Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Inspection : OptiVISOR Headband Magnifier

OptiVISOR Headband Magnifier


Read 78 Reviews   |   Write a Review

See better to do better work! The OptiVISOR flip-up magnifier frees both hands for inlaying, wiring, fret dressing and other close work.

See details below

Email a friend
OptiVISOR Headband Magnifier

Play video

 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1687 OptiVISOR with Quasar LS lights Yes
$70.92

1685 OptiVISOR Yes
$45.97

1686 Quasar LS lights only Yes
$24.95

1688 1.5X magnification lens only Yes
$29.95


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Essential Pearl Cutting Tool Kit



Dan Erlewines Fretting Series



Inspection Mirror



Fieldpiece LED Extension Mirror



3-Piece Inspection Mirror



Essential Pearl Cutting Tool Kit
Dan Erlewine's Fretting Series
Inspection Mirror
Fieldpiece LED Extension Mirror
3-Piece Inspection Mirror



Details
 Pictures
 Video
The OptiVISOR comes with 2X magnification lens with a 10" (25.4cm) focal length — good for medium-close work like pearl cutting, inlaying, engraving and fret-dressing. The lenses are removable so you can switch to the 1.5X lens (#1688, sold separately), which gives you the option of a broader view.

Snap the Quasar LS™ high-intensity lights on the front of your OptiVISOR and really light up your work! High efficiency LEDs (light emitting diodes) surround the lenses to virtually eliminate shadows in hard-to-light areas. The lightweight battery box (with on/off switch) attaches easily to the OptiVISOR frame. Two AA batteries are included.

"However did I manage without it?"
—Stefan Sobell, renowned luthier Northumberland, England

If you've watched our videos, you know ace repairman Dan Erlewine is seldom without his OptiVISOR!

Lenses are optically-ground polished glass. Headband is adjustable and comfortably padded.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
OptiVISOR Headband Magnifier
OptiVISOR Headband Magnifier
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 78 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 71 – 78 < 1  ...  6  7  8
5 11-06-2010
OptiVISOR Rocks!

A little dorky looking, but I wouldn't give them up for anything. Man, they make detail work much easier to see. Highly recommend them to everyone.

WikkedEggGuitars  Sterling, CO Read my reviews (10)
5 10-27-2010
Optivisor with light

I just turn 48 today and have been working on guitars my whole life. I love Stew-Mac’s online site, very easy to use. I’m older and my eyes are going. I got this Optivisor with light. and OMG I can see everything. Just don’t drive with them. Soldering, looking for cracks, I walk around the whole basement with them. They’re that good. I should of got these a long time ago. Get them you will not regret it. Worth every penny

jackguitars  Sicklerville,NJ Read my reviews (8)
3 10-09-2010
optiVISOR

The optiVISOR works great. Next time I wouldn't spend the money on the light. It doesn't add much to an already well lit workplace.

Geohen  USA
5 10-08-2010
Great Product With Minor Quirks.

As in all the other reviews, I can't stress enough how helpful the OptiVisor has become to me. BUT! Pay attention to the focal length of the lenses. I purchased the 2X and it is very annoying to have to keep a 10 inch distance from your work in order to focus. The best choice for me is the 1.5X so you can hold your head a more normal distance away and still have great magnification. Lenses are crystal clear and mainly free of distortion so eye strain isn't too great after long periods of use. I have another issue in regards to lens removal. Once they are pinned on (especially with the LED lights)forget about removing the plastic pins. I had to snip the ends off and then use 6-32 machine screws to reassemble everything. This works quite well and would make changes simpler in the future if needed. Hope this info helps. Best Regards.

Jerry Stachowiak  Buffalo, NY
5 9-03-2010
If you need reading glasses, you certainly need this

This item just arrived a week or so ago and I haven't used it yet on a project, but I'm really looking forward to it after trying it out around the house. Usually I end up taking my glasses off if I can't get clear enough detail on a wiring or similar project. With this headband (and the lighting attachment), I can see fine details better than ever.

Steve T  Boston, MA Read my reviews (4)
5 9-03-2010
I'm not laughing now!

I always thought these made the wearer look a little goofy, but after using these one time, I am hooked. And the light is nice and bright, glad I got it too. My eyes just aren't what they used to be, or maybe they never were to begin with!

Mudbug765  Hartford City, IN Read my reviews (13)
5 9-03-2010
A MUST Have!!! :)

If you do any work on guitars you MUST have these! They are Incredible!!! WOW! I would advise though to make sure to get the 2X lens w/lights, believe me they are worth it. Now I can actually see the solder connections etc. LOL! Thanks Stew-Mac!
Here's my latest creation...A custom All Hand-built King-V Double neck with a Floyd 6 on Top & a String-Through Body-6-string on the bottom, this thing plays AwEsOmE! :)
P.S. We guitar nuts HAVE TO stick together and help each-other!:)
Thanks :)
GOD Bless!

Balck Diamond Custom Guitars  Emmaus, PA USA Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
5 8-04-2010
The Greatest

Essential - can't do without it.

Bill Burgess  California
Displaying 71 – 78 < 1  ...  6  7  8 /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 27 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce