Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Nuts and saddles : String Lifter

String Lifter


Read 51 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Speeds nut slotting jobs! This simple little tool will save you a lot of time when you're filing a nut slot.

See details below

Email a friend
String Lifter
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
4803 String Lifter Yes
$4.79
3 or more $4.25  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

String Spreaders



Nut Slotting Gauge



Feeler Gauges



String Spacing Rule



Dan Erlewines Nut Making Step-By-Step



String Spreaders
Nut Slotting Gauge
Feeler Gauges
String Spacing Rule
Dan Erlewine's Nut Making Step-By-Step



Details
 Pictures
Just slip it under the string in front of the nut, and quickly lever the string up and out of your way. There's no need to loosen the string, and you can quickly reseat it to check the slot depth frequently as you work, without tedious retunings.

The String Lifter fits any string up to .062". Our thanks to luthier Rolfe Gerhardt for this clever idea.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
String Lifter
String Lifter
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 51 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 41 – 50 < 1  ...  4  5  6 >
5 2-13-2011
String Lifter

Simple little tool that once you have one you can't work without it.

Steven K  Columbia, Maryland Read my reviews (20)
5 2-02-2011
Time Saver

This is one of the best buys I've had for the money. What a time saver. No more de-tuning and re-tuning during nut height adjustments. Wish I'd got this sooner.

Tim B  NC Read my reviews (4)
4 1-28-2011
handy

This simple little tool is very handy for working on nuts- saves fingers and time loosening/tightening strings

otterly2k  philadelphia, pa Read my reviews (3)
5 1-04-2011
A Winner

This is just the greatest little tool,so simple yet so easy,

GOA Guitars  Bris Australia Read my reviews (10)
5 12-22-2010
Simple time saver

You can't beat the price and the amount of work and time and frustration it will save you when adjusting nuts.

Michael Bush  Greenwood, NE Read my reviews (5)
4 12-16-2010
String lifter

Small, simple, cheap and effective. Worth getting.

KL  Christchurch, New Zealand Read my reviews (33)
5 11-05-2010
Finger saver!

What a great little devise. Makes the final nut slot cutting a breeze. Works like a charm.

Bluboibass  Acworth, GA USA Read my reviews (13)
1 10-03-2010
The Verdict is Still Out

Well not really. Guilty was the charge. This little contraption failed on a number of accounts. the handle is too small to control the spring tension of the lifted guitar string. And the pressure of the plastic "barrel" that the fretboard had to endure while the string was lifted up and out of the way left noticeable dings in the both ebony and rosewood fingerboards.

fever4reverb  Gainesville,Florida Read my reviews (2)
5 9-09-2010
Exceeds Expectations

I should have bought the string lifter long ago. What an incredible time-saver.

Joe Dowd  Edwall, WA Read my reviews (8)
5 8-20-2010
simple and helpful tool

The string lifter is a simple and helpful tool. It will save your finger nails and makes it very easy to lift up the string. You can leave the string in tune, just grab it and place it on the nut between two slots while you are working. Easy and simple, I love it.

guitar-doctor  Germany Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 41 – 50 < 1  ...  4  5  6 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 18 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce