Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Inlay : Precision Router Base : Precision Router Base

Precision Router Base


Read 50 Reviews   |   Write a Review

A more stable way to support your Dremel. Our sturdy, compact base is the best way to hold a Dremel for freehand routing, inlaying, widening fret slots and more.

See details below

Email a friend
Precision Router Base

Play video

 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5260 Precision Router Base Yes
$53.65


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Precision Router Base Complete Set



Saddle Routing Jig



Dremel 4000 Rotary Tool Outfit



Foredom Power Tool with Precision Router Base Set



Soundhole and Rosette Routing Jig



Precision Router Base Complete Set
Saddle Routing Jig
Dremel 4000 Rotary Tool Outfit
Foredom Power Tool with Precision Router Base Set
Soundhole and Rosette Routing Jig



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Instructions
Made of machined steel, brass and aluminum, it features precision cutting depth adjustment with large thumbwheels to eliminate guesswork.

Designed especially for stringed instrument work.
  • Excellent control
  • Easy installation
  • Accurate freehand routing

Sturdy, compact, and adjustable
Each turn of the large knurled thumbwheels adjusts your Dremel's cutting depth by .035" (.889mm). You can rout an inlay cavity that's precisely compensated for the thickness of the pearl and glue, for less sanding later.

Tall twin handles give you excellent control for freehand routing, and you get a good view of your work. There's even a built-in nozzle for attaching a mini air pump to continuously blow away the dust—you'll rout inlay cavities more precisely, for a better fit requiring less filler.

And here's a tip from Dan Erlewine: clamp the Dremel and router base upside-down on your workbench, and use the bottom of the router base as a mini drum sander, as Dan Erlewine did for a Gibson L-1 archtop bridge in this issue of our Trade Secrets Newsletter.

Installation is easy.
Simply unscrew the threaded plastic collar on the nose of the Dremel, and screw on the Precision Router Base. Its 3/4-12 thread fits:
Dremel 4000, 400XPR, Professional, MultiPro and most corded models made since 1986
Black & Decker Wizard and RTX
Our Foredom custom handpiece

Make your Dremel a more versatile guitar shop tool.
The Precision Router Base is a direct fit on our attachments:

Attachments for
Saddle slotting
Bridge Saddle Routing Jig
Attachments for
Routing
Soundhole/Rosette Routing Jig
Purfling/Soundhole Router Guide


"Which binding tools should I choose?"
"Which binding tools should I choose?"
"Which binding tools should I choose?" Read more

In this issue:
Erick Coleman answers a frequent question from customers: Which tools to use for routing channels for instrument bindings?
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Precision Router Base
Precision Router Base
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 50 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 41 – 50 < 1  ...  3  4  5
5 7-25-2012
Precision Router Base

Five star product! I have been using it for a couple weeks and it is VASTLY superior to anything else on market. Stew-Mac now "needs" to make a base plate variation for working rounded surfaces to make that job even easier for us craftsman artisans....

Blue Danube  USA
5 7-08-2012
precision router base

Bought this product after seeing an example whilst taking a box making course. Very impressed with the materials and the precision of the finish. Bought it to use with a Dremel - much better product than the 'in-house' version and well worth the extra cost. Very impressed with STEWMAC - very easy to order, clear and direct website and very quick response and delivery, even to here in the UK. Highly recommended. Bill

rainbloke  UK
5 7-01-2012
Fantastic Router Base!

While the price is steeper than that of other router bases, StewMac does not fail to provide its promises. This is far sturdier than any other Dremel base, and is indispensable for inlay work, as well as other miscellaneous jobs. Well worth the money!

Dopatka  Knoxville, TN
5 6-01-2012
That's better!

Had a substandard version of this tool and was never happy with it. Then I saw this and thought I would give it a try. Marvelous tool! A must have add on for Dremel.

Dingobass  Perth, Australia Read my reviews (76)
5 4-08-2012
Huge upgrade to Dremel tool....

I purchased the router base along with the rosette jig. The two items worked together fabulously and allow very precise small changes in depth and radius. I am using the sprial carbide cutters and the results were absolutely perfect. The circle cutter that came with the Dremel is in the trash.

Keith B.  Erie, CO
Customer supplied image for review
5 3-15-2012
Just what I was looking for!

The router base connects perfectly to my Dremel tool, and does exactly what StewMac says. Makes inlay easier, and helps create cleaner projects.

guitar-king90  Elkhorn, WI Read my reviews (5)
Customer supplied image for review
5 1-27-2012
awesome tool

Well worth the money. Far superior to the plastic router base that Dremel sells.

frailingbanjo  moorhead, mn Read my reviews (3)
5 6-22-2011
Precision router base

This tool is beautifully made from quality materials. It is simple and accurate to use.

MJF  Australia Read my reviews (3)
5 6-22-2011
Does what it's named for..... Precision

This base does exactly what is's made for precision, the mini pump blows away the dust. The edge guide is good but you do need a little practice for good result but if you do want to have a perfect result, I suggest to use a router with binding bits and bearing. The only less positive point is that you have to check if the knob on precision base are tight enough, you don't want them to loose and ruin your binding.

Gems  Quebec, Canada Read my reviews (2)
5 5-11-2011
Verry usefull and precise

I'm verry pleased with this router base. Used it to rout the cut-outs into kerfings to fit the bracing. Went just perfect. Hope to get it to do the same job for some inlays. Only remark: to bad there's no air-pump available for european 220v. I'll use my vacuum cleaner instead....still looking for the reverse gear shift on that one :-)
Oh and congratulations on the DHL shippement....(ordered on Wednesday, received in Belgium at my doorstep on Friday seems almost an impossible thing to do, but that's how they do it) thanks, Stephan in Antwerp, Belgium

Triskel Workshop  Antwerp, Belgium Read my reviews (17)
Displaying 41 – 50 < 1  ...  3  4  5 /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 30 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce