Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Fretting : Fret Tang Nipper

Fret Tang Nipper


Read 60 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Undercuts fretwire so the fret ends fit over neck binding.

See details below

Email a friend
Fret Tang Nipper
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1626 For medium fretwire Yes
$51.76

1649 For wide fretwire Yes
$51.76


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

StewMac Wide Fretwire



Double-edge Fret File



Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files



Fretting Hammer



Fret Cutter



StewMac Wide Fretwire
Double-edge Fret File
Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files
Fretting Hammer
Fret Cutter



Details
 Pictures
Undercuts fretwire cleanly.
There's gotta be an easier way to trim the ends of the frets to fit over the neck bindings, right? Our friend Bill Collings (of Collings Guitars) had an idea that inspired us to produce this simple and precise tool. It's become a repair shop favorite. It does an outstanding job of undercutting fretwire to fit over neck bindings, speeding up fret jobs on bound necks, and helps save the lacquer finish at the edges of the fingerboard. Just insert the wire to the desired depth in the guide notch, squeeze the handle, and the wire is quickly and cleanly undercut. No bending or crimping!

The Fret Tang Nipper is useful for unbound fingerboards too. Try nipping the fret tang to length before installing the fret. Now you'll only need to cut and file the overhanging crown, and the fret will be less likely to twist and unseat.

#1626 is for medium-width fretwire, .075" to .095" (1.90mm to 2.41mm)

#1649 is for wide fretwire, .100" to .120" (2.54mm to 3.05mm)

The Fret Tang Nipper is 6" long (152.40mm), including 4" (101.60mm) rubber-sleeved handles.

Not recommended for stainless steel frets.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Fret Tang Nipper
Fret Tang Nipper
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 60 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 51 – 60 < 1  ...  4  5  6
4 12-23-2010
Great little tool

After nipping the fret tangs using other plier types not necessarily for the job, this fret tang nipper, while a little pricey, it did a great job. I was able to quickly complete the job. Even as good as this nipper is, you still have to grind or file down the remaining bur to have a nice flat surface underneath the fret.

RiveraInstruments  Walkersville, MD Read my reviews (4)
5 12-23-2010
Holy Schlamoly

I don't think i can live without this tool anymore. Its made refretting so fast that i can now refret in 2 1/2 hours instead of 2 days, by sanding by hand. PIECE OF ADVICE, works better on radiused fretwire, instead of straight. Straight fretwires leaves a tiny bit of leftover.

Bernard Ugalde  Guatemala Read my reviews (5)
4 11-20-2010
Can't handle Stainless Steel Frets

The Fret Tang Nipper is an incredible tool when used on typical frets. Our first one got ten years of use. That's a lot of fret nippin'.

Unfortunately it broke apart while using it on stainless steel frets. I really dislike stainless steel frets. They destroy crowning files,fret cutters and now the fret tang nipper. A line of carbide tipped fretting tools would be great for those who must have stainless steel frets. Regardless, this is a "Must Have" tool if you want to do a "Masters Job" quicker and make more money.

Sfguitars  Rocklin, CA
5 11-17-2010
How on Earth did I get along without this??

This terrific little gem has saved me at least thre hours labor in the first week I have had it. I had been doing the undercutting by hand forever thinking this tool was a gimmick. WRONG. NEVER AGAIN. Thanks Stew Mac!

Scott "scOOter" Davis  St. Petersburg, FL Read my reviews (2)
5 11-07-2010
Shop staple

I've done it old school and I've done it with this tool. There is no going back.

GuitarRepairShack  Calgary, Alberta Read my reviews (20)
5 10-08-2010
Glad I didn't wait.

I have only fretted one bound board without this tool. I hope I never have to do it again. This tool works perfect and is very easy to use. I can't find anything to complain about.

Dick Hutchings  Warwick, RI
5 9-23-2010
Good one!

This little tool does everything asked with no argument. Leaves no damage on the edge of the fret & cuts the tang off cleanly. Definitely worth the bucks if you do a lot of fret work

Dan Minard  Canada Read my reviews (3)
5 9-08-2010
You get what you pay for

In an effort to save a few bucks, I picked up a copycat version of the nipper from an online retailer. It worked well enough on medium size wire, but it chewed up the crown on jumbo wire (there were no alternate sizes - it was billed as a one-size-fits-all tool). So I ended up picking up the Stew-Mac version for jumbo wire and was reminded of why I buy almost all of my tools from them. It's high-quality, compact, simple, durable and precise. I'll be buying the medium version as well and tossing my eBay bargain in the recycle bin.
I would second the other reviewer's suggestion that a version for mando/banjo wire would be a great addition to the catalog.

Steve Ruhl  New York, NY Read my reviews (2)
5 9-02-2010
Time Saver

I perform a lot of refrets and I use these for all of them. I recently set up a mobile repair shop and left my fret nips behind. I really like them after having to go to the old school method! I had to modify one of mine so that I could use them on the mandolin and small banjo frets. It would be nice if you added this size to your catalog.

Thanks,

Richie Dotson

Richie Dotson  Chesterfield, Virginia Read my reviews (3)
4 7-30-2010
A little expesive but very nice

This tool is a little expensive but if you like fretboard binding you cannot live without it. Highly recommended

Capu  Switzerland Read my reviews (33)
Displaying 51 – 60 < 1  ...  4  5  6 /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 7 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce