Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Fretting : OptiVISOR Headband Magnifier

OptiVISOR Headband Magnifier


Read 78 Reviews   |   Write a Review

See better to do better work! The OptiVISOR flip-up magnifier frees both hands for inlaying, wiring, fret dressing and other close work.

See details below

Email a friend
OptiVISOR Headband Magnifier

Play video

 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1687 OptiVISOR with Quasar LS lights Yes
$70.92

1685 OptiVISOR Yes
$45.97

1686 Quasar LS lights only Yes
$24.95

1688 1.5X magnification lens only Yes
$29.95


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Essential Pearl Cutting Tool Kit



Dan Erlewines Fretting Series



Inspection Mirror



Fieldpiece LED Extension Mirror



3-Piece Inspection Mirror



Essential Pearl Cutting Tool Kit
Dan Erlewine's Fretting Series
Inspection Mirror
Fieldpiece LED Extension Mirror
3-Piece Inspection Mirror



Details
 Pictures
 Video
The OptiVISOR comes with 2X magnification lens with a 10" (25.4cm) focal length — good for medium-close work like pearl cutting, inlaying, engraving and fret-dressing. The lenses are removable so you can switch to the 1.5X lens (#1688, sold separately), which gives you the option of a broader view.

Snap the Quasar LS™ high-intensity lights on the front of your OptiVISOR and really light up your work! High efficiency LEDs (light emitting diodes) surround the lenses to virtually eliminate shadows in hard-to-light areas. The lightweight battery box (with on/off switch) attaches easily to the OptiVISOR frame. Two AA batteries are included.

"However did I manage without it?"
—Stefan Sobell, renowned luthier Northumberland, England

If you've watched our videos, you know ace repairman Dan Erlewine is seldom without his OptiVISOR!

Lenses are optically-ground polished glass. Headband is adjustable and comfortably padded.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
OptiVISOR Headband Magnifier
OptiVISOR Headband Magnifier
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 78 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  ...  8 >
5 4-28-2013
Illuminating

I should have bought one of these years ago. At first I did not think I would need or even use the lights. For me the lights are the best feature. This is a must for your bench!

Rock'n R Guitars  Montana, USA Read my reviews (10)
5 4-14-2013
Excellent For Detail!

These are great for the finer detailing of fretwork, and finding imperfections in finishing! I have used these for inspecting all kinds of stuff around the shop, and you notice things that can easily be over-looked by the naked eye (unless you strain of course)! I bought the Quasar LS lights just to check them out, and I found that the extra light focused just where you are looking is a real help. Not a cheap item, but it certainly has its uses! Cheers! Does anyone else feel like they are Egon from "Ghostbusters" while wearing these? Hehehehehe!

Rockin' Mike Burton  Canada Read my reviews (22)
5 3-28-2013
Skeptical but delighted

I bought the Optivisor 1685 but wasn't sure the quality was going to be there for the fairly steep investment. I have to say I am delighted with the quality and have been using it a LOT! The 2x lens is just right for working 8-10" inches away for a guy that usually needs mild readers to focus.

Ben Plucken  Baltimore MD Read my reviews (3)
5 3-11-2013
A dream tool!

One of the rare tool that changes the life.So good that I've bought a second one for my wife for her little jobs! A five stars tool!

JJ Blues  CAUVIGNY FRANCE Read my reviews (10)
5 3-10-2013
Love it!

This thing is perfect for when I'm doing electronic,fret and set up work. I can't imagine what it would be like without them!

Tim_Garza91  Alaska Read my reviews (6)
5 3-08-2013
Excellent magnifier

Just got the OptiVISOR and additional 1.5x lens and what a difference over the crummy visor I'd been using! Clearer magnification, far more comfortable and stable. I'll don't know that the 1.5x lens will be that useful for me, but I'll keep it in case I need it later.

Ric W.  Highland, MI
5 2-14-2013
Why I did not get this before?

Just amazing how this device helps when precision is required. Not just to help inlay work, but to see and check precise joints and artwork details, this tool is a must. You can do much better when you CAN SEE what you are doing!

Ricardo Fonseca  SP, Brazil Read my reviews (8)
5 12-25-2012
What a difference a day makes.

Like everyone else here below, I can't say enough good things about this product. When I first saw them I thought to myself, 'holy cow! now this will really make me look like Dr. Frankenstein', but in the end, they really do provided a very needed service. The Quasar LS lights should be included with them as they provide much needed light to see things. Keep up the good work.

TommyGuitars  Osaka, Japan Read my reviews (25)
5 12-15-2012
The famous OptiVISOR ( eye vision saver)

By far the "best" product that I have purchased online. Very useful tool for many hobbies that require "eagle" eye vision. Thank you Stewmac, you all ROCK !! \m/

Skado  Houston, Tx, USA
Customer supplied image for review
5 12-08-2012
Optivisor

The best purchase I have made in a long time. This is the perfect item for close up work and the light package throws it over the top. I don't know how I worked in the past(in the dark).

Griggles  Calgary Read my reviews (11)
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  ...  8 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 27 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce