Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Inspection : OptiVISOR Headband Magnifier

OptiVISOR Headband Magnifier


Read 78 Reviews   |   Write a Review

See better to do better work! The OptiVISOR flip-up magnifier frees both hands for inlaying, wiring, fret dressing and other close work.

See details below

Email a friend
OptiVISOR Headband Magnifier

Play video

 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1687 OptiVISOR with Quasar LS lights Yes
$70.92

1685 OptiVISOR Yes
$45.97

1686 Quasar LS lights only Yes
$24.95

1688 1.5X magnification lens only Yes
$29.95


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Essential Pearl Cutting Tool Kit



Dan Erlewines Fretting Series



Inspection Mirror



Fieldpiece LED Extension Mirror



3-Piece Inspection Mirror



Essential Pearl Cutting Tool Kit
Dan Erlewine's Fretting Series
Inspection Mirror
Fieldpiece LED Extension Mirror
3-Piece Inspection Mirror



Details
 Pictures
 Video
The OptiVISOR comes with 2X magnification lens with a 10" (25.4cm) focal length — good for medium-close work like pearl cutting, inlaying, engraving and fret-dressing. The lenses are removable so you can switch to the 1.5X lens (#1688, sold separately), which gives you the option of a broader view.

Snap the Quasar LS™ high-intensity lights on the front of your OptiVISOR and really light up your work! High efficiency LEDs (light emitting diodes) surround the lenses to virtually eliminate shadows in hard-to-light areas. The lightweight battery box (with on/off switch) attaches easily to the OptiVISOR frame. Two AA batteries are included.

"However did I manage without it?"
—Stefan Sobell, renowned luthier Northumberland, England

If you've watched our videos, you know ace repairman Dan Erlewine is seldom without his OptiVISOR!

Lenses are optically-ground polished glass. Headband is adjustable and comfortably padded.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
OptiVISOR Headband Magnifier
OptiVISOR Headband Magnifier
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 78 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3  ...  8 >
5 3-31-2014
A "Must Have" for EVERY shop

This headband is by far my favorite tool purchase of recent memory. I opted to go with the light set, and I'm very glad I did. My close up vision when wearing contacts is terrible, and I was hoping that this headband visor would help. Help is not the word for it. I cannot imagine doing close work without it. I may get the lesser-power lens, but for now, I'm very glad I paid for such a high-quality tool. The lights are so bright that you'll only look "into" them ONCE, and you'll work to be considerate of others so not to shine them in their eyes... they are that bright. Some guys pay more for a round of golf or beers in a night than these cost...invest in yourself...I'm very glad I did.

Stringdriver  US Read my reviews (3)
4 3-15-2014
Good

Tried some other approaches but this thing works good, but be sure and get the lights. Still have to be right up on the item to see clear, but the vision is clear and a must for guitar work

Lotus  Arlington WA Read my reviews (9)
5 3-10-2014
Great

I have been thinking about getting this for some time now, and I finally did. It's great, and now I use it all the time. It is a bit pricey, but I tried some cheaper alternatives and the quality was poor. I expect these to last a long time. Also, I use the lights on it a lot of the time, they proved to be more valuable than I originally expected. This one is highly recommended

Tim Skau  Norway Read my reviews (17)
5 2-15-2014
Great thing!

The older I get the more I need it ;-)

Christian Doerr Master-Luthier  Neustadt an der Weinstrasse Germany Read my reviews (2)
5 2-03-2014
No brainer

Why would you wait till your eyesight got bad to get a pair of these, they allow you to do a much better job on all of your repair jobs, I especially love using them for crowning frets

bravo667  Brampton, ON Read my reviews (7)
5 2-02-2014
Perfect Vision

I am 62 years old and my vision is not the best, for details of precision. To solve my problem I bought a lighted magnifying glass which was a hindrance to perform the work. When purchasing the OptiVISOR Headband Magnifier from Stew-Mac, I felt blessed, to perform any work, with my hands free and a vision incredibly illuminated and magnified that allows me to see all the details. Thanks Stew-Mac.
I strongly recommend this item to my friends.

JDBenitez  Naguabo, Pueto Rico
5 1-15-2014
Fantastic

I needed to cope some base molding and grabbed my OptiVISOR. Man it was like having it under a microscope. Came out perfect. I never realized how easy it is when you can see at that resolution!

Stevie P  NH
5 12-16-2013
Great Product

I finally had the opportunity to use the OptiVISOR (with lights) to cut the wood for an abalone inlay in the handle of a fish landing net that I made for my father. Without the OptiVISOR , I would have been all over the handle, which is made of paduk, walnut and maple. The inlay dots were placed at 6", 12" and 18" for measuring the size of the fish caught. Anything over 18" probably comes with a big fish tale. The net turned out fantastic due to the accuracy of the inlay cuts while using the OptiVISOR. Great product. Happy Birthday Dad - 90 years old

Sward  Centennial, CO USA
5 12-06-2013
Now I Get It!

I always wondered how in the world I was supposed to be able to read the tiny measurements (millimeters, etc.) when setting up my guitars. Before I kind of eyeballed it until I got this. Wow - now I see (pun intended) how this can actually be done precisely. Get the light too. Great for so many things, I don't work on my guitars without it.

StratSlinger  Davidson, NC Read my reviews (2)
4 11-18-2013
Great help for inlay work

A big help for inlay work and would have been a 5 star except that the optics are just a little fuzzy around the edges, but much better than my discount-tool specials.

Craig H.  Blue Ridge, TX Read my reviews (2)
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3  ...  8 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 27 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce