Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Nuts and saddles : Gauged Nut Slotting Files

Gauged Nut Slotting Files


Read 187 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Our tempered edge-cut nut files produce round-bottom slots, to ensure that the strings seat properly in the nut without buzzing.

See details below

Email a friend
Gauged Nut Slotting Files

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0821 0.010" width Yes
$12.95

0823 0.013" width Yes
$12.95

0827 0.016" width Yes
$12.95

0828 0.020" width Yes
$12.95

0829 0.024" width Yes
$12.95

0830 0.028" width Yes
$12.95

0831 0.032" width Yes
$12.95

0832 0.035" width Yes
$12.95

0833 0.042" width Yes
$12.95

5313 0.046" width Yes
$12.95

0834 0.050" width Yes
$12.95

0835 0.056" width Yes
$12.95


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Gauged Nut Slotting Files for Bass



Nut Slotting Gauge



Dan Erlewines Nut Making Step-By-Step



String Spacing Rule



Bleached White Bone Nuts



Gauged Nut Slotting Files for Bass
Nut Slotting Gauge
Dan Erlewine's Nut Making Step-By-Step
String Spacing Rule
Bleached White Bone Nuts



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Articles
Each chrome-alloy steel file has twin 4" cutting edges. Among our most popular tools, these professional files help you get the job done quickly and correctly.

What files do I need?
Choose nut slotting files that are the same size or no more that a few thousands larger than your individual string gauges. A smaller file can also be rocked side-to-side to widen a slot to the desired size. For example, you can cut a .043" slot with a .042" file by moving it around a bit.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
Gauged Nut Slotting Files
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 187 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 141 – 150 < 1  ...  14  15  16  ...  19 >
5 7-30-2011
Fretting is more easy !!

I have been used this fret wire and the are very good and accurate!!
Thanks again!!

andreluth  Curitiba ParanĂ¡ Brazil Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
5 7-24-2011
Gaged Nut Slotting Files

Hi quality slotting files manufactured to the correct width and radius needed for each particular string size. I recently fixed up a mandolin for someone who replaced the nut and bridge. The Mandolin needed some "tweaking in". These slotting files made the whole job so much easier. I highly recommend these for anyone trying to set up the action on a instrument.

Rick's Repair  allentown pa.
5 7-05-2011
Great

These files cut quickly and leave nice round bottom slots. Make sure to lube them up with procut to avoid chipping out bone nuts.

MidnightGuitarRepair  Rochester NY Read my reviews (4)
5 6-20-2011
Nut Slotting Files

This is a great product, it saves time and allows for a professional job, it is so easy to get the right fit for the strings and height on the fret board.

Marksp  Harper, KS Read my reviews (6)
3 6-08-2011
good for square strings

These files make square nut slots, which are great if you play square strings.

For those of use who use round strings, a tangential touch to preclude the string from wandering left or right in the nut ... minimizes string damping in the nut.

A 'V'-shaped file makes for minimal string damping within the nut.

aNovitiate  Read my reviews (6)
4 6-05-2011
First time .

Got these so I could adjust a compensating nut and though it was my first time I made a respectable job off it. I will buy more to give me a wider range.

Jocko  Scotland Read my reviews (20)
5 6-02-2011
Great files!

These files work well. They measure out to be the stated size, even down to the .010" file. I would agree with other reviews that they cut fast. I see that as a benefit. Firmer pressure makes roughing in quick, yet final depth can be controlled with a lighter touch. I prefer these over the two-sizes-in-one files because of the variety of individual sizes available.

Skee  Pittsburgh, PA Read my reviews (2)
5 5-29-2011
Gauged nut files

I have ten guitars and love to experiment, i own just about every profile of mini files, they have all been shelved since i got the right tool for the right job. Could've saved allot of heartaches, and now i love showing them off.

Lunatic  Cornwall Ontario Canada Read my reviews (2)
4 5-29-2011
Essential tools, but wear down quickly

I have made about 5 bone nuts in the past few months. It now takes me only two hours to make one, and another half hour to screw it up. These files are essential and work well. However, I find that the edges wear quickly. So use lesser tools for the rough fit, and save these for the precision finish work.

Arthur Z  New Orleans, LA Read my reviews (3)
5 5-25-2011
Great files around the shop!

I use every single one of these mostly everyday. I recommend getting a nice small saw also to make the initial cut, and that nut slotting gauge and marker from StewMac are a great buy also.

The Rock Shop  Ottawa, ON Read my reviews (10)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 141 – 150 < 1  ...  14  15  16  ...  19 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 16 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce