Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Nuts and saddles : 3M Flexible Polishing Papers

3M Flexible Polishing Papers


Read 76 Reviews   |   Write a Review

'Finishing fabric' conforms to any surface. Strong micro-grit papers so flexible you can use them like cloth, wet or dry!

See details below

Email a friend
3M Flexible Polishing Papers

Play video

 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
6040 Green, 30 micron/400 grit, per sheet Yes
$2.36

6041 Gray, 15 micron/600 grit, per sheet Yes
$2.36

6042 Blue, 9 micron/1200 grit, per sheet Yes
$2.36

6043 Pink, 3 micron/4000 grit, per sheet Yes
$2.36

6044 Aqua, 2 micron/6000 grit, per sheet Yes
$2.36

6045 White, 1 micron/8000 grit, per sheet Yes
$2.36

6046 Set of all 6 grits SAVE $1.00 Yes
$13.16


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Micro-Mesh Finishing Abrasives Kit



Sandpaper / Finishing Paper Sampler



Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step



Fret Erasers



Micro-Mesh Finishing Abrasives Kit
Sandpaper / Finishing Paper Sampler
Guitar Finishing Step-By-Step
Fret Erasers



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Because they conform to any surface shape, they're great for polishing contoured guitar finishes, frets, plastic pickguards, pearl inlays and more. The first samples we received were jealously hoarded in our shops, quickly becoming favorites for polishing nuts and saddles, and for touchups in lacquer finishes.

Sold individually or SAVE $1.00 when you purchase the set of all six grits.

"Indispensable for polishing bone and pearl nuts. They leave a gorgeous luster with no dark residue in porous bone."
—Don MacRostie, Red Diamond Mandolins

Each sheet is coated on one side with micron-graded particles of aluminum oxide (1200-8000 grit) or silicon carbide (400-600 grit), on an extremely flexible non-woven .007" synthetic backing.

The pattern coating won't clog quickly. They leave no dark residue in porous bone nuts and saddles. The durable tear-resistant sheet washes easily in water.

Each sheet is a generous 9" x 11" (228.6mm x 279.4mm).

"The most versatile abrasive in my shop."
—Erick Coleman

"Lasts a long time, and so flexible you can buff shoeshine-style!"
—Dan Erlewine

Polishing papers: flexible, reusable abrasives
Erick Coleman’s filling his toolbox with polishing paper scraps
Polishing papers: flexible, reusable abrasives Read more

In this issue:
Why has Erick Coleman been hiding small scraps of 3M Polishing Papers in his tool chest?
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
3M Flexible Polishing Papers
3M Flexible Polishing Papers
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 76 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 61 – 70 < 1  ...  6  7  8 >
5 2-13-2011
Flexible polishing papers

A great product for finalizing a professional looking nut/saddle job. Shines to a glossy appearance without an excessive amount of work.

Troy  USA Read my reviews (3)
5 2-07-2011
Works great!

These work great for polishing nuts and saddles. Shines them up very quickly. I bought one set quite some time ago and have used them numerous times. Very useful and long-lasting product.

Alan Morrison - AM Guitar Works  Davenport, IA Read my reviews (7)
5 1-27-2011
3M polishing Papers set of 6

Used these to final sand and polish a bone nut. They did an excellent job and I have not stop finding uses for them. Amazing.

JHM  Oklahoma Read my reviews (4)
5 12-28-2010
Flexible Versatility

Get a set(#6046) of 3M Flexible Polishing Papers and you'll be armed for any stages of your projects.

Tony S.  Paris, France Read my reviews (7)
5 11-24-2010
These are amazing!

I used the Polishing Papers to polish a bone nut. I cut off a little 2" x 3" piece (1" x 3" would work too) of each grit paper, worked progressively through them all. Not even halfway through, the nut really started to shine. I was in awe by the time I finished. These will last a long time, they're inexpensive, and definitely worth buying. Quality product!

Craig  Columbus, Ohio USA Read my reviews (2)
5 11-23-2010
Very Surprising final product

When I first received these papers I didn't think they would do anything. I didn't feel any grit on them but after using them to polish a repair I had made in a finish they worked great.

Myron McVeigh  Keokuk , IA Read my reviews (2)
5 11-03-2010
3M Flexible Polishing Paper

This stuff is amazing, it polishes frets with very little elbow grease and it lasts a long time. Just cut it to any size you need and don't throw it away after the fist use as it has plenty of useful life in it. I've polished the frets on two guitars with one half inch strip of pink that is the width of the paper and it's still going strong.

CadillacBass  Freehold, NJ Read my reviews (3)
5 10-20-2010
3M Flexible polishing papers

I saw a luthier finish a fret job using a series of polishing cloths, obviously well-used from the dust in them. The finishing shine they left on the frets was unbelievable, so I inquired and had to get them for myself. I got the full set of papers, (which are really more cloth-like than paper-like), and cut them into widths slightly wider than a fretboard, numbering them by their progressive coarseness. I just finished a fret job and used them for the first time. They're amazing! In a few minutes time, they leave frets and fingerboard polished to an unbelievable shine. I also used the finer ones to rub out small touch-up areas in the finish, which buff right out to a perfect shine. Glad I got the great tip!

s.t.williams  fresno, CA
5 10-08-2010
3M flexible polishing papers

These papers are absolutely unique and perfect for mending guitars. They are great for treating necks and fretboards -- but be careful with laqueur finishes -- they work best with natural wood.
Absolute must for everyone who wants to keep his instrument in good condition

canutility  vienna, austria, europe
5 9-30-2010
Makes anything shine

I've used these to finishing a lot of different things, from the frets on my older brothers guitar to finishing the inlays for guitar I'm making. But the finish I used these for that I was most pleased with was the finish on an acrylic pen I made in shop class.

Rico  Carmel, IN Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 61 – 70 < 1  ...  6  7  8 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 41 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce