Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Nuts and saddles : Double-edge Nut Files

Double-edge Nut Files


Read 74 Reviews   |   Write a Review

The most durable and efficient nut-slotting files available. Specially designed for nut slotting, each file cuts two different width slots.

See details below

Email a friend
Double-edge Nut Files
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
4541 0.012" / 0.020" Yes
$25.45

4542 0.026" / 0.032" Yes
$25.45

4543 0.036" / 0.042" Yes
$25.45

4544 0.050" / 0.060" Yes
$25.45

4545 0.075" / 0.090" Yes
$25.45

4546 0.105" / 0.120" Yes
$25.45

4547 Set of 6 SAVE $11.72 Yes
$140.98


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Nut Slotting Gauge



String Spacing Rule



Gauged Saws



Dan Erlewines Nut Making Step-By-Step



Essential Nut Making Tool Kit



Nut Slotting Gauge
String Spacing Rule
Gauged Saws
Dan Erlewine's Nut Making Step-By-Step
Essential Nut Making Tool Kit



Details
 Pictures
Articles
Each 9/16" x 7-5/8" (14.29mm x 193.67mm) steel file cuts on the edges only, and tapers from the center to a different thickness on each cutting edge. The set of six files does the work of twelve!

Sold individually or SAVE when you buy the set of all six files.

Rubber-coated handles give firm, comfortable control for the job. The complete set includes edge widths for filing round-bottom nut slots on most stringed instruments, including basses. Each file's cutting edge is approximately 3-7/8" (98.43mm) long.

What files do I need?
Choose nut slotting files that are the same size or no more that a few thousands larger than your individual string gauges. A smaller file can also be rocked side-to-side to widen a slot to the desired size. For example, you can cut a .043" slot with a .042" file by moving it around a bit.

The most popular Double-edge Nut Files are included in the Essential Nut Making Tool Kit, which has all the basic tools you'll need for shaping, string-spacing, slotting and fitting string nuts like a pro.

Tip: Customize your files
We recommend that you mark on each side of your files so while working you can quickly tell the different gauge of cut.

Here's how: make a cut on a scrap piece of bone or wood with both sides of the nut file, then measure the width of each cut with feeler gauges to determine which side is which. Guitar strings of known gauges will also work as measuring tools in a pinch.

Once you have determined the proper edge, mark the file accordingly with a permanent marker.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Double-edge Nut Files
Double-edge Nut Files
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 74 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 51 – 60 < 1  ...  5  6  7  8 >
4 7-01-2011
Very satisfactory tools

Good tools but the size directly on the file is missing.

Lucien  France
5 6-25-2011
Use them everyday

Wouldn't be without them. Only issue is it would be nice to have the size labels more clearly delineate which side of the file is what size especially in the smaller sizes. Sometimes it's hard to tell.

P Smith  Cary, NC Read my reviews (5)
4 6-15-2011
Easier than my set of 10

HARD wearing, have gone through a lot of sets of the separate nut file sets from other suppliers which clog and are hard to clean. Simple to work out which side is which by filing on scrap wood, it's visible to see the thicker edge.

Julyan Wallis, Guitar Doctor UK  Cornwall, UK Read my reviews (45)
4 6-09-2011
Still learning

These seem to be very nice files. Definitely more expensive than any files I've ever bought. I've only tried them so far on a plastic nut to reshape the angle on a Les Paul string pull on the back side of the nut. The only negative on the product itself would be the size labeling. It will eventually wear off. It has started already on my crown files.

Todd  Winnipeg Manitoba Read my reviews (9)
4 5-26-2011
Double Edged Nut Files

These certainly allowed a neater and surer way to bed the nut in. Works well and the sizes are pretty much spot on for the uses I have.

Muso.Greg  Australia Read my reviews (3)
5 4-25-2011
Great Nut Files

Another great StewMac product! Super easy to use and plenty of sizes. Use a smaller size and rock back and forth for intermediate sizes.

Wilmer Gingerich  Jamesport MO Read my reviews (76)
5 4-20-2011
Right Tool For the Right Job

I used the Double-edge nut file to cut in a new nut for an inexpensive guitar that was made poorly, it didn't have a seat for the nut. To stop the nut from angling back they filled in the gap with glue. I'm new to guitar repair and I can't believe the professional result I got from this file. I've upgraded the nut from a plastic one to a tusq one and it looks like a pro did the work. I feel the results were only possible with this excellent file.

Rich S  Sussex County, New Jersey Read my reviews (14)
4 3-30-2011
Nut files

Very handy files. I wish the size was etched on the file itself, as it will wear off of the handle.

Talago Guitars  Kalispell MT Read my reviews (2)
4 3-24-2011
It's a Good Tool.

These filesis good and realy save time,but the end of the edges are flat in small sizes and little bit round at big sizes! If they had the end edges perfectly round like a string, i do not have use the old strings to make the round cuts, will very very good a tool can do it!

Blazzio  Brazil Read my reviews (11)
5 3-06-2011
Double edge nut files

I bought all of the nut files and they are awesome,, they do the job well and make it very easy to determine the width of the slots.

Great product,very worth the price.
They are well made, and will last a long time as long as one takes care of them by putting them away after each use.

svisio  san francisco california Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 51 – 60 < 1  ...  5  6  7  8 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 16 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce