Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Inlay : Carbide Downcut Inlay Router Bits

Carbide Downcut Inlay Router Bits


Read 87 Reviews   |   Write a Review

The best for inlay work and saddle slotting! Solid carbide lasts far longer than steel, and reverse spiral flutes cut downward for cleaner, "no fuzz" edges in routed cavities.

See details below

Email a friend
Carbide Downcut Inlay Router Bits
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5155 Set of all 5 sizes SAVE $10.00 3-4 weeks
$82.75

5154 1/8" dia. Yes
$18.55
3 or more $17.05  

5153 3/32" dia. Yes
$18.55
3 or more $17.05  

5152 1/16" dia. 3-4 weeks
$18.55
3 or more $17.05  

5151 3/64" dia. 3-4 weeks
$18.55
3 or more $17.05  

5150 1/32" dia. Yes
$18.55
3 or more $17.05  


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Precision Router Base



Binding Router Guide



Purfling/Soundhole Router Guide



Dremel 4000 Rotary Tool Outfit



Soundhole and Rosette Routing Jig



Precision Router Base
Binding Router Guide
Purfling/Soundhole Router Guide
Dremel 4000 Rotary Tool Outfit
Soundhole and Rosette Routing Jig



Details
 Pictures
To use our 1/8"-shank bits in your laminate trimmer's 1/4" collet, see our #5246 Adapter Collet.

Length 1-1/2" (38.10mm)
Shank diameter 1/8" (3.18mm)

Use the larger bits for removing wood in the middle of your inlay work, and save the fine bits for the fine details. The fine detail bits are fragile, for routing intricate details only.

Item Primary use Width of cut Depth of cut
5154 For inlay routing and bridge saddle slots 1/8" (0.1250", 3.18mm) 1/2" (0.375", 9.53mm)
5153 For inlay routing and bridge saddle slots 3/32" (0.0938", 2.38mm) 1/4" (0.250", 6.35mm)
5152 For fine detail inlay routing 1/16" (0.0625", 1.59mm) 3/16" (0.188", 4.78mm)
5151 For fine detail inlay routing 3/64" (0.0469", 1.19mm) 1/8" (0.125", 3.18mm)
5150 For fine detail inlay routing 1/32" (0.0313", 0.79mm) 1/8" (0.125", 3.18mm)


/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Carbide Downcut Inlay Router Bits
Carbide Downcut Inlay Router Bits
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 87 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5  ...  9 >
5 9-14-2012
Excellent bits

Wonderful for stringing and other inlay.

Ake Wallin  Sweden Read my reviews (2)
5 8-30-2012
Nice Quality

There are other options but none as accurate or clean cutting as these bits!

Fleer  Imperial, Mo. Read my reviews (29)
5 8-27-2012
Down & out

I recently broke my 1/32 downcut bit and used various alternatives but nothing compares. These bits are the only way to get really clean inlay cuts - easy to see where you are cutting and to get an accurate profile of your inlay tracing. But they are fragile!

Dr. Don  Melbourne, Australia Read my reviews (10)
5 8-25-2012
Cuts much better than Dremel bits

I had a few bit that came with my Dremel tool and they are 6 flutes. They cut way too slow. These 2 flute bits that I bought from stewMac cuts so much faster, and not rough at all!

The Scar  Geneva, NY
5 8-12-2012
Sharp!

These bits are fantastic. They cut much smoother and cleaner than the non-carbide bits. They are a little on the expensive side for the size of, but in the end are certainly worth it once the inlay work is completed and the customers are happy.

Bill Woger  Menomonee Falls, WI Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 8-08-2012
Great router bits!

The bits worked great and completely took care of the "fuzzy edge" problem. Thanks!

Ron57  Valparaiso, IN Read my reviews (2)
5 7-14-2012
Great Bits!

These are great bits, and you can't do any good inlay work without them.

Jeff M  Rockport, Texas Read my reviews (4)
5 6-08-2012
Great Bit

I love the bit I bought so much I plan on getting more sizes. Great!

mopillar  USA Read my reviews (4)
5 6-01-2012
Darn thats sharp!

What beautiful, sharp little guys these are! The cleanest inlay routing I have ever done.

Dingobass  Perth, Australia Read my reviews (76)
5 5-18-2012
The little bit that could!

Purchased the 3/32 and the 3/64 to route inlay pockets for a LP standard rosewood fret board. Couldn't be more pleased. Did a test route with the 3/32 but it was obvious that it would be a little to large for the margins and corners and way to aggressive that close up so I opted too use the 3/64 for everything. That little guy cut through that rosewood like the proverbial hot knife in butter. Also used it to undo two MOP inlays fully set up and while I needed to take this a little slower it did the job well. Absolutely no fuzzy edges just as advertised. While $18 is a little rich for something the size of pencil lead I couldn't find it cheaper elsewhere so what's a guy gonna do.

CincinnatiBill  Cincinnati
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5  ...  9 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 30 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce