Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Nuts and saddles : Nut and Saddle Vise

Nut and Saddle Vise


Read 55 Reviews   |   Write a Review

A better way to hold nuts and saddles for easier, faster shaping.

See details below

Email a friend
Nut and Saddle Vise

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1816 Nut and Saddle Vise Yes
$35.45


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Bleached White Bone Nuts



Understring Radius Gauges



Bleached White Bone Saddles



Gauged Nut Slotting Files



Essential Nut Making Tool Kit



Bleached White Bone Nuts
Understring Radius Gauges
Bleached White Bone Saddles
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Essential Nut Making Tool Kit



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Articles
Sure, most of us already have a shop vise. And for a long time, you've probably used yours to hold nuts and saddles for filing and shaping. But you've also noticed that your vise jaws get in the way when you're trying to file the top of that nut or saddle, so you're constantly repositioning the work in the jaws.

We considered the problem and designed a special vise that gives you the clearance you need for an easier and more efficient job.

The custom jaws are extra tall, with steep angles for easier access to your work. The end of the vise is beveled for extra relief, too. The 2"-wide steel jaws are hardened for durability and specially undercut to stay parallel under pressure, holding the nut or saddle uniformly without slippage.

For other jobs, the jaws open to 2-7/16", making it versatile for gripping all kinds of small work. This is a well-made, heavy little portable steel vise with a 2" x 5-5/8" footprint; you can clamp it to the edge of your workbench, or into your larger shop vise.

The Nut and Saddle Vise is included in the Essential Nut Making Tool Kit, which has all the basic tools you'll need for shaping, string-spacing, slotting and fitting string nuts like a pro.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Nut and Saddle Vise
Nut and Saddle Vise
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 55 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  ...  6 >
4 11-28-2012
Good vise

The 1st one had a bad screw lock. The replacement arrived promptly and worked well. A good little vise. It needs wings for mounting to a bench.

Edowns  NY,USA
5 11-09-2012
nut vise

Works much better than a regular vise.

POPPY DOUGLAS  LA. Read my reviews (6)
5 10-10-2012
very well made vise

a must have tool to aid in doing saddle & nut work. also useful for many other tasks.

larry riedell  grafton, wisconsin Read my reviews (10)
5 10-10-2012
Should have bought it years ago!

This nut vice is awsome. I also use it to compensate bone saddles. It's is also great for all of those smaller jobs where you need a 3rd hand.

Gilmore Guitars Inc.  Red Deer, Alberta Read my reviews (3)
5 9-18-2012
Purpose designed tool

I love the full access jaws on this vise, another beautifully designed and assembled specialty tool for guitar work.

Greg Robinson - Guitar & Amplifier Technician  Melbourne, Australia Read my reviews (54)
4 8-18-2012
The Nut and Saddle Vise

I'm a beginner with this stuff but I have to say it's been very useful and I was glad that I am able to work with it without having to connect or screw it in to a tabletop. It sits right on top of my workbench and I was able to do the work needed for my new bone saddle. I was able to sand it down with my electric hand sander and saved myself quite a bit of time.

Brad  Chandler, AZ Read my reviews (2)
5 7-31-2012
very useful

How did I manage without this vise? I have used it for a lot of odd jobs around the house as well as making nuts and saddles. You wont regret buying this tool.

Dingobass  Perth, Australia Read my reviews (76)
3 6-21-2012
Good vise....Poor detail

This is a great design for shaping small parts, but the jaws on this one don't meet well and need filing/grinding to meet evenly, otherwise a better rating.

Solarwind Design  Key West & Louisville Read my reviews (2)
5 6-10-2012
GOOD VISE

VERY SIMPLE WORK FOR US

apacheyss keedal  malaysia
4 6-01-2012
Nice vise

Good size and weight, and very well built. I only wish the base had oversized "ears" for clamping to a table (as opposed to clamping in a larger vise, which seems to be the intended use).

Little Crow  Atlanta, GA Read my reviews (29)
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  ...  6 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 20 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce