Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Fretting : Fret Tang Nipper

Fret Tang Nipper


Read 60 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Undercuts fretwire so the fret ends fit over neck binding.

See details below

Email a friend
Fret Tang Nipper
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1626 For medium fretwire Yes
$51.76

1649 For wide fretwire Yes
$51.76


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

StewMac Wide Fretwire



Double-edge Fret File



Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files



Fretting Hammer



Fret Cutter



StewMac Wide Fretwire
Double-edge Fret File
Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files
Fretting Hammer
Fret Cutter



Details
 Pictures
Undercuts fretwire cleanly.
There's gotta be an easier way to trim the ends of the frets to fit over the neck bindings, right? Our friend Bill Collings (of Collings Guitars) had an idea that inspired us to produce this simple and precise tool. It's become a repair shop favorite. It does an outstanding job of undercutting fretwire to fit over neck bindings, speeding up fret jobs on bound necks, and helps save the lacquer finish at the edges of the fingerboard. Just insert the wire to the desired depth in the guide notch, squeeze the handle, and the wire is quickly and cleanly undercut. No bending or crimping!

The Fret Tang Nipper is useful for unbound fingerboards too. Try nipping the fret tang to length before installing the fret. Now you'll only need to cut and file the overhanging crown, and the fret will be less likely to twist and unseat.

#1626 is for medium-width fretwire, .075" to .095" (1.90mm to 2.41mm)

#1649 is for wide fretwire, .100" to .120" (2.54mm to 3.05mm)

The Fret Tang Nipper is 6" long (152.40mm), including 4" (101.60mm) rubber-sleeved handles.

Not recommended for stainless steel frets.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Fret Tang Nipper
Fret Tang Nipper
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 60 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5  6 >
5 1-12-2012
Great Tools

Great

niponz  Thailand Read my reviews (31)
Customer supplied image for review
4 10-23-2011
Time saver

Well made tool, but still requires a little detail filing for a smooth underside that will sit flat.

kilphody  NY Read my reviews (15)
5 10-04-2011
Fret Tang Nipper

Really useful for bound fingerboards, works well. Infrequently a slightly rough surface can be formed but I found when this happens it only takes seconds to smooth it out.Quite an ingenious tool.

Pat Green  UK Read my reviews (20)
4 9-28-2011
Great tool

Never had problems with it but it's a little expensive

Nissan Hayun  Israel Read my reviews (22)
5 9-25-2011
Well worth the money!

I can't believe how much time this tool saves me. Even with the little bit of filing to get the underside perfectly flat, I daresay I've been able to cut my fretting time by 50% or better. I used to grind each fret by hand on a grinder and used a file for touch up.

D. Dungee  Dover, OH
2 9-04-2011
Jagged Cutter on a New One?

We use an older one of these at the shop I work at, Teye Guitars, that has done maybe over 100 fret jobs. Decided to get one for myself. Upon making my first cuts, I noticed it was not making flush cuts and leaving jagged leftover tang on the frets which took a while to file off. I compared this one to the old one we have and noticed that on the new one the edge of the moving cutter does not come down flush to "chasis" cutter.

The gap that remains is causing the partial jagged tang to be leftover. I tested it on the medium 149 and 152 wire both before and after bending with same results.

Isaac B.  Austin, TX 78725 Read my reviews (6)
StewMac responds

Isaac B,
We're truly sorry to hear your Fret Tang Nipper is not performing as expected. We'll gladly provide you with a replacement set of nippers today. Our techs will hand select a replacement and provide you with a pre-paid return label, to get the defective set back at no cost to you. Thank you for speaking up.

5 8-31-2011
Must Have

If you do a lot of fret-work, this is a real time-saver! Most of the time there is no cleanup after.

Middleton Guitars  Southern California Read my reviews (51)
5 7-13-2011
Almost perfect

Ok Five stars because it saves so much time and effort and works pretty much flawlessly. StewMac by far has the best quality tools.

My only beef would be that some are rather pricey. But this is a device that does exactly what is says and does it very well.

Caravella Guitars  East Meadow, NY Read my reviews (3)
5 7-06-2011
So simple - So effective!

Can't believe how much easier this little tool makes this job! Fast, accurate, easy. Not cheap, but worth the money.

Yoz  New Zealand
5 6-03-2011
Fret Tang Nipper

This is a great little tool, reducing fretting time to about 20% of what it took filing each fret end before. It cuts accurately, and I can place and fit each fret in seconds.

Pick  New Zealand Read my reviews (4)
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5  6 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 7 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce