Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Routing : Ball Bearing Router Bits

Ball Bearing Router Bits


Read 86 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Special bits for templates! Extra-long carbide-tipped router bits produce clean, precise body cavities when used with our templates.

See details below

Email a friend
Ball Bearing Router Bits
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0565 Set of both router bits SAVE $5.00 Yes
$51.70

0583 Router bit, 3/8" dia. Yes
$26.95

0693 Router bit,1/2" dia. Yes
$29.75

1288 Extra bearing for 3/8" bit Yes
$5.90

1289 Extra bearing 1/2" bit Yes
$5.60


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Swamp Ash Body Blank



African Mahogany Body Blank



Alder Body Blank



Single-coil Pickup Routing Templates



Swamp Ash Body Blank
African Mahogany Body Blank
Alder Body Blank
Single-coil Pickup Routing Templates



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
The ball-bearing guide matches the cutting diameter, and the long shank allows multiple-pass routing for deep cavities.

The 1/2" diameter bit is recommended for most of your routing chores. Use the 3/8" cutter only for routing corners that need the tighter radius.

Sold individually or SAVE when you buy the set of both router bits.

Shank diameter: 1/4" (6.35mm)
Cutting height: 1/2" (12.7mm)

A heat-resistant sleeve (not shown) holds the bearing in position. We recommend stacking an extra bearing on the shank for deep cavities, and use the 3/8" bit only for routing corners.

Tip: We recommend that you change the position of stacked bearings on the router bit's shank every time your re-chuck in the bit into your router. This will greatly extend the life of the bearings and reduces the risk of a bearing "blow-out."

How (and why) to use templates to rout control cavities
How (and why) to use templates to rout a solidbody guitar
How (and why) to use templates to rout control cavities Read more

In this issue:
If you sometimes think of making a custom electric guitar, Erick Coleman has tips to make one part of the process a lot easier. Here's how to rout the neck pocket and control cavities so they look as good as a factory build.
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Ball Bearing Router Bits
Ball Bearing Router Bits
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 86 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 71 – 80 < 1  ...  7  8  9 >
5 1-01-2011
Great size, durable quality

These are great bits, perfectly suited to the daily chores of pickup cavity routing, etc. They have suffered much use without significant dulling of their cutting edges and are the perfect size that is hard to find elsewhere.

JGS Guitars  South Africa Read my reviews (11)
Customer supplied image for review
5 12-08-2010
razor sharp

These are worth the money gang, they will cruise though your wood of choice with ease. The extra bearing is also nice for the extra deep routes

Kerry's Guitar Shop  Bedford Tex.
5 11-22-2010
Router Bits

Associated with True Channel Binding Routing Jig and you got a Dream Team

alain Touboul  France Read my reviews (2)
4 11-18-2010
Great bits and a suggestion

I'm an amateur luthier and I bought the set of two. These bits are sharp and make very good, clean cuts. I've only had a couple of problems that are probably related to my inexperience, but could be mitigated in future versions of these bits. Specifically, stop collars would be much better than the teflon tubing to keep the bearing from running up the shank -- I overcut a pickup cavity when the 3/8" bit's bearings traveled just a little and lost contact with the template. Nothing a pickguard can't cover on this particular body, but a stop collar would be a good addition. Otherwise these are great bits!

KD  USA
5 11-15-2010
Ball Bearing Router Bits

This latest set replaces those which I purchased quite a number of years ago. They work just fine on all types of cavities when used in conjunction with the cavity routing templates I recently bought, as well as those other odd ones I've had to make in the past. Next time I order I'll have to get some extra bearings just in case I need to go a little deeper some time.

Laurie Bell  Brooklyn,Melbourne,Australia
5 11-14-2010
yay!

these do the job well.

James Love  Z-Tron Read my reviews (18)
4 10-28-2010
It´s not easy

The idea of ballbearing routers and templates is genius, but as an amateur doing his first routing job,I broke all bearings and some templates. Don´t know if I will do it again

Ax Genrich  Neckarsteinach Germany
5 10-25-2010
good tool!

Excellent cut, better than those found in the market

BHSLuthier  Argentina Read my reviews (17)
5 10-20-2010
Great quality

These bits are great. I've used them on two different builds so far, two different body woods, a hard wood and a soft wood, cuts both like butter. Couldn't be happier.

jakemit1  Cibolo,Tx Read my reviews (15)
5 10-10-2010
Nice Set

This is the first time I've had ball bearing guides and a template. The template squared up easily and the bearings followed it like cake. I had to route the out-side of the guitar to due to it shape, otherwise sanding was quite difficult. I wish I had also ordered the 3/8" bit with the shorter cut instead of the one I got at a hardware store.

RoweJ  Lexington,KY
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 71 – 80 < 1  ...  7  8  9 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 36 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce