Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Fretting : Three-in-one Fret File

Three-in-one Fret File


Read 58 Reviews   |   Write a Review

This wooden-handled file features three interchangeable 1-7/8" hollow burrs for recrowning a wide range of fret widths, from basses and guitars to mandolins.

See details below

Email a friend
Three-in-one Fret File
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0685 File handle with 3 burrs Yes
$49.11

0679-N Narrow replacement burr only Yes
$14.56

0679-M Medium replacement burr only Yes
$14.56

0679-W Wide replacement burr only Yes
$14.56


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

StewMac Wide Fretwire



Double-edge Fret File



Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files



Fretting Hammer



Fret Cutter



StewMac Wide Fretwire
Double-edge Fret File
Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files
Fretting Hammer
Fret Cutter



Details
 Pictures
The 4-1/2" long steel shank is angled for efficiency and clearance over the guitar body. Useful for a wide range of fret widths, from basses and guitars to mandolins.

#0685 Includes 1 wooden-handled file and 3 burrs in these sizes:
- Narrow, 3/32"
- Medium, 1/8"
- Wide, 3/16"

Replacement burrs sold separately.

Works on stainless frets, too!
All of our tools are suitable for use on stainless-steel fretwire, with the exception of our Fret Tang Nippers and Fret Cutters. Modern stainless-steel fretwire is known to be harder than the traditional nickel-silver blends, but our own shop experience indicates the wire does not cause premature wear of files or sandpapers.
How to choose a fret-crowning file
Too many fret files! Here's how to choose the right files for you.
How to choose a fret-crowning file Read more

In this issue:
Erick Coleman answers an important tech-support question: What's the best fret-crowning file?
Read more...

Subscribe now
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Three-in-one Fret File
Three-in-one Fret File
 
4 out of 5 stars
Based on 58 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  6 >
4 1-16-2013
Gurian fret file

Nice, ergonomic shape, easy to use. Does what it's supposed to do. My only criticism would be the ease with which the larger blades come out of the handle, but I sorted that by using a washer with the bolt to create a larger area to hold the blade in.

DoC Kildare  Derbyshire, UK Read my reviews (2)
5 12-16-2012
A great tool for the job.

I had dressed frets with a number of different methods before, but this was my first full fret replacement job. I'm a hobbiest, so I didn't want to spend too much. These files worked great for my situation. Thanks Stew-mac.

Bolerama  Saskatchewan, Canada
5 12-15-2012
great design

This file is so easy to use and the angled handle is great for getting into tight spots around the body. The wooden grip is comfortable to work with.

Central Coast Guitars  NSW, Australia Read my reviews (9)
5 12-14-2012
3-in-1 file is great!

I've used numerous files over my 25+years of guitar repair. I finally broke down and bought a new one of these as the old one I had finally wore out. It's probably my favorite file of them all, except for maybe the offset diamond file. I use these to "rough-in" the fret crowns, go over it with the diamond files, and use the sanding stick with 600 or 800 grit belt before using the micro mesh finishing pads for a high shine. I highly recommend this file as it covers all fret sizes and is easy to use.

Bob Long, The Guitar Surgeon  Corpus Christi, Texas Read my reviews (10)
5 11-22-2012
Great choice for getting started

If you're just getting started with building or doing your own repairs, the Three-in-one Fret File is a good choice for getting tooled up. The concave burr surface makes recrowning much easier than doing it by a standard fret file. The handle puts the file a perfect angle for avoiding fatigue. Being prone to carpal tunnel syndrome, this is a major concern for me when choosing tools. While you might want to upgrade to diamond fret files later, if you get more serious, this tool gets you started without being a major cash outlay. I know I will get plenty of use out this. Well worth the price!

Patrick Taylor  Toronto, Canada
5 11-08-2012
Fast and accurate

Been in the luthier business for 4 decades. Using this tool has cut fretwork down so much it's no longer a major chore to do. The file lines up well. Dresses and crowns with no chatter or deep markes in the frets. Polishing after is almost a thing of the past. Paid for itself with the first use. Great tool to have.

Dennis M.  East Texas
5 9-08-2012
For Set neck

Work for crown set neck guitar

niponz  Thailand Read my reviews (31)
5 8-26-2012
Great Fret Tool

This tool is a must for anyone serious about guitar building or repair.

JMG  Smyrna,TN
4 8-24-2012
Versitle and good value

I've used the three-in-one file on 8 guitar builds for crowning frets after leveling. It does an excellent job, although it is slower than a diamond file - but that may be a good thing because it slows you down on softer frets. You do need to be careful not to start cutting into the fret board next to the frets

Ray W.  Minneapolis
5 8-12-2012
Three-in-one Fret File

I normally crown the frets after leveling with 3 sided files or flat files but could not achieve professional results as I now can with the Three-in-one file. And it took less time too. I needed this file urgently to do a fret job for a friend and requested my daughter to place an order for this tool and to ship it by DHL. It arrived within days as you said it would. I am pleased with it. Accompanying photo is my Custom Tele Neck. Thank you Stewart MacDonald - Nicholas

nicholas goh  Kuching, Sarawak, Malaysia
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  ...  6 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 6 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce