Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Routing : Tapered Router Bit

Tapered Router Bit


Read 14 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Solid carbide cutter bits with tapered cutter, ideal for delicate inlay routing and fret-slot cleaning.

See details below

Email a friend
Tapered Router Bit
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1180 Package of 5 Yes
$20.50


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Dremel 4000 Rotary Tool Outfit



Fret Slot Cleaning Tool



5th String Capo Spikes



Teflon Fret Dam



Precision Router Base



Dremel 4000 Rotary Tool Outfit
Fret Slot Cleaning Tool
5th String Capo Spikes
Teflon Fret Dam
Precision Router Base



Details
 Pictures
These solid carbide cutter bits taper from 0.019" to 0.032" and are ideal for delicate inlay routing, fret-slot cleaning and banjo 5th String Capo Spikes installation. 3/32"-diameter shank. Cutting height .150". Package of 5.

For Dremel and Foredom rotary tools. These bits require a 3/32" Collet for Dremel, which is not supplied with Dremel tools.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Tapered Router Bit
Tapered Router Bit
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 14 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2 >
5 3-21-2014
Great for detail.

I'm still on the first bit after several inlay jobs!

Highline Guitars  Denver, Colorado Read my reviews (30)
5 3-13-2014
Tapered Router Bit

I have made my inlay work whit these Tapered Router Bit. I have never done it before and I was curious. They are thin. But it went well. At the end I still have all the Router Bit, so I am very satisfy, they make a very fine sharp cut. Thank you.

Bjarne Christensen  Løgstør Denmark Read my reviews (8)
Customer supplied image for review
5 5-29-2013
Great for inlay!

Really nice clean cuts for inlay work, just make sure to intermittently clean the bit during use to avoid clogging the cutting edges. Also don't rout too deep when cleaning slots as the bit are tapered! Thanks Stewmac.

Ryan uk  england Read my reviews (3)
5 4-07-2013
Tapered Router

I have used them for inlays as well as small jobs requiring minimal disturbance to surrounding wood. Works great for installing rr spikes in banjo neck as well as producing wood dust for fill.

Frank S.  Green Valley, AZ Read my reviews (2)
5 4-03-2013
Taper Bits

Also great for cleaning out fret slots and cutting through inlays at the fret line...

J.C. Moranville  Colorado Read my reviews (20)
Customer supplied image for review
5 10-04-2012
All around handy

These bits work great for fine detail in inlay work as well as making precise holes for capo spikes. Much more durable than a tiny drill bit.

Mark Harper  Lexington KY Read my reviews (44)
5 1-20-2012
Great for cleaning glue from fret slots.

Needed a tool to clean out ends of fret slots after gluing on neck binding. Picks, knives and such didn't work but this little bit did the job. Great tool.

Marco Tyler  Kingston, WA. Read my reviews (2)
5 1-04-2012
Stewmac service

I've been buying my specialist tools from Stewmac for many years and recently I ran into a problem of my own doing, with one of my most important shop tools. The response from the company was very swift and way beyond what was required of them, or requested. They had me back working again within days in such a manner as I have come to 'almost' expect from so many smaller American firms. With this kind of attention to customers they can be assured of my continued business as well as my firm recommendation to others. Thanks guys. Tony Thompson, Thompson Music, Ireland.

Tony Thompson  Ireland
5 12-14-2011
Great for sharp corners

This bit was my rescue bit! It is small enough to do most of the tips of the StewMac abalone stars. I had to chisel the very very end/corner of the tips. but this is great. worked well in maple, as well as mahogany (which i show here).

Ed G  Tempe, AZ, USA Read my reviews (8)
Customer supplied image for review
5 9-04-2011
Great for fret slots cleaning.

Used with a dremel and stewmac base these bits clean out slots perfectly. Great for coming up close to binding in order to clean any glue in the fret slots.

Isaac B.  Austin, TX 78725 Read my reviews (6)
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 30 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce