Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Neck, fingerboard : Luthier's Digital Caliper

Luthier's Digital Caliper


Read 47 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Always one of our most popular items when we exhibit at luthiers conventions!

See details below

Email a friend
Luthiers Digital Caliper

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0447 Luthier's Digital Caliper Yes
$48.70


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

String Action Gauge



6 Steel Rule



String Spacing Rule



Thickness Caliper



Feeler Gauges



String Action Gauge
6" Steel Rule
String Spacing Rule
Thickness Caliper
Feeler Gauges



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Our Luthier's Digital Caliper combines precision, ease of use, versatility and an attractive price, but its usefulness for fret work makes it special.

Customized for fretwork!
We added a custom jaw notch for accurately measuring fretwire crown height (the height above the fretboard). This is essential for comparing new wire to original wire. And thanks to a great idea by repairman Frank Ford, we've also added a notch on the depth gauge to measure fret height on the instrument—a real time saver.

  • Measures fret height before AND after fret installation
  • Accurate readouts in inches or millimeters
  • A must for all precision guitar work

Handy for lots of other measuring jobs in the shop—nuts, saddles, tuners, tool setups and more—this caliper has long-life stainless steel jaws. Featuring LCD digital readouts in inches or millimeters, it measures outside, inside and depth dimensions up to 6" (154mm), with super-accurate .0005" (.01mm) resolution. The jaws can be locked at any position.

Battery and durable plastic storage case included.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Luthiers Digital Caliper
Luthier's Digital Caliper
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 47 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  5 >
4 6-23-2012
Digital Caliper

Well the first one I bought was not working, it turned on at will. SM replaced it without question, the next one I got was better but still turns on as soon as you touch it. Maybe it's working the way it should. Over all it works good a little pricey but they stand behind all their products, and that is priceless! Highly recommend this tool. I wish it came with some kind of learning chart.

Graycloud  Mississippi
5 5-09-2012
Calipers

An excellent tool,precise and moderately priced.

Greg Mullins  Melbourne,Australia Read my reviews (3)
5 4-25-2012
Digital Caipers

These are good callipers. Solid to the touch, practical, metric and imperial measurement. A grub screw that is reliable. The on/off means the battery lasts longer. I bought a cheap pair from my local tool shop that lasted 5 months before the grub screw was stripped. The StewMac ones are far superior and a quality tool essential to precision work.

Larkan  Melbourne
5 3-28-2012
Great

This is my first caliper. Not only does it help me make accurate measurements for my guitar and ukelele builds, but I use it for so many other woodworking hobbies. A great tool to have by your side. Thanks.

Gadster  Toronto, Ontario
3 3-19-2012
Average caliper

These are pretty average calipers. We found that they did not accurately repeat measurements, especially under .020. Find a used set of calipers, cut a notch in the jaw with a dremel wheel and you're there.

SF Guitarworks  San Francisco Read my reviews (4)
4 3-14-2012
Nice for the money.

It's always hard to tell with these less expensive calipers until you get them in hand, so I was happy that the quality of this turned out as high as it is. not a real high-end unit, but certainly up to the tasks it's designed for. I've found the notch in the end of the beam particularly useful on one of my problem fretboards to assure myself that the high fret I found was a local backbow problem rather than poor leveling. Only thing I'd change is the case, which I'd prefer to have one snap-latch rather than two, so that it'd be easier to get into.

Demac  Seward, NE Read my reviews (6)
5 3-07-2012
I liked very much

Problems of measurements were resolved with this tool. Recomended.

Elbio Joel Matte  Porto Alegre, RS Brazil Read my reviews (6)
4 3-01-2012
Great until.....

Awesome little tool. It's great for all sorts of things including checking the gauge of strings when customers don't know what sizes they use. It's quite awesome until the batteries start going out then it reads incorrectly. What puzzles me is that Stew-Mac does NOT sell the SR44 battery that this thing uses. Come on Stew-Mac! Grrrrrr.....

Thom Abell-String Theory Guitar Repair  Mount Juliet, TN Read my reviews (20)
5 2-02-2012
Very good

And usefull tool.

FT 150BL  france Read my reviews (4)
5 1-18-2012
Digital Caliper

A must!! This thing goes beyond just fret setting.....a worth while expense......JCM

J.C. Moranville  Colorado Read my reviews (20)
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  5 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 8 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce