Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Nuts and saddles : Gauged Nut Slotting Files

Gauged Nut Slotting Files


Read 186 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Our tempered edge-cut nut files produce round-bottom slots, to ensure that the strings seat properly in the nut without buzzing.

See details below

Email a friend
Gauged Nut Slotting Files

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0821 0.010" width Yes
$12.95

0823 0.013" width Yes
$12.95

0827 0.016" width Yes
$12.95

0828 0.020" width Yes
$12.95

0829 0.024" width Yes
$12.95

0830 0.028" width Yes
$12.95

0831 0.032" width Yes
$12.95

0832 0.035" width Yes
$12.95

0833 0.042" width Yes
$12.95

5313 0.046" width Yes
$12.95

0834 0.050" width Yes
$12.95

0835 0.056" width Yes
$12.95


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Gauged Nut Slotting Files for Bass



Nut Slotting Gauge



Dan Erlewines Nut Making Step-By-Step



String Spacing Rule



Bleached White Bone Nuts



Gauged Nut Slotting Files for Bass
Nut Slotting Gauge
Dan Erlewine's Nut Making Step-By-Step
String Spacing Rule
Bleached White Bone Nuts



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Articles
Each chrome-alloy steel file has twin 4" cutting edges. Among our most popular tools, these professional files help you get the job done quickly and correctly.

What files do I need?
Choose nut slotting files that are the same size or no more that a few thousands larger than your individual string gauges. A smaller file can also be rocked side-to-side to widen a slot to the desired size. For example, you can cut a .043" slot with a .042" file by moving it around a bit.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 186 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 171 – 180 < 1  ...  17  18  19 >
5 12-09-2010
These gauged nut files are great.

I just bought an assortment of these, and did the set up on an 1890's S.S. Stewart banjo as soon as I got them. I've always used Grobet nut files and I love them, but they are getting harder to find, getting more expensive with current exchange rates, and there are a lot more sizes of these gauged nut slotting files than Grobet offers.

It was hard to make the plunge and cross over from what I was used to, but so far I am very happy with these. I can not yet say how well they hold up in the long term, but as far as using them I am very happy and it was great having more precise sizes to choose from (important when using Aquila nylgut strings). I will add that (as with any nut file) a little wax on the sides makes using them very smooth.

Ryan Rua  USA Read my reviews (5)
5 11-24-2010
tools

Here i can find all that i need and from France,the shipping is fast and excellent,thanks St.Mc Do.!

slapypiero  France Read my reviews (2)
4 11-22-2010
Best slotting files available

Maybe these files are slightly overpriced, but what else will do their work?

Tiunov (22)  Moscow, Russia Read my reviews (15)
5 11-18-2010
Bone nut adjustments

These files made a great difference to adjusting the bone nut and saddle on a J-185 guitar - far better than trying to guess the right part of a swiss file to use - been there!

Francis M  Reading, UK
5 11-12-2010
Stwe-Mac gauged nut files

After reading comments about other vendor's files not cutting cleanly and loading up with nut material I decided to go with the slightly more expensive ones from Stew-Mac.

I've now cut several nuts of different material and can say definitively that these files are everything you could want - in terms of smooth, clean, and secure cutting.

They're easy to use, easy to control, and produce an excellent result.

fpirrone  buffalo, ny
Customer supplied image for review
5 11-12-2010
Improved Stew-Mac Nut Files

I had the opportunity to demo Stew-Mac's new and improved nut files and I was so very impressed that I did not hesitate to purchase replacements for some of my older files.

The new nut files have a much more uniform and aggressive cutting pattern when viewed under magnification. As such the cut is more predictable, uniform, and in my opinion easier as well.

I also have a full suite of Grobet files which prior to trying Stew-Mac's new and improved nut files had been my favorite. Not anymore though - once again Stew-Mac comes through with an excellent tool at a very competitive price.

Thanks Stew-Mac!

Lenawee Lutherie  Tecumseh Michigan Read my reviews (4)
5 10-12-2010
Right Tool

Gotta love having the right tool for the job. I used to use needle files for nut slots but these are faster and leave the slot smoother for less sticking and smoother tuning.

Carlton Larsen  Saskatoon Saskatchewan Read my reviews (5)
5 9-24-2010
Nut Files

I have just gone through the process of building my first banjo. The second one is already started! although I did not have to buy many "special" tools, I'm glad I spent the money on the nut files. The strings are set perfectly with no rattle or buzz. The banjo has great tone.

bbilly21  Cary, IL
5 9-22-2010
Works great

I ordered these files in the sizes I needed to file the nut slots on several guitars; they worked perfectly. Take it easy and measure your string/fret clearance often, because they do cut fast. I'm very pleased with the files, they're not cheap but quality costs a little extra.

Phill  Oklahoma
5 9-03-2010
nut file

Had no experience with using these, but with some advice, touched up a ragged nut slot and it did the job I wanted. Recommended.

junior  Ohio
Displaying 171 – 180 < 1  ...  17  18  19 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 16 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce