Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Neck, fingerboard : Luthier's Digital Caliper

Luthier's Digital Caliper


Read 47 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Always one of our most popular items when we exhibit at luthiers conventions!

See details below

Email a friend
Luthiers Digital Caliper

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0447 Luthier's Digital Caliper Yes
$48.70


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

String Action Gauge



6 Steel Rule



String Spacing Rule



Thickness Caliper



Feeler Gauges



String Action Gauge
6" Steel Rule
String Spacing Rule
Thickness Caliper
Feeler Gauges



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Our Luthier's Digital Caliper combines precision, ease of use, versatility and an attractive price, but its usefulness for fret work makes it special.

Customized for fretwork!
We added a custom jaw notch for accurately measuring fretwire crown height (the height above the fretboard). This is essential for comparing new wire to original wire. And thanks to a great idea by repairman Frank Ford, we've also added a notch on the depth gauge to measure fret height on the instrument—a real time saver.

  • Measures fret height before AND after fret installation
  • Accurate readouts in inches or millimeters
  • A must for all precision guitar work

Handy for lots of other measuring jobs in the shop—nuts, saddles, tuners, tool setups and more—this caliper has long-life stainless steel jaws. Featuring LCD digital readouts in inches or millimeters, it measures outside, inside and depth dimensions up to 6" (154mm), with super-accurate .0005" (.01mm) resolution. The jaws can be locked at any position.

Battery and durable plastic storage case included.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Luthiers Digital Caliper
Luthier's Digital Caliper
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 47 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5 >
5 1-16-2012
excellent

excellent tool

lycker  cagliari, Sardinia, Italy Read my reviews (12)
3 12-19-2011
Not a happy caliper!

Works alright when I first got mine, then I noticed the battery life was'nt very long, and had to zero in all the time. I replaced the batteries twice already. I prefer the old time dial indictor with no batteries as opposed to the digital.

JVan  Granger,IN Read my reviews (17)
1 12-09-2011
too expensive.

Definitely must have tool

jon milliken  Dillsburg, PA Read my reviews (2)
5 11-08-2011
Most versatile tool in your kit!

I am just starting out in the guitar building world and I never realized how useful this caliper would be. Once I got this thing, it was incredibly easy to use and I was able to immediately measure all those dimensions I was never able to do before: inside diameter, outside diameter, off sets, fret and nut height and lots more--it does it all! The easy switch between inches and millimeters is great, too. Accuracy down to the thousandth is probably way beyond the average builder, so you can't go wrong.

This tool is worth every penny! A must for every luthier or detailed woodworker.

Gregory Wolff  Virginia Read my reviews (2)
5 10-01-2011
My Favorite "Yardstick"

I never knew how many things I needed to measure, but didn't have the right tool until now! Everything from guitar string gauge (ever have more than one "escape" the envelope?) to the brake disc on my motorcycle.

One caution: I opened the case one day and found the caliper was "on." It goes on automatically when you start moving it to measure, and I probably jostled the case in opening it. Easy work-around: I lock it with the thumbscrew when I put it away.

There's just no comparison between this caliper and the metric dial caliper I had been borrowing from my brother. Not only do I not have to think about his measuring in 0.1 mm increment and interpolating, but a li'l flick of the thumbscrew and I don't have to worry about losing my measurement getting the tool out of places I can't read it, and a push of a button gives me inches or mm to suit what I'm doing!

Paul Piescik  Harrisonburg, VA USA
Customer supplied image for review
3 9-13-2011
Needs fractions

Great Tool! Only one comment..

I'm terrible at doing conversions in my head. Since most people (at least most I know) express their action heights in fractions of inches (not tenths of inches), this tool would be perfect if it had MM/INCH/FRAC instead of just MM/INCH. Otherwise, it's a terrific piece of kit.

Jim_H  Bothell, USA Read my reviews (3)
4 9-02-2011
More useful than I thought!

I initially bought this to measure fretwire, and it's VERY cool that you can use the depth gauge to measure the wire already on the fretboard. As a result of measuring some flat spots I was able to see that I really needed a refret instead of a fret dressing.

Humorously, as I was trying out the caliper I discovered that StewMac had mislabeled the fret wire they sent me -- they sent me the right stuff, but the 154 was labeled 149 and vice-versa. Hehe. Good thing I checked before installing =) So there's another use for it.
I subtracted 1 star because the other comments about the thumbwheel are totally right - I'm scared it's going to fall off every time I use it. Be careful and you'll be OK. Treat this as a precision instrument and not a sturdy tool. =)

paulskav  seattle, wa Read my reviews (2)
4 4-19-2011
Nice!

It arrived just two days ago and it's been a great help so far. The little box to store is nice and the little details to help measure frets are really nice.

Alfredo Rocha  Mexico City, Mexico Read my reviews (16)
5 4-11-2011
useful tool

Haven't used a caliper for many years and reading those little lines did effect the accuracy and ease of measuring: with digital read out accurate readings are much easier. Not sure why instructions say to take out the battery: I never take out my watch battery and I don't wear it for months at a time; if it prolongs the life of the battery or will cause harm to the digital readout?

useful tools  Springfield, Il Read my reviews (3)
5 3-01-2011
Calipers

Great tool to have for all the measurements you have to take! I like the inches/mm feature especially!
Easy to use,very handy!

Steve R  Spring,Tx Read my reviews (26)
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 8 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce