Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Fretting : OptiVISOR Headband Magnifier

OptiVISOR Headband Magnifier


Read 78 Reviews   |   Write a Review

See better to do better work! The OptiVISOR flip-up magnifier frees both hands for inlaying, wiring, fret dressing and other close work.

See details below

Email a friend
OptiVISOR Headband Magnifier

Play video

 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1687 OptiVISOR with Quasar LS lights Yes
$70.92

1685 OptiVISOR Yes
$45.97

1686 Quasar LS lights only Yes
$24.95

1688 1.5X magnification lens only Yes
$29.95


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Essential Pearl Cutting Tool Kit



Dan Erlewines Fretting Series



Inspection Mirror



Fieldpiece LED Extension Mirror



3-Piece Inspection Mirror



Essential Pearl Cutting Tool Kit
Dan Erlewine's Fretting Series
Inspection Mirror
Fieldpiece LED Extension Mirror
3-Piece Inspection Mirror



Details
 Pictures
 Video
The OptiVISOR comes with 2X magnification lens with a 10" (25.4cm) focal length — good for medium-close work like pearl cutting, inlaying, engraving and fret-dressing. The lenses are removable so you can switch to the 1.5X lens (#1688, sold separately), which gives you the option of a broader view.

Snap the Quasar LS™ high-intensity lights on the front of your OptiVISOR and really light up your work! High efficiency LEDs (light emitting diodes) surround the lenses to virtually eliminate shadows in hard-to-light areas. The lightweight battery box (with on/off switch) attaches easily to the OptiVISOR frame. Two AA batteries are included.

"However did I manage without it?"
—Stefan Sobell, renowned luthier Northumberland, England

If you've watched our videos, you know ace repairman Dan Erlewine is seldom without his OptiVISOR!

Lenses are optically-ground polished glass. Headband is adjustable and comfortably padded.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
OptiVISOR Headband Magnifier
OptiVISOR Headband Magnifier
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 78 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 41 – 50 < 1  ...  4  5  6  ...  8 >
4 7-10-2012
1688

Good quality

Gusty  Ro Read my reviews (91)
5 6-28-2012
Awesome!

My new favorite tool. The LED lights up what I need to see and I position it so that if I am looking straight ahead I see normally, I look upwards slightly and I am looking through the visor. Makes fiddly work so much easier with aging eyes.

Tim Terry  Alberta, Canada Read my reviews (2)
5 5-17-2012
OptiVISOR is Tremendous!

I am an amp builder, not a guitar builder, but believe me I deal with a lot of detail work and the OptiVISOR is a saviour! Previously, I have been tied to using a fixed magnifying lens/light that worked well, but it's use was restricted to my bench. With the OptiVISOR I can now perform detailed work anywhere in my shop with clarity and ease. Plus, no more eye strain and headaches! Added bonus: it makes my kids laugh when I wear it!

Don Mackrill  Richmond Hill, ON, CA
5 5-07-2012
Better than the rest

I can't recommend the OptiVISOR highly enough.
The quality is far superior to similar designs in my hardware store and the lens itself is beautifully made and very clear. The lights are an added bonus and well worth getting, especially if you plan any electronics work or tinkering inside your amp.
All for a price much lower than the poorer quality alternatives.

Andy Moore  Tokyo
5 3-20-2012
Couldn't do without it

If work looks good to me with the OptiVisor on, it'll look great to any customer. I use it every day.

SF Guitarworks  San Francisco Read my reviews (4)
5 2-06-2012
MAGNIFICENT CLARITY

The OptiVISOR Headband Magnifier makes working in close-up situations very comfortable, and provides me more confidence when tweeking the small stuff. Hands free, lighted control is simply essential, and the frustration level is kept to a minimum; this equipment is the best in comfort and is made in the USA, love it!

KCarp  Roseburg, OR
5 1-20-2012
I can see clearly now

I have used the OptiVISOR for about 8 years. This is a big BIG improvement to have the light right where I want it. Awesome for sharpening

Wil  Canada
5 1-11-2012
Optivisor

Excellent piece of kit - now I can really see whats going on with two hands free

Bob Rumble  England Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 10-30-2011
I could not live with my OptiVISOR

As we develop our skills we unfortunately get older and our poor old eyes begin to suffer. I truly could not do the majority of my work without this Headband Magnifier - it is incredible. I was sceptical when I first ordered it but slowly and surely I started to use them and now spend all day with a pair on my head. Whether looking at inlay, fretwork, neck joints - well actually everything - they are invaluable. Sadly the lenses are plastic and I have a minor scratch on mine but it is not a problem. They are comfortable and I have a few times nearly got in to my car with them still on my head.

Leo Crossfield  UK Read my reviews (12)
5 9-14-2011
Every Old Man Needs This!

Most old men get long-sighted and working on guitars you just have to see what you're doing. This is the answer.

Bob Long  England Read my reviews (7)
Displaying 41 – 50 < 1  ...  4  5  6  ...  8 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 27 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce