Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Routing : Precision Router Base : Precision Router Base Complete Set

Precision Router Base Complete Set


Read 130 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Designed especially for stringed instrument work. Our exclusive design provides excellent control when routing for binding and inlays.

See details below

Email a friend
Precision Router Base Complete Set

Play video

 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5263 Precision Router Base Complete Set SAVE $11.82 Yes
$107.49


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Precision Router Base



Precision Router Edge Guide



Mini Air Pump



Router Bit for Binding



Saddle Routing Jig



Precision Router Base
Precision Router Edge Guide
Mini Air Pump
Router Bit for Binding
Saddle Routing Jig



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Instructions
SAVE when you buy this complete set including:
  • Precision Router Base
  • Edge Guide
  • 5/16" router bit for binding
  • Air pump with hose

Our sturdy, compact base is the best way to hold a Dremel for freehand routing, inlaying, widening fret slots, and more. Made of machined steel, brass and aluminum, it features precision cutting depth adjustment with large thumbwheels to eliminate guesswork.

  • Excellent control
  • Easy installation
  • Accurate freehand routing

Sturdy, compact, and adjustable
Each turn of the large knurled thumbwheels adjusts your Dremel's cutting depth by .035" (.889mm). You can rout an inlay cavity that's precisely compensated for the thickness of the pearl and glue, for less sanding later.

Tall twin handles give you excellent control for freehand routing, and you get a good view of your work. There's even a built-in nozzle for attaching a mini air pump to continuously blow away the dust—you'll rout inlay cavities more precisely, for a better fit requiring less filler.

Complete set includes:

Precision Router Base
For sturdy, accurate freehand routing
Binding Edge Guide
To cut smooth, clean binding channels up to 3/8" thick
Router Bit for Binding
Small diameter is ideal for tight curves
Mini Air Pump
Keeps the cutting area free of dust


And here's a tip from Dan Erlewine: clamp the Dremel and router base upside-down on your workbench, and use the bottom of the router base as a mini drum sander, as Dan Erlewine did for a Gibson L-1 archtop bridge in this issue of our Trade Secrets Newsletter.

Installation is easy.
Simply unscrew the threaded plastic collar on the nose of the Dremel, and screw on the Precision Router Base. Its 3/4-12 thread fits:
Dremel 4000, 400XPR, Professional, MultiPro and most corded models made since 1986
Black & Decker Wizard and RTX
Our Foredom custom handpiece

Make your Dremel a more versatile guitar shop tool.
The Precision Router Base is a direct fit on our attachments:

Attachments for
Saddle slotting
Bridge Saddle Routing Jig
Attachments for
Routing
Soundhole/Rosette Routing Jig
Purfling/Soundhole Router Guide


"Which binding tools should I choose?"
"Which binding tools should I choose?"
"Which binding tools should I choose?" Read more

In this issue:
Erick Coleman answers a frequent question from customers: Which tools to use for routing channels for instrument bindings?
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Precision Router Base Complete Set
Precision Router Base Complete Set
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 130 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 101 – 110 < 1  ...  10  11  12  13 >
5 2-09-2011
Great Tool!

I bought this tool knowing there were cheaper alternatives and after using it a couple of times I am very satisfied that I made this purchase! Its small enough to get all the fine detail that I want to accomplish when i am routing for inlay and nothing is in the way of my sight. Thanks STEWMAC!

Tim , Andros Island  Bahamas Read my reviews (4)
4 2-05-2011
Router Base

A great piece of kit

CA Guitarworks  UK Read my reviews (9)
Customer supplied image for review
3 1-22-2011
Some trouble with the router set

I was routing the binding ledge on my solid body guitar and although I had set the locking wheel properly the wheel began to spin downward with the vibration of the Dremel. I didn't notice this happening until the end and then the ledge was deeper the farther around the body I went. This was a bit of a disappointment. Also the wings on the brass guide attachment wouldn't allow me to route into the cutaway inside the lower horn of the tele style that I was building. I ended up re-routing the whole ledge again and bought the binding router bit set (that I probably will need in the future anyway) and that method worked wonderfully. When I use this tool again I am going to either keep my finger on the wheel while I route to prevent it from loosening or find a little O-ring to slide up under it. After seeing the great ledge the binding bits made though I am pretty sure that is the method I will use in the future. Can you tell this is my first guitar?

Tom Wright  Big Rapids Read my reviews (4)
5 1-19-2011
Beautiful crafted

The SMD Precision Router Set is perfectly crafted and works very easy and accurate.
It works very well together with my new Dremel
(actualy I ordered both on the same day, Router set from Steward in the US and the Dremel (220v) in Holland, the Router Set was in my home within 3 days and the Dutch Dremel took 7 days :+)

1 think European buyers should think about..... the airpump is 110v and can't be used in Europe.
So, the Router set is Top, and probably the airpump to, but I cant use it :+( (my mistake)

Grizzly  Oosthuizen, Netherlands Read my reviews (2)
5 1-18-2011
Precision Router Base

beautifully machined - works great!

Richard B  CT
5 1-15-2011
One of my favorite tools!

I bought a second one recently because I dedicated one for saddle work and the other one is set up for very fine work like inlay and fret slot cleaning work.

Fallbrook Guitar Shop  Fallbrook, CA. USA Read my reviews (3)
4 1-12-2011
Dremel Multipro in PRB

The Stewmac base is a very well made tool with a tolerant bit depth adjustment. My Dremel Multipro threaded in easily but the controls ended up on the back side of the assembly. Attaching a 3/4" ID o-ring to the Dremel thread body allowed for a very tight, vibration resistant connection with the controls facing the operator.

Reg66  Macedonia, Ohio
Customer supplied image for review
4 1-05-2011
Very handy

This router base is quite sturdy and has worked well so far.

Two improvements I can see adding are marks on the thumbwheels so that number of turns can be more easily gauged and center lines on the baseplate indicating the center of the mounting hole (I've added both of these to my router base).

mschuler  Seattle, WA
5 1-05-2011
Easy and useful

This router set is perfect to finish works and is perfect to a Dremel tool. It's easy to use and I recommend it for anyone who works with wood.

Geraldo Xavier  Brazil
4 12-30-2010
The Precision Router Base

Overall this is a fine addition to my shop. I would like to see small handles or knobs on both sides for better control. I'm not a guitar maker but I am a carver and do highly detailed and intricate engraving and inlay and the handles would be helpful to me.

Russ DeVerniero  Coeur d'Alene, Idaho Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 101 – 110 < 1  ...  10  11  12  13 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 30 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce