Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Neck, fingerboard : Understring Radius Gauges

Understring Radius Gauges


Read 150 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Fast, accurate bridge saddle adjustment.
Each of these unique gauges has an accurately radiused arc on both the top and bottom surfaces, and is shaped to fit easily under the strings.

See details below

Email a friend
Understring Radius Gauges

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0353 Set of 9 Yes
$29.50

0352 17" gauge only Yes
$3.28


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Radius Gauges



Double-edge Fret File



Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files



Fretting Hammer



Fret Cutter



Radius Gauges
Double-edge Fret File
Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files
Fretting Hammer
Fret Cutter



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Use the bottom curvature to determine your fretboard radius, and the matching top curvature becomes a reference for setting string saddle heights for best playability.

Set of 9 now includes new 17" radius for Ibanez guitars!

Find your fretboard radius, and set your bridge saddles to match. They're handy for matching pickup polepiece heights to the arc of the strings, too. Precision laser-cut from .050" stainless steel.

The set of 9 gauges includes:
7-1/4", 9-1/2", 10", 12", 14", 15", 16", 17" and 20" radii.

They'll work for string spreads and fingerboards up to 2-5/8" (66.68mm) wide.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Understring Radius Gauges
Understring Radius Gauges
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 150 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  ...  15 >
5 6-24-2013
Perfect Little Tools

I never knew how much these radius gauges would come in handy till I actually started using them. They are the perfect little tools for verifying fretboard radii, setting string action, and adjusting PU pole pieces. Buy these, and you WILL use them every time you set up a guitar; they give perfect results every time.

Mason Lamb  Fresno, CA
5 5-24-2013
Spot on!

Makes stringheight adjustments perfect.

Burgundy Mist  Oslo, Norway Read my reviews (3)
5 5-21-2013
Time Savers

Great Product Amazing Quality that will Last a Lifetime!

Salazar Guitar Garage  Hermosillo Sonora Mexico Read my reviews (6)
5 4-28-2013
Straightfoward

Perfect little tools, useful for dozens of tasks.

John L  Kalamazoo, MI Read my reviews (15)
5 4-28-2013
time saver

when you have a stack of guitars to setup, you'll have more time for other adjustments.

road worn music  versailles , missouri Read my reviews (2)
5 4-24-2013
Understring Radius Gauge..

This is a very useful tool!!! I use this after the high/low 'E' string heights have been set, and then adjust the A,D,G,B strings accordingly... Fine tuning after the height and radius have been set is always a must... I would highly recomend this tool, especially if you are doing alot of set ups... Worth its weight in gold when used properly...

DaVinci Luthiers  Oakville, Ontario, Canada Read my reviews (3)
5 4-23-2013
Understring Radius Gauges

This set is fantastic, high quality like everything else here. I just wish I could get a 13" for my Parker! Hook me up StewMac ;-)

Mitchell Parker  Seattle, WA
5 4-20-2013
Superb!

Excellent set. I had a set of the quasi cardboard gauges, but a few of them broke - these will last a lifetime...

Dave Case  Manalapan, NJ
5 4-08-2013
Under string profiles

Excellent tool for finding out what radius your neck is and setting up your bridge

Walker Benders  Hawaii
4 3-31-2013
Understring Radius Guage

I seemed to always have problems with proper set-up and action on my guitars and wasn't willing to pay someone to do something that looked achievable. I already have the String Action Gauge and use it frequently-it's a necessary tool. I thought that to really milk the last drop when setting up, these under string gauges would help and they do. I needed some Stew-Mac wisdom to see if I was understanding how to best use these and their speedy response certainly helped. These gauges are a blessing to determine fretboard radius and somewhat helpful with string/bridge set-up especially with adjustable bridges like Fender's. I still rely on the String Action Gauge first and the feel of the neck while playing. I think these gauges are top quality and an added help when doing set-ups and I don't regret buying them. They lost a star because I think it would be helpful to include some written instructions to help us novices maximize our efforts or understand the limitations of these tools.

Pegzhead  Burlington, Ontario Read my reviews (6)
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  ...  15 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 13 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce