Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Neck, fingerboard : Understring Radius Gauges

Understring Radius Gauges


Read 150 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Fast, accurate bridge saddle adjustment.
Each of these unique gauges has an accurately radiused arc on both the top and bottom surfaces, and is shaped to fit easily under the strings.

See details below

Email a friend
Understring Radius Gauges

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0353 Set of 9 Yes
$29.50

0352 17" gauge only Yes
$3.28


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Radius Gauges



Double-edge Fret File



Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files



Fretting Hammer



Fret Cutter



Radius Gauges
Double-edge Fret File
Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files
Fretting Hammer
Fret Cutter



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Use the bottom curvature to determine your fretboard radius, and the matching top curvature becomes a reference for setting string saddle heights for best playability.

Set of 9 now includes new 17" radius for Ibanez guitars!

Find your fretboard radius, and set your bridge saddles to match. They're handy for matching pickup polepiece heights to the arc of the strings, too. Precision laser-cut from .050" stainless steel.

The set of 9 gauges includes:
7-1/4", 9-1/2", 10", 12", 14", 15", 16", 17" and 20" radii.

They'll work for string spreads and fingerboards up to 2-5/8" (66.68mm) wide.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Understring Radius Gauges
Understring Radius Gauges
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 150 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 71 – 80 < 1  ...  7  8  9  ...  15 >
5 2-22-2012
A gauged success

A great set of gauges to check string heights are aligned to the fretboard radius which I note for ever guitar I setup. I am not a luthier, just an enthusiastic amateur. I like to do my own setups as the difference it makes to the playability of any guitar is huge. Anything that makes the job easier and more precise is appreciated.

Wriggley  Norfolk. UK Read my reviews (2)
5 2-12-2012
Awesome!

These are great for when a customer comes in and says they have a certain radius and swear by it. In just a few seconds you can show them what's really up not only with their fret radius but you can also easily check to see if their saddle radius has been set correctly.

Thom Abell-String Theory Guitar Repair  Mount Juliet, TN Read my reviews (20)
5 2-11-2012
A few minutes

It took just a few minutes to set up the bridge with the understring radius gauges. I just needed to tweak a few things to adjust to my particular neck and I was playing in under 15 minutes. These gauges are a must for anyone seriously building guitars.

Kelly Jamison  Texas Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
5 2-06-2012
A necessary tool.

I just got my Understring radius gauges and I made adjustments to a customer’s guitar using them. I must admit that I never been able to do the job as fast accurately with without this tool. I really recommend the Understring radius gauges, it’s a great tool! Thanks’ to Stew Mac and their R&D department.

Mario Bouchard  Quebec, PQ,Canada Read my reviews (2)
5 2-06-2012
Understring Radius Gauges

What a great product! Wish I'd gotten some ages ago! They just arrived and I immediately used them to set up my '62 Hot Rod Strat - 9.5" radius - feels and plays better than ever - brilliant!

David Hinds  Australia
5 2-02-2012
Excellent

Very good and usefull tools. And not expensive at all. A very good idea.

FT 150BL  france Read my reviews (4)
5 1-31-2012
great gauges

i bought the set to help me with setups...get them you wont regret it!!

will lee  savannah, ga Read my reviews (9)
5 1-29-2012
Radius gauges

These are well made and accurate. Would recommend.

Frank Bruce  Riverside,california.usa Read my reviews (3)
5 1-22-2012
Makes Setups a Breeze

I bought these Under String Radius Gauges as I thought they would minimise the amount of tools you need, as you can use them to set up your under string height, your pickup pole piece height and also to check the radius of the fret board, that’s exactly what they do. They are very high quality tools and are indispensable, as I have always set my string height using a precision rule by eye, but I was amazed when using these gauges to check out the string height on my guitars as I found they were all well out.

I have adjusted my favourite strat and the difference in the playability is remarkably more smoother and more comfortable, I will be using these gauges to set up all my guitars with confidence, I highly recommended these gauges as an essential tool.

M Dawes  South Shields, England Read my reviews (13)
5 1-12-2012
Gauge yourself

My string radius finally FEELS right. Do yourself a favor!

Frakin_sid  Nobama Land Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 71 – 80 < 1  ...  7  8  9  ...  15 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 13 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce