Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Routing : Ball Bearing Router Bits

Ball Bearing Router Bits


Read 85 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Special bits for templates! Extra-long carbide-tipped router bits produce clean, precise body cavities when used with our templates.

See details below

Email a friend
Ball Bearing Router Bits
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0565 Set of both router bits SAVE $5.00 Yes
$51.70

0583 Router bit, 3/8" dia. Yes
$26.95

0693 Router bit,1/2" dia. Yes
$29.75

1288 Extra bearing for 3/8" bit Yes
$5.90

1289 Extra bearing 1/2" bit Yes
$5.60


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Swamp Ash Body Blank



African Mahogany Body Blank



Alder Body Blank



Single-coil Pickup Routing Templates



Swamp Ash Body Blank
African Mahogany Body Blank
Alder Body Blank
Single-coil Pickup Routing Templates



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
The ball-bearing guide matches the cutting diameter, and the long shank allows multiple-pass routing for deep cavities.

The 1/2" diameter bit is recommended for most of your routing chores. Use the 3/8" cutter only for routing corners that need the tighter radius.

Sold individually or SAVE when you buy the set of both router bits.

Shank diameter: 1/4" (6.35mm)
Cutting height: 1/2" (12.7mm)

A heat-resistant sleeve (not shown) holds the bearing in position. We recommend stacking an extra bearing on the shank for deep cavities, and use the 3/8" bit only for routing corners.

Tip: We recommend that you change the position of stacked bearings on the router bit's shank every time your re-chuck in the bit into your router. This will greatly extend the life of the bearings and reduces the risk of a bearing "blow-out."

How (and why) to use templates to rout control cavities
How (and why) to use templates to rout a solidbody guitar
How (and why) to use templates to rout control cavities Read more

In this issue:
If you sometimes think of making a custom electric guitar, Erick Coleman has tips to make one part of the process a lot easier. Here's how to rout the neck pocket and control cavities so they look as good as a factory build.
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Ball Bearing Router Bits
Ball Bearing Router Bits
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 85 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 51 – 60 < 1  ...  5  6  7  ...  9 >
5 6-13-2011
sweet

these bits are very clean cutting.

Joes Guitars  Todd Mission, TX
4 5-31-2011
great value

for the builder who only need a few bits, these pattern bits work perfectly for control cavity routing, pickup cavities, everything. of course they can't route most neck pockets, as they are too small. For every other cavity, they are perfect.

bob1319  Read my reviews (2)
5 5-29-2011
Perfect and smooth cut

I had to order a 1/4" collar for my router (I had only 6 and 8 mm), but then I've been able to use them. I'm very happy 'cause they works very well (fast and smooth cut). Yeah!!!

Cristiano Bochese  Verona, Italy Read my reviews (3)
4 5-09-2011
Nice clean cuts.

As the title says. But like Mickey Springer from Hollywood,CA says, these do cut slightly bigger than the bearing. I just add a strip of tape to the template to fix it that problem. These are super sharp and leave clean edges and last a long time if you maintain them properly. That's right, you should clean the bits when they get too dirty. Keeps them sharper and cooler so they last longer.

Jerhico Guitars  Altona, NY Read my reviews (51)
1 5-09-2011
Ball Bearing Router Bits

I've used both the 3/8" and the 1/2" bits, and they both cut larger than the bearing. This means that your bit will cut more of the project than you want, and depending on the depth of the route, it'll probably cut into the template you're using ruining it.

Then we have the poor bearing life. I only got the 1/2" bit last week, so its bearings haven't worn out yet. But the bearings for the 3/8" bit (I even used 2 as recommended to increase bearing life) wore out extremely fast.

DuctTapeNinja  Chicago Read my reviews (6)
5 5-08-2011
precise

every time i say precise my mind goes to these router bits

fret  athens greece Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
1 5-04-2011
doesn't work with stewmac templates

the blade cuts wider than the bearing.
there is a big gap between the bearing and the blade so unless you use a really thick template (the stewmac ones i got are not)the bearing is too high to make contact with the templates.

Mickey Springer  Hollywood,CA Read my reviews (4)
5 5-04-2011
Beautiful

So reliable esp when used with the templates, the pro look is def achieved.
I find their shelf life very good indeed.

Julyan Wallis, Guitar Doctor UK  Cornwall, UK Read my reviews (45)
5 5-02-2011
Great bits, easy to use

For my first rout these were great. I didn't have any issues at all and would buy them again if I need too.

Modern Saint  So Cal Read my reviews (2)
3 4-23-2011
Bits good, bearings...not so much

The bits are fine quality, but the bearing leaves a bit to be desired, longevity-wise.

Robb  Ambridge, PA, USA Read my reviews (8)
Displaying 51 – 60 < 1  ...  5  6  7  ...  9 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 36 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce