Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Neck, fingerboard : 8" Radius Blocks

8" Radius Blocks


Read 131 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Accurately true or change a fingerboard's radius and level frets.
We make these hardwood blocks for use with Stikit Abrasives, to radius a fretboard quickly, accurately and without guesswork.

See details below

Email a friend
8 Radius Blocks
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0415 7-1/4" radius Yes
$15.95

0405 9-1/2" radius Yes
$15.95

0416 10" radius Yes
$15.95

0406 11" radius Yes
$15.95

0417 12" radius Yes
$15.95

0419 14" radius Yes
$15.95

0420 15" radius Yes
$15.95

0418 16" radius Yes
$15.95

0421 17" radius Yes
$15.95

0403 20" radius Yes
$15.95


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

8 Radius Blocks Essential Set



Stikit Gold Paper Self-adhesive Abrasives



Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam



4 Radius Blocks







8" Radius Blocks Essential Set
Stikit Gold Paper Self-adhesive Abrasives
Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam
4" Radius Blocks
4" Radius Blocks Essential Set



Details
 Pictures
Articles
Shaping fingerboards: use 80 through 220-grit
Leveling frets: use 220 through 400-grit

When working on compound radius fretboards, simply change blocks as you progress along the neck.

Dimensions: 8" (203.20mm) long x 2-3/4" (69.85mm) wide

See our shorter blocks for spot leveling, and for use as clamping cauls when gluing frets.

What's your radius?
Quickly find the curvature of a fingerboard or bridge with a set of radius gauges. Use them frequently to check your work as you smooth or shape a fingerboard or frets: a quick visual check keeps you from accidentally altering the shape—a mistake that's easy to make and hard to fix.

Radius Gauges


/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
8 Radius Blocks
8" Radius Blocks
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 131 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  14 >
5 8-06-2013
Just what I needed

Like the title says, Just what I needed, still have it and I'll use it again.

David Vicars  Texas Read my reviews (11)
4 7-31-2013
Nice but soft

Fretboard Radius-sanding Block is carefuly made product, but wood is soft. I prefer made it from oak. more expenciwe but much better wood: hard and long lived.

wesolowski88  Orońsko, Mazowieckie, Poland Read my reviews (2)
4 6-27-2013
good tool

very nice workmanship, would be nice if it had a finish on it though.

Tewiq  Canada Read my reviews (2)
5 5-30-2013
Great price, good tool

Great for fret leveling and when used with a shooting board perfect for profiling a radius to a fingerboard blank from flat stock. I only wish they were about a half inch wider.

PST Guitars  King George, VA Read my reviews (8)
Customer supplied image for review
5 5-20-2013
great product

the radius sanding block I bought is the perfect tool for sanding a radius on a fret board. I would highly recomend this tool

Rick H  aylmer quebec ca.
5 4-25-2013
Works great

Worked great leveling out some worn frets on a friends guitar.

Brazos Pirate  TX Read my reviews (10)
5 4-15-2013
Great Blocks

These are great for leveling and touching up spots. If you want absolute accuracy, go for the aluminum blocks

TisDale Custom Guitars  Renton, WA, USA Read my reviews (52)
Customer supplied image for review
5 3-23-2013
Multitool!

It's great for nearly anything that's radius related. Use it for leveling frets, as a template for making radius gauges, to hold necks tightly when clamped. Overall great product!

Sander  Tromsø, Norway Read my reviews (10)
2 3-06-2013
Make sure you check with a straight edge

These can warp like any piece of wood. Check them with a straight edge before you do any precision planing. Also check them throughout its life use - what's straight now may not be later. Safest bet - save for the aluminum ones.

GM Reszel  Midwest Read my reviews (6)
5 2-24-2013
Lots of uses

I have a collection of these in 4" and 8" lengths in many of the popular radi'. Can't live without them.

Tom Sawyer (really!)  Vernon, CT Read my reviews (9)
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  14 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 5 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce