Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Routing : Precision Router Base : Soundhole and Rosette Routing Jig

Soundhole and Rosette Routing Jig


Read 34 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Design update: now works for ukuleles, too!
Cut perfect soundholes and rosette channels for guitars and ukes.

See details below

Email a friend
Soundhole and Rosette Routing Jig
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0686 Soundhole and Rosette Routing Jig Yes
$79.95


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Carbide Downcut Inlay Router Bits



Precision Router Base



Dremel 4000 Rotary Tool Outfit



Foredom Power Tool



Laminated Wood Purfling



Carbide Downcut Inlay Router Bits
Precision Router Base
Dremel 4000 Rotary Tool Outfit
Foredom Power Tool
Laminated Wood Purfling



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
Easy and accurate, this jig now adjusts from 6"-diameter to a small 2" cut for ukuleles.

Another innovation from StewMac
The Soundhole and Rosette Routing Jig is a quality machined tool, designed to be used with our Precision Router Base and works with your Dremel. Router base and rotary tools are not included.

  • Solid aluminum and brass parts
  • Adjusts from 2" to 6"-diameter cuts (50.8mm to 152.4mm)
  • Indexing scale to quickly set routing diameter
  • 3/16" registration pin for perfectly concentric circles
  • Mounting screws and instructions included

How it works
Attach the jig to the router base, then mount your Dremel or Foredom tool. Insert the registration pin through the center of the uncut soundhole, and into your work surface. Place the jig on the pin. Set the diameter of cut with the adjusting screw, and lock it down. The router base adjusts the cutting depth. Rout your rosette rings first, then cut out the soundhole.

For the cleanest cut when routing tonewoods, we recommend the Carbide Downcut Bits.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Soundhole and Rosette Routing Jig
Soundhole and Rosette Routing Jig
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 34 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4 >
5 7-09-2011
Sound hole-Rosette/Inlay Cutter

After using the rosette cutter, I find that it is a very good tool. I read previous reviews that agree with me, yet they mentioned some sort of re-design of the center pin to ensure accuracy. I find no re-design was needed- just drill your pilot hole the same size as the pin Stew-Mac gives you and you are all set. I could have made one, but why not invest in this one and give credit to the design where credit is due. Joe Andreas (J.M. Andreas Guitars)

Joe Andreas  Seneca Falls NY
5 7-08-2011
Soundhole/Rosette Routing Jig

Like the router base, a beautifully made tool that, not only looks good but, works really well too.

Bill Arnold  Waihi, New Zealand Read my reviews (4)
5 7-06-2011
Does fabulous job

Very nice. Easy precision adjustment. But it would be nice if they provided an extra dowel pin to make it easy to do setup test cuts on a scrap piece. I bought a couple of extra dowel pins at the hardware store pretty cheap, but they are a bit shorter than the one provided.

Al K  Scituate, MA Read my reviews (3)
4 6-25-2011
Almost Perfect

This tool would be perfect if it included an extra centerpin with a stepped up shoulder that would accommodate the popular 1/4" size pin. Or, even better, if one was available separately.

geuley  San Jose, CA Read my reviews (2)
5 4-26-2011
rosette routing jig and registration pin

Like others have noted, I was reluctant to buy this jig because it came with a 3/16" registration pin, and the rest of my rosette inletting tools used a 1/4" pin. However, I found an easy solution at my local hobby store by using precision brass tubing: one has a 1/4" outside diameter, which fits the 1/4" drill guide that's inletted into my workboard, and the other tube has a 7/32" outside diameter and this slides tightly into the 1/4" tube. The 7/32" tube has an inside diameter of 3/16", which fits the O.D. of the jig's registration pin precisely. The 4 pieces (drill guide, 1/4" tube, 7/32"tube, and the 3/16" registration pin) fit snugly together with no discernible slop. So now I can use my other rosette cutter with its 1/4" pin to do the inside and outside edges of the rosette trough, which completely eliminates any chance of a splintered or fuzzy edge, and hog out the middle using the StewMac jig. Works like a charm.

Larry S.  Greenfield WI
5 3-17-2011
Versatile attachment

Although designed for radius cutting, I also use it for accurate slotting of back strips, end strips, saddle slots, etc. The fine adjustment makes it particularly accurate for rosette slot cutting when fitting hand made rosettes and decorative strips.

Josred  VA USA Read my reviews (16)
5 1-28-2011
great

what can i say about this tool? wow is the only thing i can think at the moment. It really impressed me positively

gaetano costanzo  naples, Italy Read my reviews (9)
5 11-12-2010
Perfect ....!!!!

Another perfect tool for the children of stewmac that make our life easier ..... Thank stewmac .......!!!!!

georges  athens-Greece Read my reviews (2)
5 10-17-2010
Astounding routing!

I've just used the routing jig to make two rosettes today. A bit shy on the the first one, but the jig's so easy and accurate to use, that the second rosette went twice as fast as the first one! Great StewMac tool!

Mytch Berdah  France Read my reviews (9)
Customer supplied image for review
5 10-15-2010
Makes rosettes easy.

A real joy to use. Highly recommend it. Far better than the stock circle cutter that comes in the dremel tool set.

desmatic  Wales, United Kingdom Read my reviews (11)
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 31 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce