Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Neck, fingerboard : Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam

Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam


Read 46 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Extended length for fast, precise shaping. Create a constant radius on an unfretted fingerboard, or level installed frets with this unique tool for the professional guitar shop.

See details below

Email a friend
Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5640 7-1/4" radius Yes
$132.15

5641 9-1/2" radius Yes
$132.15

5642 10" radius Yes
$132.15

5643 12" radius Yes
$132.15

5644 14" radius Yes
$132.15

5645 16" radius Yes
$132.15

5646 20" radius Yes
$132.15


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

4 Radius Blocks



8 Radius Blocks



Radius Gauges



Dan Erlewines Fretting Series



3M Gold Fre-Cut Sandpaper



4" Radius Blocks
8" Radius Blocks
Radius Gauges
Dan Erlewine's Fretting Series
3M Gold Fre-Cut Sandpaper



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Articles
The 18" long extruded aluminum block is comfortable to hold, and its stiffness and precisely machined radius assure accuracy that's not possible with a wooden block of the same length. We designed this tool for a lifetime of use in the busy shop.

Lifetime durability • Extended length
Fast, accurate fret leveling and fingerboard shaping


Dimensions: 18" long x 2-3/4" wide (457.2mm x 69.85mm)
Seven different radii are available, for popular fretboard shapes.

A great clamping caul for glue-in fret jobs!
"I use aluminum fretboard sanding blocks to hold and clamp the frets in place while the glue dries...A scrap of Neoprene on the bottom of the caul protects the frets from the texture of the machined surface, and serves as a cushion that conforms to the radius a little better, conforming to any slight variations in the fretboard."
Excerpt from Erick Coleman's book Fret Work Step-By-Step

Cut and stick!
3M Stikit Gold Paper Self-adhesive Abrasives are the right width for our leveling and radius sanding tools. Attach 80 through 220-grits for radiusing and leveling the fingerboard, and 220 through 400-grits for leveling the frets.
Works on stainless frets, too!
All of our tools are suitable for use on stainless-steel fretwire, with the exception of our Fret Tang Nippers and Fret Cutters. Modern stainless-steel fretwire is known to be harder than the traditional nickel-silver blends, but our own shop experience indicates the wire does not cause premature wear of files or sandpapers.
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam
Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 46 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5 >
5 5-26-2011
Never More Without It

Sanding beams are the smartest tool you can use on a guitar. they turn a tricky and boring job to something easy and funny. level the fingerboard, clamp the frets for glue-in and fret leveling with the same beam is the clever thing you can do to insure the best results in a refret job. since i got them i almost don't even need to level the frets.

how could i live without it?

StewMike  Italia Read my reviews (11)
5 4-18-2011
Great buy

Really good tool that will last for life. Forget saving a little money on a wooden one.

Ed Hall  England Read my reviews (3)
5 4-05-2011
BUY THIS!!!

This is the best thing to happen to my fretwork since I began making guitars 14 years ago. There is nothing like having perfectly level fret-work to make your work sing. If you are on the fence about spending the money on this, save up and get it now or you will regret it in 14 years.

dmbwoodworking  Burlington, Vt Read my reviews (6)
5 3-25-2011
Multi-purpose tool

These beams are excellent not only for leveling the fretboard and frets but also for correcting neck angles of twisted and bowed necks.

DhaenensGuitars  Aarschot, Belgium, Europe Read my reviews (10)
5 3-23-2011
Awesome

These are a wonderful time saver!

AustinGuitarChic  Austin, TX
4 3-03-2011
a real time saver

When used with simulated string tension this tool can save time and physical exertion. It's not a cure all but it does work great

Nate Clark  Ithaca, NY Read my reviews (12)
5 1-26-2011
sanding beam

works great for radiusing your fretboard, and your frets. I used this tool continuously when building my guitar. Glue your frets clamp it on and it holds them in!

Lance  Ohio Read my reviews (7)
Customer supplied image for review
5 1-09-2011
replaces lots of other stew Mac tools

In my opinion the length and accuracy allow these to replace other fret leveling tools for sale here. My biggest problem with non truss rod old necks is the wavy fingerboards. I pull out the first four and sometimes the last few frets then sand the exposed fingerboard ends with this tool. Checking all the time with a straight edge and feeler gauges to get the alignment parallel with the top of the remaining frets. Then replace the frets and level the tops all together. Of course one could remove all the frets but I am lazy. No more short files or diamond levelers here.

Ian  Toronto Canada Read my reviews (3)
5 1-08-2011
Plecking for Cheap

I needed an accurate and fast way to crown my frets. Wow! I went for the plunge and am very happy. My customer can't say enough about the playability of the axe.

Mike Kalend  Lodi, CA
Customer supplied image for review
5 1-07-2011
It simply works

My 12 inch radius beam made short work of leveling the frets of a cheap Strat copy. This guitar now plays easily as well as a real Fender. I bolted the neck to a flat slab of half inch plywood (plus a spacer) and screwed some side walls as guides alongside the neck to keep the sanding beam straight. I believe this to be a necessary addition - freehand is not accurate enough. The result was perfect.

Useful additions? Wet-or-dry paper long enough to fit in a single length - the join when using normal sheets tends to catch and curl up.

Don Pearce  London, England Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 4 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce