Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Nuts and saddles : Gauged Saws

Gauged Saws


Read 60 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Quickly rough-in new slots with these low-profile saws, and save your nut files to refine the depth and width.

See details below

Email a friend
Gauged Saws
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
3600 All 5 saws SAVE $5.00 Yes
$39.90

3594 0.030" (0.76mm) Yes
$8.98

3599 0.025" (0.64mm) Yes
$8.98

3598 0.020" (0.51mm) Yes
$8.98

3597 0.015" (0.38mm) Yes
$8.98

3596 0.010" (0.25mm) Yes
$8.98


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Nut Slotting Gauge



Essential Nut Making Tool Kit



Bleached White Bone Nuts



String Spacing Rule



Mitchell Abrasive Cord



Nut Slotting Gauge
Essential Nut Making Tool Kit
Bleached White Bone Nuts
String Spacing Rule
Mitchell Abrasive Cord



Details
 Pictures
Articles
Handy for trimming nuts, saddles, bridge blanks, violin pegs and other small parts, too.

Each saw has a 5" x 7/16" (127mm x 11.11mm) steel blade with 22 teeth per inch, and a comfortable turned wooden handle.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Gauged Saws
Gauged Saws
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 60 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  6 >
5 5-28-2013
I prefer the push cut.

I use these saws to start string slots. They work and save unnecessary wear on my nut slotting files.

Mack L.  California Read my reviews (18)
5 5-25-2013
Just the right size

These 0.010" saw is just right for string slots in fifth string nuts on banjos. The 0.025" is good for fret slots. I probably should have ordered the whole set instead of just two sizes.

Mark Harper  Lexington KY Read my reviews (44)
5 4-27-2013
fine cuts

a great value, they hold a true kerf width.

Ed bassett  unionville ct.
5 4-15-2013
great saws

a handy tool for detail work / just the right size

ron hyde  wa. Read my reviews (9)
Customer supplied image for review
4 3-28-2013
Gauged saws

Very nice value and very handy in the shop for much more than nuts and bridges. Only disappointment is that they should be pull cut instead of push. That would give much better control.

mcspadden  Arkansas
5 12-08-2012
Excellent saw set!

These saws are exactly the right tools for starting slots in nuts and bridges.

Chris Cooper  Commerce, Mich. Read my reviews (5)
1 11-26-2012
1-Star to drag the average down!

This saw is the right thickness, and the fact that it is a blade w/out anything in front/behind is great. HOWEVER... I have cut myself several times and scoured several pieces because it is a PUSH-cut saw. It makes no sense whatsoever. With a saw this small, you will be cutting small things, meaning you need control. All they had to do was put the blade in the handle the other way, and problem solved! Why couldn't they do that? So frustrating! Pull-cut!!!

Daniel Heo  Hyattsville, MD Read my reviews (6)
3 11-08-2012
0.010

Quality is amazing indeed, but this saw is really must be pull-cut instead of push-cut (as it designed now). Pull-cut saws are easier to control, and this truly makes sense if you trying to make an accurate cut. Nice price, btw.

Tiunov (22)  Moscow, Russia Read my reviews (15)
4 11-07-2012
Useful tool

The gauged saws are extremely sharp and responsive for cutting and opening up nut slots. Great tool for a great price.

Ben oyster  Sydney Read my reviews (2)
5 9-10-2012
nice saw!!

perfect saw to cut nut and start string slot very sharp as well
i ve got 0.10 it is enough for me

Ivan Souza  England Read my reviews (25)
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  6 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 16 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce