Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Fretting : Offset Diamond Fret File

Offset Diamond Fret File


Read 53 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Dual-edge and better clearance over the body! This well-balanced steel fret file is offset, for more comfortable fret dressing and improved clearance at higher frets.

See details below

Email a friend
Offset Diamond Fret File
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5053 150-grit Yes
$102.42

5054 300-grit 1+ month
$102.42
This item cannot be
ordered at this time.
5059 Set of 2 SAVE $10.58 1+ month
$193.98
This item cannot be
ordered at this time.

Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Radius Gauges



Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files



Fretting Hammer



Fret Cutter



Fret Dressing Stick



Radius Gauges
Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files
Fretting Hammer
Fret Cutter
Fret Dressing Stick



Details
 Pictures
Both full-length concave filing grooves (one for narrow/medium fretwire, and one for medium/wide wire), are uniformly coated with micro industrial-diamond particles. 8-1/2" x 1" x 5/32". Available in either 150-grit or 300-grit.

Sold individually or SAVE when you buy the set of both files.

Diamond fret files are the best way to recrown your frets! Unlike traditional fret files, diamond files cut in both directions, they don't chatter or leave chatter marks, and the fret is smoother after crowning. These files are being used by repair shops and major manufacturers all around the world.

Our diamond fret files have concave cutting edges, one for medium and one for wide fretwire. Each edge is electro-coated with micro industrial diamonds. These super-tough abrasive surfaces round the frets more smoothly than standard toothed files, for cleaner filing without chatter marks. Because the diamond particles cut on the forward and backward strokes, you get better control over your work and the job goes much faster.

We offer three designs of diamond fret crowning files, each in two different grits. Diamond fret files are available in the traditional Diamond Fret File, the curved Offset Diamond Fret File, and the unique Dual-grit Diamond Fret File.

If you're use to traditional fret files, you'll probably be most comfortable with the Diamond Fret File, but you may find the curved design of the Offset Diamond Fret File may allow you to work more comfortably with less arm, wrist, and hand fatigue. Offset Diamond Fret Files are also excellent for working on the frets in the upper registers of acoustic and set-neck electric guitars. They virtually eliminate the chances of gouging the top.

What grit do I need? If you're just starting out in fretting, we recommend the 300-grit files, as they don't remove too much material too soon — a mistake that many beginning fretters make. Even a professional will find the 300-grit file allows them to quickly get the fret properly crowned after only a few strokes.

Use the 150-grit when you need to mill-off lots of material in a hurry.

Works on stainless frets, too!
All of our tools are suitable for use on stainless-steel fretwire, with the exception of our Fret Tang Nippers and Fret Cutters. Modern stainless-steel fretwire is known to be harder than the traditional nickel-silver blends, but our own shop experience indicates the wire does not cause premature wear of files or sandpapers.
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Offset Diamond Fret File
Offset Diamond Fret File
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 53 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3  ...  6 >
5 4-18-2014
great job with little effort

This diamond fret file does the job quickly, I bought the 150 grit and it does leave marks on the side of the fret but the quickness it rounds the fret makes it worth the scratches. I can only assume over time the scratches will get smaller. Like many thing at StewMac's, it's going to take a long time to pay off the price of this file but time saved is worth while.

mfontz  Boston, MA Read my reviews (4)
5 3-16-2014
Makes crowning FAST

I have been using the standard crowning file for the last couple years and always got frustrated at the chatter marks that took a lot of time to get rid of. I decided to bite the bullet and buy this file. I literally cringed as I hit the "submit order" button because of the cost, but I am glad I did. I leveled the frets and with just a few back and forth strokes on each fret with the 300 grit file, I had them re-crowned. This works FAST, even at 300 grit. After that, I followed up with the 400 and 600 grit flexible polishing paper/cloth sheets offered by Stewmac and then polished with a dremel with felt wheel and some green compound. Shiny-shiny frets as usual, but in less than half the time. It really is quite expensive, but it makes one of the most tedious jobs fast and much more bearable.

Mr. T  NY
5 2-13-2014
I love this thing!

I got/had to use my new diamond file last night for the first time. Holy smokes is thing thing smooth and efficient. No chatter or clogging like my standard crowning file. Like everybody says, marking the sides would be nice but no biggie. Also, mine arrived with a sharp pointed end that tore straight through the little plastic cover. I glued the cover and will dremel the end more round.

ElectricLarryLand  New Braunfels, Tx Read my reviews (8)
5 1-18-2014
worth the price

i've had the #300 model for years, i went for the #150 to speed things up, yeah, it does, should have got this years ago too, saves the finger

kent perry, Toad Mountain Music  Retro Tone Guitars,Pavas, costa rica Read my reviews (4)
5 10-27-2013
Offset Diamond fret file

It's probably all been said before but these diamond fret files are the ducks.. er... the bees knees.
They don't chatter like a normal file does, they give far safer access to the frets on the tongue over the body, and they are easier to use than a conventional type file. I've been asked to do reviews on other items I've bought but this one I have no hesitations about, on my own builds and other repair fret work, personally I'd never go back.

Ray crotty  Perth, Australia
Customer supplied image for review
5 9-14-2013
Diamond fret File

I've used this tool for years with excellent results. Wish I designed it. Stewmac supports their tools if any problem arises. It's just like Sears. After a few years my diamond dust chipped off. I only inquired of Stewmac and they replaced the file only asking for a return of the old file. Wow! I only sought information. Additionally, they advised to not use hard hand pressure, that is, let the file do the cutting. And, do not use a wire brush to clean the file avoiding damages. You'd think We would know that! Now we do. Thanks Stewmac........

MED  Delray, FL Read my reviews (37)
5 7-30-2013
Perfect for the DIY - dont waste on other crowning files

When I first looked into leveling/crowning my guitars I bought one of the half round crowning files. As much as I practiced on a dummy neck, mediocre results were hard to come. After reading several reviews I ordered the 300 grit. On my first fret with this file I was able achieve the results I've been trying to get to all this time with the standard half round file. I now feel confident to take this on to my more expensive guitars.

Jesse W  Sudbury, ON
5 5-15-2013
Major time saver.... Get one... Now!!!

I taught myself how to do fret jobs. Learned old-school including crowning levelled frets with small files etc.... I thank many of my friends for their guitars BTW:) I always wondered about these files and after many fret jobs and researching so many different options I thought I'd be stupid not to try one. Ordered a 300 grit and will never use a file to shape frets again. Major time saver, no more slips or accidents on the fret board (c'mon, I didn't go to school for this!).... It is just a great tool. Good weight and as accurate as you need it to be. I can't imagine a practicing luthier or a DIY not having one of these on hand. Spend the money!

DLan  Vancouver, Canada Read my reviews (3)
5 4-25-2013
Exceptional. ALMOST Perfect...

I initially thought that $100 each before shipping seemed too expensive for crowning files... But I have since retired all the others! The heft and balance of these, combined with the radiused ends, make crowning not only easier, but downright enjoyable. They allow for extremely precise crowning with the combination of the long flat edge and the radius, and they are long enough and heavy enough to feel "right" in my large hands. One flaw - they are not marked as to which side is wide or medium, and are not marked well as to the grit. 10 minutes with an engraving bit and this problem is solved, but it would be nicer to have them factory marked. Still - ABSOLUTELY WORTH THE MONEY.

Congletone  Oregon Read my reviews (3)
4 4-10-2013
Really Nice Tool - 300 grit

Highly recommend this tool if you're doing fret work. It would be nice to have the 2 sides labeled for the money. Had an imperfection on the medium side that caused some gouging in the frets. StewMac had another sent to me immediately. Just used it the other day and did a nice job.

Sixth Alarm Guitars  IL
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3  ...  6 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 6 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce