Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Neck, fingerboard : Fingerboard Band Clamp

Fingerboard Band Clamp


Read 23 Reviews   |   Write a Review

An ingenious idea borrowed from violinmakers, these economical clamps are a quick, efficient way to glue a fingerboard onto a neck.

See details below

Email a friend
Fingerboard Band Clamp
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
3109 Fingerboard Band Clamp Yes
$4.34
4 or more $3.79  


Quantity prices apply to multiples of the same item number Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Slotted Fingerboard for Fender Guitar, Compound Radius



Slotted Fingerboard for Fender Guitar



Titebond Wood Glue



Shaped Violin Fingerboard



Slotted Fingerboard for Fender Guitar, Compound Radius
Slotted Fingerboard for Fender Guitar
Titebond Wood Glue
Shaped Violin Fingerboard



Details
 Pictures
You won't need to spend time making cumbersome custom-shaped wooden cauls trying match a radiused fingerboard surface, either. The toothed outer surface of the flexible glue-resistant band engages a threaded plastic thumbnut that adjusts the clamping pressure. The flexible cradle conforms to the instrument's neck to help protect the finish.

We recommend positioning a band clamp every 3" along the fingerboard.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Fingerboard Band Clamp
Fingerboard Band Clamp
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 23 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 >
3 3-24-2011
sorry not a fan....

didn't really care for these... I use 12" sanding blocks as cauls for the top and I tried to use these to keep things aligned while getting the cauls in place... they just got in the way... also don't seem to have the clamping pressure needed to do a good job... just my opinion, your results may vary of course :)

smashedguitars  San Antonio, TX Read my reviews (18)
5 3-19-2011
Great clamps

These are great clamps and I was VERY surprised at the amount of pressure that you apply with these. So far I used these with two fret board glue ups…I am not sure how long they will last though…but the price is right! I just wish a bought more; I suggest using 1 at every other fret space.

JDS  New York Read my reviews (5)
5 3-08-2011
fingerbaord clamp

These clamps are great.
Better than using bands etc especially for headstock breaks!!!

terry chapman  UK Read my reviews (12)
5 3-03-2011
Fingerboard Clamps

Really slick!! A whole bunch easier than fighting mechanical clamps.

Joe Comroe  Longview Tx. Read my reviews (2)
5 2-04-2011
Fingerboard clamps

I just got some of those. I wonder where thwy were all my life. I have great hopes for them

Gilles Danis  Drumheller, Alberta, Canada Read my reviews (2)
5 1-26-2011
Fantastic!!!

Used these to hold the radius sanding block on a re-fret to hold 5-6 frets down for the glue to set. Worked like a charm!

Chris Sumrall  Evansville IN
5 1-13-2011
Fingerboard band clamp

I thought the clamps did a very nice job.A little time consuming putting them on but well worth it.

James Buckels  Canonsburg,Pa Read my reviews (2)
3 1-08-2011
Nice idea, but...

I was excited when I saw these and ordered 7. They come close, but don't give enough pressure to really squeeze a fretboard down tightly for an invisible board/neck interface. I still use these to hold the board in position while I apply more conventional clamps and/or bands. I do not use these as the primary clamps.

Bluboibass  Acworth, GA USA Read my reviews (13)
4 12-16-2010
Fingerboard band clamp

Works alright. Not expensive.

KL  Christchurch, New Zealand Read my reviews (33)
5 11-29-2010
sorry for the last review

Okay, I know that in my last review, I posted a comment saying "overly-complicated", but I started messing with them, and eventually figured it out, so I apologize greatly for what I said.

But after I got them working, they were great!! But I thought I could just use 3 of these and use just regular clamps for the rest of the fingerboard. I was horribly wrong, the regular clamps put dents in the fingerboard, which were really hard to sand out and may force me into starting all over again!!!
So if you want to buy these for an electric guitar neck, but at least 5 or 6 of them. And sorry for the other review stew-mac. Looks like you showed me!!

Jonah  Buffalo, N.Y. Read my reviews (5)
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 23 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce