Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Nuts and saddles : String Lifter

String Lifter


Read 51 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Speeds nut slotting jobs! This simple little tool will save you a lot of time when you're filing a nut slot.

See details below

Email a friend
String Lifter
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
4803 String Lifter Yes
$4.79
3 or more $4.25  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

String Spreaders



Nut Slotting Gauge



Feeler Gauges



String Spacing Rule



Dan Erlewines Nut Making Step-By-Step



String Spreaders
Nut Slotting Gauge
Feeler Gauges
String Spacing Rule
Dan Erlewine's Nut Making Step-By-Step



Details
 Pictures
Just slip it under the string in front of the nut, and quickly lever the string up and out of your way. There's no need to loosen the string, and you can quickly reseat it to check the slot depth frequently as you work, without tedious retunings.

The String Lifter fits any string up to .062". Our thanks to luthier Rolfe Gerhardt for this clever idea.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
String Lifter
String Lifter
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 51 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  ...  6 >
5 7-05-2012
It works!

Cheap little tool that should last a while. Works as described to lift strings under tension from the nut. Didn't know how often I'd use it but have had it on the bench in use since it showed up.

tb  Portland OR Read my reviews (50)
5 6-30-2012
No more broken nails.

Great little tool. So simple. Saves on broken nails. Lift the string, ease it to the side, put it back when done. Simples.

Jocko  Scotland Read my reviews (20)
5 3-26-2012
String Lifter

I first used this tool whilst making my first guitar on course at the excellent Totnes School of Guitar Making. As soon as I used it I knew it would be one of the first items I would order from Stewmac when setting up my own workshop. Filing nut slots to get the action correct at the first fret would be much more difficult without this simple but effective item. It saves time, prevents accidental damage to your instrument and keeps your nails intact.

James Murphy  Plymouth England Read my reviews (12)
Customer supplied image for review
1 3-19-2012
Useless

I gave mine away.

SF Guitarworks  San Francisco Read my reviews (4)
5 3-19-2012
Real Time Saver

Speeds up nut work.
Eliminates repeated retuning.
Excellent idea.

Tecspec  Calgary, Alberta Read my reviews (2)
5 3-14-2012
amazing tool

This thing is brilliant - you have to get one. It's so easy to use and saves so much time...

Daneel van Eck  South Africa Read my reviews (2)
5 2-17-2012
What a time saver Superb.

The importance of string / fret clearance at the business end of the neck cannot be overstated. This tool combined with nut files makes it easy to get it right

Breathed on by Bob  London, UK Read my reviews (3)
5 1-22-2012
Simple but so Effective

I ordered the string lifter as the reviews for it were so good and although I understood what was possible with this small tool, I did not appreciate how quick it was to lift a string out of the nut slot and also the amount of time you could save. I always used to slacken the string to lift it out of the nut, then retighten to pitch after returning to the nut slot. This is another of Stewmac’s little wonders that assist you in getting the job done quicker with a lot less effort, another highly recommended guitar tool.

M Dawes  South Shields, England Read my reviews (13)
5 1-06-2012
Needfull as a floor jack for the car

When I ordered several other tool I thought "Well - a nice gimmick". But now I like that little thing. I have 3 hobbies: luthier, guitar playing and model railroading. But when it comes to guitar playing you need undamaged fingers. And especially for your nails this little toy is worth it weight in gold.

From Germany

Martin Fuerstenau  Unterfoehring Read my reviews (10)
5 12-17-2011
Fingernail Saver!

When I sent for this tool I thought it a bit of a splurge but its as important to me as the string gauge now.

Wilmer Gingerich  Jamesport MO Read my reviews (76)
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  ...  6 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 18 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce