Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Routing : Router Bit for Hot Rod Truss Rods

Router Bit for Hot Rod Truss Rods


Read 23 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Specially sized for Hot Rod® channels, 0.225" cutter bit routs a 7/16"-deep truss rod channel in multiple passes.

See details below

Email a friend
Router Bit for Hot Rod Truss Rods
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
4599 Router Bit for Hot Rod Truss Rods Yes
$21.48


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Bosch Colt Router



Honduras Mahogany Neck Blank for Acoustic Guitar



Electric Guitar Neck Blanks



Slotted Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod



Bosch Colt Router
Honduras Mahogany Neck Blank for Acoustic Guitar
Electric Guitar Neck Blanks
Slotted Nut Hot Rod Truss Rod



Details
 Pictures
This custom-ground 0.225" cutter bit routs a 7/16"-deep truss rod channel in multiple passes. Bit has a 2" overall length; 1/2" depth of cut; 1/4" shank. Carbide-tipped flutes outlast ordinary steel cutters. Specially designed for Hot Rod Truss Rods.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Router Bit for Hot Rod Truss Rods
Router Bit for Hot Rod Truss Rods
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 23 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 >
5 7-11-2012
Couldn't live without it.

The right tool for stewMac's T rods. I wouldn't want to use anything else. A perfect fit every time!

Chris Thomas  Elizabeth, PA Read my reviews (19)
Customer supplied image for review
5 6-07-2012
Made a Clean Slot

I purchased this for my first guitar build (still in progress). I originally contemplated just using a basic 1/4" bit or using two passes of a smaller bit. Then I thought I might as well do it the proper way to reduce risk for error. This bit made an extremely clean slot in my maple neck blank and it fits my Hot Rod perfectly, no rattle. The gap between the cutter blades also helped me line it up along the center line. I'm hoping I get to use this on many more guitar necks, and maybe some other projects as well.

Matt Travers  MA Read my reviews (4)
5 5-19-2012
Easy cut

Bit was just the thing for the hot rod. Made a good groove that the truss rod fit well into.

Mdr  Pa
5 4-04-2012
Sharp is an understatement.....

Glad I read the reviews on this one.... So many stories of cut fingers. When mine arrived I took care when taking the protective coat off. Glad I did, 'cause man, this puppy is razor sharp! Made the most beautiful rout out I have ever seen and the Hot Rod sits in so snug! Don't muck about with saws just buy this and save your self a lot of work.

Dingobass  Perth, Australia Read my reviews (76)
5 6-26-2011
Great Router Bit

Cut a snug channel in 3 passes .. couldn't ask for more

ControlFreak  Bellmore, NY
5 5-25-2011
Router Bit For Hot Rod Truss Rods

Awesome router bit for the job i also found this to work well for the 6 mm pearl dots FOR FRET BOARD PLACE MARKERS instead of searching for the right brad point drill bits this tool works like a charm it's a bit tight but you can use a drill bit to nick off the edges if need be. 0.225'' works out to a 1/4 inch drill bit . ADEMZ GUITARZ TM. 2011

ADEMZ GUITARZ  Valdosta ga
5 5-07-2011
good bit

nice and sharp, cut my finger when removing the sleeve

Rob Alley  Ft. Lauderdale, FL Read my reviews (3)
5 4-13-2011
Great, sharp, fast.

The title says it all. Thanks again Stewmac!

Jerhico Guitars  Altona, NY Read my reviews (51)
5 3-30-2011
This is a nice router bit for hot rod style truss rods

I had to purchase a second bit as my first first one was locked in the collet of my router and I chipped it trying to get it out. The bit worked nicely over the years but the collet didn't. The Stew Mac bit is very nice and I'd recommend it to anybody using hot rod truss rods as it fits them nicely.

Marty  NY state Read my reviews (2)
5 11-10-2010
Top bit

Usual high quality router bit from StewMac. Surgically sharp. Be warned!

Steve Hall  London UK Read my reviews (3)
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 72 of our latest catalog.


Hot Rod® is a registered trademark of Stewart-MacDonald Manufacturing Company, Inc.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce