Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Inlay : Precision Router Base

Precision Router Base


Read 50 Reviews   |   Write a Review

A more stable way to support your Dremel. Our sturdy, compact base is the best way to hold a Dremel for freehand routing, inlaying, widening fret slots and more.

See details below

Email a friend
Precision Router Base

Play video

 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5260 Precision Router Base Yes
$53.65


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Precision Router Base Complete Set



Saddle Routing Jig



Dremel 4000 Rotary Tool Outfit



Foredom Power Tool with Precision Router Base Set



Soundhole and Rosette Routing Jig



Precision Router Base Complete Set
Saddle Routing Jig
Dremel 4000 Rotary Tool Outfit
Foredom Power Tool with Precision Router Base Set
Soundhole and Rosette Routing Jig



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Instructions
Made of machined steel, brass and aluminum, it features precision cutting depth adjustment with large thumbwheels to eliminate guesswork.

Designed especially for stringed instrument work.
  • Excellent control
  • Easy installation
  • Accurate freehand routing

Sturdy, compact, and adjustable
Each turn of the large knurled thumbwheels adjusts your Dremel's cutting depth by .035" (.889mm). You can rout an inlay cavity that's precisely compensated for the thickness of the pearl and glue, for less sanding later.

Tall twin handles give you excellent control for freehand routing, and you get a good view of your work. There's even a built-in nozzle for attaching a mini air pump to continuously blow away the dust—you'll rout inlay cavities more precisely, for a better fit requiring less filler.

And here's a tip from Dan Erlewine: clamp the Dremel and router base upside-down on your workbench, and use the bottom of the router base as a mini drum sander, as Dan Erlewine did for a Gibson L-1 archtop bridge in this issue of our Trade Secrets Newsletter.

Installation is easy.
Simply unscrew the threaded plastic collar on the nose of the Dremel, and screw on the Precision Router Base. Its 3/4-12 thread fits:
Dremel 4000, 400XPR, Professional, MultiPro and most corded models made since 1986
Black & Decker Wizard and RTX
Our Foredom custom handpiece

Make your Dremel a more versatile guitar shop tool.
The Precision Router Base is a direct fit on our attachments:

Attachments for
Saddle slotting
Bridge Saddle Routing Jig
Attachments for
Routing
Soundhole/Rosette Routing Jig
Purfling/Soundhole Router Guide


"Which binding tools should I choose?"
"Which binding tools should I choose?"
"Which binding tools should I choose?" Read more

In this issue:
Erick Coleman answers a frequent question from customers: Which tools to use for routing channels for instrument bindings?
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Precision Router Base
Precision Router Base
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 50 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  5 >
5 12-08-2013
Total Control

This is a fine example of craftsmanship of tools made in the USA - I have done LOTS of inlay with this for 3 years solid now and it looks old, but still holds up to the brutal abuse I put it through. I do extensive inlay and this is by far the best tool in the shop.
Virgil Mandanici
Virgil Guitars

VirgilGuitar  Tampa, FL Read my reviews (9)
Customer supplied image for review
5 10-24-2013
Great tool

Has the look and feel of something very well built. Allows great precision and mobility. Top piece of equipment

MPL Guitars UK  UK Read my reviews (3)
5 10-17-2013
Precision Router Base!

I bought this product having never attempted to do an inlay before. But this product and a little practice on other woods gave me the confidence to try it! I think it turned out great! But that is just my opinion! I can't show the set up but this is the result!

Ken Carlson  Swartz Creek, Mi
Customer supplied image for review
5 10-16-2013
An extremely versatile addition to any shop:

I use this this attachment for a plethora of tasks, but one of the most handy being roughing out material on my carved rosettes. I do this prior to cutting everything to shape with an Exacto, and then following up with a fine sanding bit on the Dremel to clean up the edges, doing this in addition to using a variety of needle files. It provides a great deal of stability, and control on such a delicate task. - Austin

Vermont Acoustic Guitars  Hartville, Ohio
Customer supplied image for review
5 9-25-2013
Brilliant!

I love this tool and don;t know what I would do without it! Does exactly as it is designed to do.

MartinT  Central Coast, NSW Read my reviews (6)
5 9-23-2013
My new favorite!

God, how did I ever live without this thing???? It's simply amazing how precise you can be with this base. I purchased the inlay bit set as well and man it just plain out works awesome! Having the right tools definitely makes a nicer finish product easier to obtain.

Mike Tonn  Orient Ohio Read my reviews (11)
5 8-30-2013
Better presicion

When I decided to buy a Dremel for inlay work, I acquired the original dremel router base too. It is made of plastic and did not have the precision I was looking for the job. The original dremel base has nothing to do regarding cutting depth regulation, weight and size compared to the precision router base from Stewmac. I certainly recommend it.

Double-edge Nut Files Set  Argentina Read my reviews (2)
5 8-27-2013
Great Tool

I recently purchased this little router base and have been using it. What a great tool. I have been using it to make sound hole covers for Cigar Box Ukuleles. It just works awesome. When I get better with it I will use it for routing inlays. My only suggestion for an improvement to it would be to make the base out of Stainless steel. The aluminum will leave marks on the wood surface if not kept waxed. Can't wait until I can buy some of the attachments for it and a better tool than my little Dremel to use with it.

Paul D  Benton City, WA
5 7-21-2013
Router base works great

The stewmac precision router base is the perfect addition to my Dremel tool.it allows for greater control when routing intricate designs. I would highly recommend this tool to all custom guitar makers.

Buttskin guitars  Virginia
5 7-17-2013
Great

I am thrilled with the quality and design of this thing. You can see what you are doing from almost any angle.

preetcher  Beaufort, NC Read my reviews (48)
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  5 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 30 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce