Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Neck, fingerboard : Understring Radius Gauges

Understring Radius Gauges


Read 150 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Fast, accurate bridge saddle adjustment.
Each of these unique gauges has an accurately radiused arc on both the top and bottom surfaces, and is shaped to fit easily under the strings.

See details below

Email a friend
Understring Radius Gauges

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0353 Set of 9 Yes
$29.50

0352 17" gauge only Yes
$3.28


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Radius Gauges



Double-edge Fret File



Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files



Fretting Hammer



Fret Cutter



Radius Gauges
Double-edge Fret File
Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files
Fretting Hammer
Fret Cutter



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Use the bottom curvature to determine your fretboard radius, and the matching top curvature becomes a reference for setting string saddle heights for best playability.

Set of 9 now includes new 17" radius for Ibanez guitars!

Find your fretboard radius, and set your bridge saddles to match. They're handy for matching pickup polepiece heights to the arc of the strings, too. Precision laser-cut from .050" stainless steel.

The set of 9 gauges includes:
7-1/4", 9-1/2", 10", 12", 14", 15", 16", 17" and 20" radii.

They'll work for string spreads and fingerboards up to 2-5/8" (66.68mm) wide.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Understring Radius Gauges
Understring Radius Gauges
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 150 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 41 – 50 < 1  ...  4  5  6  ...  15 >
5 12-01-2012
Simple but effective

Well made little tool - will last forever if I don't lose them. Enabled me to quickly and easily set up my G&L Asat and Strat with perfectly radiused saddles. I didn't hear a difference but I felt better knowing I had put this much attention to detail into setting up these instruments.

GrantS  Winnipeg, MB Read my reviews (3)
5 11-25-2012
Great idea

Great idea - works fine.

Will-Halligan  Southport England Read my reviews (4)
5 10-10-2012
whats not to like?

Useful, simple, multi-function and inexpensive. They never had stuff like this when I started playing 45 years ago. I can think of about half-dozen different uses for these, all related to correctly matching radii with regard to action, nut-making, saddles, slots, etc. Well worth the money and eliminates guesswork.

YoungTurq  Oregon coast Read my reviews (6)
5 10-04-2012
Job made easy.

Used these gauges to set up my Fender Strat Vintage and AM Deluxe and it made the job so easy. A really good piece of kit to have around.

billmcalister  UK Read my reviews (3)
5 10-01-2012
For Bass 5 ?

Excellent but I'd like to have a system that works with 5 strings bass... Neither the width or the hand support (in the center of gauge)fits the needs of 5 string basses! Understring radius setting on bass is very important for bass(...more than guitar) and specially on 5 or 6 strings! Cheers,

Jackbass5  France
5 9-21-2012
Good tools

Very useful to check the curvature of the saddle, nut, fretboard

Eric V  France Read my reviews (4)
5 9-16-2012
great

I don't rely on these for every setup I do but they come in handy often enough to be glad I own them.

James Love  Z-Tron Read my reviews (18)
5 9-11-2012
Incredible gauge!

Wished I'd gotten this set of gauges sooner. Like other reviews here, it was taking a lot longer to set radius of saddles with other tools. Used these gauges with the overstring radius gauges and got a perfect setup the first time I used them. The overstring gauges are great of course, but these helped me fine-tune a heck of a lot better. When I finished the radius of the saddles and strings were about as perfect as I could get them. Quite happy with these!

musicaddict  Texas Read my reviews (3)
5 9-10-2012
great!!!! tool

usefull tool!!!

Ivan Souza  England Read my reviews (25)
5 8-10-2012
the best!

makes your work super under fast! :)

jiROck Custom  Philippines Read my reviews (58)
Displaying 41 – 50 < 1  ...  4  5  6  ...  15 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 13 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce