Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Fretting : Fret Slotting Miter Box

Fret Slotting Miter Box


Read 42 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Improved and smoother than ever! Big improvements in smoothness and efficiency make this exclusive StewMac tool the ideal fret slotting solution for small shops.

See details below

Email a friend
Fret Slotting Miter Box
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
2230 Miter Box only Yes
$165.25

2231 Miter Box and #5744 Fret Saw SAVE $10.40 Yes
$183.21

2232 Miter Box and #5755 Japanese Fret Saw SAVE $11.00 Yes
$195.64


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Adjustable Fret Slotting Saw



Japanese Fret Saw



Dual Fret Scale Templates



Fret Slotting Table Saw Blade



Fret Work Step-By-Step



Adjustable Fret Slotting Saw
Japanese Fret Saw
Dual Fret Scale Templates
Fret Slotting Table Saw Blade
Fret Work Step-By-Step



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
Our R&D luthiers have added ball-bearing guides that make sawing impressively easier and a lot faster. No more binding or jamming: cutting fret slots is a pleasure instead of a chore!

SAVE when you order the miter box with our Fret Slotting Saw or Japanese Fret Saw.

"You won't believe how smoothly our improved fret slotting system works!"
—Don MacRostie, StewMac R&D

The ball-bearing guides hold your fret saw perpendicular to the fingerboard, and can be adjusted to match the blade precisely. You can quickly slot any board up to 3" (76.2mm) wide, with adjustable depth of cut for any fretwire. You always have an unobstructed view of your work, too—a feature you'll appreciate. Made of rugged aluminum and 12" (304.8mm) long, our miter box has convenient mounting holes for firm attachment to your workbench.

Note: Since the Miter Box only accommodates fingerboards up to 1/2" thick, it will not work for traditional Fender style one-piece necks, or one-piece cigar box guitar necks.


Saw precise fret scales without measuring. A special indexing pin in the side of the miter box is for use with our Dual Fret Scale Templates. They enable fast, easy and accurate fret slotting for common scales. No guesswork, no tedious measuring—a tremendous time-saver!


/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Fret Slotting Miter Box
Fret Slotting Miter Box
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 42 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  5 >
5 8-29-2012
Increased accuracy and time saver

I can't believe it, no more trying to hold a square on a pencil line while trying to keep my saw from slipping. Should have picked one up when I first saw it a couple of years ago.

sgregoryjones  Australia Read my reviews (5)
5 8-19-2012
Great improvement!

After using to the bone the old model, I'm really please with the improved version, works much smoother and perfect accuracy. A must have if you cut your own fingerboards slots!

Benoit Meulle-Stef  Bruxelles
5 8-05-2012
The Righter-Miter!

Got this miter system, read the (well written) directions, set it up, and cut a perfect fretboard, first try... doesn't get any better than that! Being able to adjust depth with a thumbscrew is a real treat compared to clamping a guide onto the saw blade.

CJ Beuhler  Saskatchewan, Canada Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
5 8-05-2012
Great work

Honestly, this is a really great jig and very needed for the custom shop. In addition, it is much better former, which without the bearing, model. Especially with the “Japanese” fret saw. Forgive for my English.

Possokhov Valentin  Petropavlovsk, Kazakhstan
3 7-21-2012
Fret Slotting Jig

In general very good and very needed for the custom builder. For the price good quality. My only complaint would be the allen wrench adjustments @ 4 points whenever building a fretboard with a varience in thickness. The process takes a little time and a little finesse. Wish I could simply dial in the right height and get the job done quickly.

Rob Schuweiler  Bunker Hill, WV Read my reviews (4)
5 7-04-2012
Awesome!

This is a really useful jig. Every instrument I have made I cut the frets on this 'Mitre Box' - of course it isn't a 'Mitre Box' - it is actually a Square cutting box. It would be useful if you could change the angle but I use a wedge to keep my fretwork profile straight (I always shape the fingerboard, afterwards wishing I hadn't been so enthusiastic) but it does allow you to cut perfectly square fret slots and adjust the brass things to limit the depth of the cut.

Leo Crossfield  UK Read my reviews (12)
Customer supplied image for review
5 6-01-2012
Fast delivery or what

I ordered this at 10pm on Tuesday night along with the japanese saw and a Martin fret ruler and rubbers and it arrived this afternoon around 2 pm Friday and i live in the uk!!! AMAZING!!

Jeff Sacree  Cornwall UK Read my reviews (3)
5 5-20-2012
Fret Slotting Jig

Great jig, built well and works as advertised.

Neil L  Australia Read my reviews (2)
5 4-29-2012
Excellent!

I'm using this with the fret rules that lock into place, and the combo is incredible - dead accurate, and the ball-bearing roller guides are really smooth. Once you have this set up for slot depth, everything goes really quickly - my first fingerboard, a 24-fret bass, took less than 25 minutes. I ordered mine with the Japanese fret saw, which is awesome too.

JoeB  Bloomington, MN Read my reviews (2)
Customer supplied image for review
5 4-26-2012
The Best!

Wow! Great tool. I am a Gunsmith by trade specializing in historical recreations and I am anal about tools. Stewmac out did themselves with this one. Quality can't be beat!

Jay Strite  Texas
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  5 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 11 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce