Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Routing : Tremolo Routing Templates

Tremolo Routing Templates


Read 38 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Template set for routing a traditional Fender tremolo and Floyd Rose and Schaller locking tremolo systems.

See details below

Email a friend
Tremolo Routing Templates
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1110 Traditional Strat tremolo front / rear cavites, set of 2 Yes
$13.75

1118 Floyd Rose or Schaller locking tremolo front / rear cavities, set of 2 Yes
$18.75

1119 Floyd Rose or Schaller modification for recessed front cavity Yes
$19.55

1087 Complete set of routing templates for tremolos SAVE $5.27 Yes
$46.78


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Swamp Ash Body Blank



African Mahogany Body Blank



Alder Body Blank



Ball Bearing Router Bits



3M Double-stick Tape



Swamp Ash Body Blank
African Mahogany Body Blank
Alder Body Blank
Ball Bearing Router Bits
3M Double-stick Tape



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
The most precise routing templates available. Helpful centerlines are laser-etched to aid proper placement, eliminate guesswork and produce cleaner results. Transparent acrylic, 3/16" (4.76mm) thick. Instructions included.

Sold individually or SAVE when you buy the complete set of routing templates.

Clear templates for Stratocasters® and clones having standard Fender-style, Floyd Rose® or Schaller locking tremolos with rear-routed spring cavities.

These time-saving templates can be attached to the body with countersunk screws or double-stick tape. We recommend ball-bearing router bits for best results.

The #1119 for recessed tremolo is a template to modify the front cavity to allow extra arm travel for super whammy action. Recessing the tremolo creates extra clearance at the rear of the unit, and increases the range of upward arm movement. The tremolo (and the strings) can be closer to the guitar's face, reducing the need for neck shims.

Use the #1110 Strat templates for proper installation of these tremolos:



Gotoh Traditional Tremolo for Strat


Wilkinson/Gotoh VS-100N Tremolo


Wilkinson/Gotoh VSVG Vintage Tremolo

Use the #1118 Floyd Rose templates for proper installation of these tremolos:



Schaller Locking Tremolo


Golden Age Locking Tremolo


How to install a Strat tremolo and get it right
How to install a Strat tremolo and get it right
How to install a Strat tremolo and get it right Read more

In this issue:
Erick Coleman has a quick tip that will save you a lot of trouble.
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Tremolo Routing Templates
Tremolo Routing Templates
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 38 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  4 >
2 6-13-2012
Ehh....

Not what it claimed to be. Although this is a nice, quality template, It does not accurately fit the wilkinson/gotoh vs100 trem, as I was informed by Stewmac that it would not only fit it, but perfectly. Once I received the template, I placed trem inside (and on several different angles and axis) and it didn't line up properly where the bridge pins are supposed to go. If I had a Strat, this would be perfect... but I don't, so it is a $13.75 paper weight. There should be more detailed information on it... or any of these for that matter. A little disappointed.

Habstep18  Colorado Springs Read my reviews (2)
5 6-10-2012
Good ideas!

Awesome product,great solution for my work!

Steve R  Spring,Tx Read my reviews (26)
5 5-24-2012
Makes routing for a tremolo a breeze!

I purchased the set for a traditional Strat tremolo, and believe me, these are worth the little bit of money! Since I don't have a template following router bit I didn't use them as a template, but with the precise cutting of them, and the detailed instructions, I could simply put them where they needed to be, trace inside them, and route this with a regular router bit and some guides clamped on to the body. Even like that (although it takes a little longer) it works very smoothly! Without these I do not think I would have ever wanted to build a guitar with a tremolo, but these save so much time, hassle, guessing, and precision work that it almost makes routing the cavity fun! The picture shown is of the rear cavity in an American black walnut Strat body that I'm currently building.

Nolan Peach  Colorado Read my reviews (10)
Customer supplied image for review
5 4-16-2012
Traditional Strat tremolo front / rear

Bon gabarits, ils vont très bien, aucun problèmes. Daniel

Daniel G. Luthier  Canada, Qébec Read my reviews (9)
5 4-11-2012
Saved my tabletop build.

I don't have workshop or a drill press, so my first try at drilling holes for a classic strat trem didn't go so well. After gluing some dowels, this template got me back in business. Lesson learned.

Steve G  Raleigh, NC
4 4-02-2012
trem template

good quality template. but does not fit MIM strats :(

Slash671  Guam Read my reviews (29)
4 3-28-2012
Good templates but could be better

These are good templates but I agree with some of the other reviews that they need to be thicker. I did a practice run on a scrap piece of wood and although the cut out was acceptable, I did notice that the bit nicked the side of the template when the bearing on the bit slid up.My solution was to use a a routing bushing set that I had instead of the recommended bearing set sold by stew-mac. The route was slightly smaller than the required hole, but my solution was to simply reposition the template after the initial cut and finish it out to the correct size. Using the bushing set instead of the stacked bearings, I eliminated the possibility of the bit getting into the template and ruining it and quite possibly the project.

strykr  beaver, oh Read my reviews (2)
4 3-28-2012
ok

achei um pouco pequena as dimensoes ... para prender no corpo da guitarra.. mas tudo bem ... gostei mesmo assim.

OTANIEL  CASCAVEL, PR, BRASIL Read my reviews (25)
5 2-23-2012
Absolutely indespensable

I used the template for a recent strat build. Along with the double stick tape, the template gave me first class results. These aren't everyday items for me, but the right tool can make all the difference in the world. Thanks again, Stew-Mac.

Mike Vidallier  New Iberia, LA Read my reviews (10)
Customer supplied image for review
5 2-18-2012
Very Useful

I needed to accurately drill the six tremolo bridge mounting holes on a prefinished body that already had the trem-block cavity routed. After finding the correct distance from the nut I used a laser level for precise positioning of the template using it’s engraved centre line as a guide.
Brad point drill bits helped to preserve the finish from chipping, job completed in minimum time.

Kish.R  Chaguanas, Trinidad Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  4 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 67 of our latest catalog.


Stratocaster® and Strat® are registered trademarks of Fender Musical Instruments Corporation.


Floyd Rose® is a registered trademark of Floyd Rose Industries.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce