Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Nuts and saddles : Mitchell Abrasive Cord

Mitchell Abrasive Cord


Read 36 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Guitar floss! After using your nut files, smooth the string notches with Mitchell Abrasive Cord. It helps keep the strings from binding in the slots, for more reliable tuning.

See details below

Email a friend
Mitchell Abrasive Cord

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
6125 .015" (.38mm), 200-grit, Mitchell's #60 Yes
$6.10

6126 .018" (.46mm), 200-grit, Mitchell's #55 Yes
$5.95

6127 .030" (.76mm), 200-grit, Mitchell's #54 Yes
$5.95

6128 .055" (1.40mm), 150-grit, Mitchell's #52 Yes
$5.95

6129 Set of all 4 SAVE $1.50 Yes
$22.45


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Gauged Nut Slotting Files



Double-edge Nut Files



Essential Nut Making Tool Kit



Guitar Grease



Gauged Saws



Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Double-edge Nut Files
Essential Nut Making Tool Kit
Guitar Grease
Gauged Saws



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Available in four versatile thicknesses, Mitchell Abrasive Cord also smooths the string notches in metal bridge saddles, to reduce string breakage.

12-foot roll (3.66 meters).

Sold individually or SAVE when you order all four.

Tough Mitchell Abrasive Cord is coated with durable silicon carbide and aluminum oxide microgrit. It's great for smoothing the string slots in archtop guitar, banjo, mandolin, violin and resonator guitar bridges, to help eliminate string buzz.

Cleans screw threads
Deburrs metal and plastic
Smooths fine edge details in sawn pearl inlays
Smooths bridge pin hole string slots
12-foot (3.66 meter) roll

You'll find lots of other handy uses for it in your shop!

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Mitchell Abrasive Cord
Mitchell Abrasive Cord
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 36 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4 >
5 11-10-2011
Clean groove!

This is just what the doctor ordered for cleaning your nuts. Get your mind out of the gutter—You know what I mean. Seriously, it eliminated the little pops and snaps that happen while tuning.

JJuk  Fullerton, CA Read my reviews (25)
4 11-09-2011
Aprasive Cord

The thicker cords are a must have. The thinner ones break to easy. They need to be reinforced a bit more. The breaking would be my only complaint. Other than that they are a good buy.

dsteiner  Mechanicsburg, PA Read my reviews (9)
5 11-03-2011
Versatile and a money saver!

These abrasive chords are a money saver. You can use them to smooth nut slots after roughing them up with the Gauged saws saving your Double Edge and Gauged slot nut files. They last and can be reused before discarding them.

GuitarMonster  Thorndale, PA Read my reviews (5)
1 10-12-2011
Pretty flimsy in bone nuts

I don't really find that Mitchell's does much abrading or polishing of bone nut slots. It seems to 'clean out' the slot of bone dust. But it pretty much self destructs before it does any kind of sanding. I will likely return to waxed dental floss for use in cleaning nut slots.

Lumpy  Phoenix Read my reviews (2)
4 10-10-2011
good stuff

Great for polishing slots but tend to break easily.

terry chapman  UK Read my reviews (12)
4 8-17-2011
Nice finisher

They were great for removing the burrs from the metal. They did break easily...that's my only critisism.

Sflycaster  Vacaville, California Read my reviews (2)
5 7-22-2011
Nut slots & saddles are smoother than ever

After years of using pencil graphite in nut slots and dealing with rough bridge saddles, this abrasive cord has become an essential finishing touch during nut installation and setups. Strings now glide through the nut without 'pinging' and no longer break on sharp bridge saddle slots.

Old Town Gutiars  Georgetown, TX Read my reviews (4)
5 7-02-2011
No complaints

Polishing the nut slots with the abrasive cord stopped the slot pinching the string.

Buck  Archdale, NC Read my reviews (7)
4 5-31-2011
Great idea, but fragile

I purchased the thinnest, .015" version. Works great to finish off TOM bridge slots, but prone to breakage. May not be as big an issue with the larger diameter versions. Great idea, and works well-- I'll try a larger diameter next time.

Dan O  St Louis, MO Read my reviews (6)
5 5-04-2011
Accurate stuff

These take 'finickity' to the next level, good results, another must have for saddle and nut slots.

Julyan Wallis, Guitar Doctor UK  Cornwall, UK Read my reviews (45)
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 16 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce