Vegas,Nv.

Eric C.  Las Vegas,Nv. Read my reviews (16)
Customer supplied image for review
5 5-04-2011
Accurate

Love these, I have most of the templates, who could ever to it by freehand, really?! Do it right, these are an investment!

Julyan Wallis, Guitar Doctor UK  Cornwall, UK Read my reviews (45)
3 4-13-2011
Could be so much better

Firstly, as many reviewers have said, the material is too thin - I transferred the patterns to some 12mm ply straight away. Secondly it is, indeed, a pain to have to scribe centrelines on when they could easily be done at manufacture.

Still, they seem accurate - just an unnecessary pain to work with.

Andi  UK Read my reviews (2)
3 3-21-2011
...slightly more work than not having them...

The respective centre lines should be already marked on the templates. Given that they are produced by some computer controlled machine, and the various holes are drilled in line, why on earth are the lines of centre not marked?

Also the template material is far too thin to allow 1/4" cuts with a flush trim bearing equipped cutter. Mine disappeared over 1/2" down the index hole before the bearing engaged.


Fiddling around drawing accurate centre lines and mounting shims etc should not be necessary. The templates should arrive ready to rock!

RobSm  Merimbula NSW Australia
2 3-16-2011
Not the best value

I followed the instructions on a scrap piece of wood and it was wrong. Tried on foam and found the tick marks are on the wrong side of the template. The offset side for the trem arm was on the wrong side. Figured it out, but could have screwed up a lot.

Wolf_Spirits  Dearborn Heights, MI
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 67 of our latest catalog.


Stratocaster® and Strat® are registered trademarks of Fender Musical Instruments Corporation.


Floyd Rose® is a registered trademark of Floyd Rose Industries.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce