Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Routing : Precision Router Base : Precision Router Base Complete Set

Precision Router Base Complete Set


Read 130 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Designed especially for stringed instrument work. Our exclusive design provides excellent control when routing for binding and inlays.

See details below

Email a friend
Precision Router Base Complete Set

Play video

 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5263 Precision Router Base Complete Set SAVE $11.82 Yes
$107.49


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Precision Router Base



Precision Router Edge Guide



Mini Air Pump



Router Bit for Binding



Saddle Routing Jig



Precision Router Base
Precision Router Edge Guide
Mini Air Pump
Router Bit for Binding
Saddle Routing Jig



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Instructions
SAVE when you buy this complete set including:
  • Precision Router Base
  • Edge Guide
  • 5/16" router bit for binding
  • Air pump with hose

Our sturdy, compact base is the best way to hold a Dremel for freehand routing, inlaying, widening fret slots, and more. Made of machined steel, brass and aluminum, it features precision cutting depth adjustment with large thumbwheels to eliminate guesswork.

  • Excellent control
  • Easy installation
  • Accurate freehand routing

Sturdy, compact, and adjustable
Each turn of the large knurled thumbwheels adjusts your Dremel's cutting depth by .035" (.889mm). You can rout an inlay cavity that's precisely compensated for the thickness of the pearl and glue, for less sanding later.

Tall twin handles give you excellent control for freehand routing, and you get a good view of your work. There's even a built-in nozzle for attaching a mini air pump to continuously blow away the dust—you'll rout inlay cavities more precisely, for a better fit requiring less filler.

Complete set includes:

Precision Router Base
For sturdy, accurate freehand routing
Binding Edge Guide
To cut smooth, clean binding channels up to 3/8" thick
Router Bit for Binding
Small diameter is ideal for tight curves
Mini Air Pump
Keeps the cutting area free of dust


And here's a tip from Dan Erlewine: clamp the Dremel and router base upside-down on your workbench, and use the bottom of the router base as a mini drum sander, as Dan Erlewine did for a Gibson L-1 archtop bridge in this issue of our Trade Secrets Newsletter.

Installation is easy.
Simply unscrew the threaded plastic collar on the nose of the Dremel, and screw on the Precision Router Base. Its 3/4-12 thread fits:
Dremel 4000, 400XPR, Professional, MultiPro and most corded models made since 1986
Black & Decker Wizard and RTX
Our Foredom custom handpiece

Make your Dremel a more versatile guitar shop tool.
The Precision Router Base is a direct fit on our attachments:

Attachments for
Saddle slotting
Bridge Saddle Routing Jig
Attachments for
Routing
Soundhole/Rosette Routing Jig
Purfling/Soundhole Router Guide


"Which binding tools should I choose?"
"Which binding tools should I choose?"
"Which binding tools should I choose?" Read more

In this issue:
Erick Coleman answers a frequent question from customers: Which tools to use for routing channels for instrument bindings?
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Precision Router Base Complete Set
Precision Router Base Complete Set
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 130 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5  ...  13 >
5 8-19-2012
Precision Router set

I picked up the router base set for working on my Mt. Dulcimer I'm working on. Needed a tool to flush cut the sides and cut in the perfuling. It work really well for this. I also used it to cut in my sound holes. which I need up making inlay for them.
Only thing that would make this tool better is to include the inlay cutters to the set.
Over all its a very nice tool.

Revuaf  Michigan
Customer supplied image for review
5 8-19-2012
Brilliant tool

Easy to manage and worked well for my first inlay project. Air hose connection was too small for the tubing on the aquarium pump i use to clear dust but i turned a wooden plug up which worked>

Ian Verner  Sydney, Australia Read my reviews (20)
Customer supplied image for review
5 8-05-2012
router base

I really like it. I made one from parts to my dremel but it didn't perform as well as this one. I can see exactly where I want to rout for inlay, Great tool

Bob Camp  Fallbrook, CA
4 7-26-2012
Just one small flaw

The router base is great for inlays. Unlike previous bases I've had, with this base the dremel goes where you want it and doesn't run with the grain of the wood. The edge guide works great for binding however, the threads where this attaches are easily stripped. I ended up stripping them but fixed it with a trip to the hardware store and got a longer bolt and a nut.

David Lebsack  Houston, TX
4 7-13-2012
Precision Router Base

I found this little attachment invaluable for cutting a binding channel on a slab-bodied guitar I'm working on. Combined with the router bit that Stewmac sell, the cut was clean and precise with no tearout on mahogany with a 0.5mm veneer. The base has been very well made and feels good and sturdy, although some kind of depth gauge would be nice.

I only gave it 4 out of 5 because of two things. Firstly, the metal base did leave a slight trace on the guitar body, but that was sorted easily enough with some naphtha. Also, because of the actual design of the unit, it was difficult cutting the channel for the 'horn' on a cutaway - the 'feet' of the base had nothing to stand on. I had to sort that by glueing a strip of veneer to the underside of the base, leaving a hole for the router bit to poke out of. Adding that seems to have done the trick.

ChrisW  UK
5 6-22-2012
Preciision Router Base

This base, when coupled with a dremel becomes an excellent router for cutting small channels and patterns for inlay. I am pleased at how easy it adjusts and how stable a platform it is. Additional bases, such a a clear polycarbonate base, or a trammel base to cut arcs or circles would make this tool awesome. I highly recommend this base to anyone who is doing fine detailed inlay work.

Jeff Schrader  Eagle River, AK
4 6-17-2012
Great tool when you figure out how to use it

Out of the box the router base and edge guide were a little hard to figure out, and the instructions weren't very detailed. That's the only reason it lost a star. Other than that it's well built stuff and a great tool when you figure out how to use it correctly

Levi  Ponoka, Alberta, Canada
5 6-08-2012
Use this for so much

I have used this base so many different ways. Clamped to the workbench to freehand routing. Great product!

mopillar  USA Read my reviews (4)
4 5-30-2012
Good tool. Watch how you hold it before switching on

Really good tool. Better than the plastic one I had. Be careful how you grab it before switching on. Collette on Dremmel isn't sharp, but man that hurt. I'll rig up a transparent guard for the back.

Victrocity  Victoria, BC, Canada Read my reviews (4)
3 5-23-2012
Cool router base, not so cool edge guide

I bought this set because I wanted to put binding on a head stock that I repaired only to find out it wouldnt work with head stocks. You have to have a certain thickness to catch the edge guide...(im probably going to modify it) The router base itself is a nice tool that comes very handy for fine work and I would give it 5 stars by itself.

RyanSLSMG  Poquoson Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5  ...  13 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 30 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce