Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Fretting : Fret Slotting Miter Box

Fret Slotting Miter Box


Read 42 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Improved and smoother than ever! Big improvements in smoothness and efficiency make this exclusive StewMac tool the ideal fret slotting solution for small shops.

See details below

Email a friend
Fret Slotting Miter Box
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
2230 Miter Box only Yes
$165.25

2231 Miter Box and #5744 Fret Saw SAVE $10.40 Yes
$183.21

2232 Miter Box and #5755 Japanese Fret Saw SAVE $11.00 Yes
$195.64


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Adjustable Fret Slotting Saw



Japanese Fret Saw



Dual Fret Scale Templates



Fret Slotting Table Saw Blade



Fret Work Step-By-Step



Adjustable Fret Slotting Saw
Japanese Fret Saw
Dual Fret Scale Templates
Fret Slotting Table Saw Blade
Fret Work Step-By-Step



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
Our R&D luthiers have added ball-bearing guides that make sawing impressively easier and a lot faster. No more binding or jamming: cutting fret slots is a pleasure instead of a chore!

SAVE when you order the miter box with our Fret Slotting Saw or Japanese Fret Saw.

"You won't believe how smoothly our improved fret slotting system works!"
—Don MacRostie, StewMac R&D

The ball-bearing guides hold your fret saw perpendicular to the fingerboard, and can be adjusted to match the blade precisely. You can quickly slot any board up to 3" (76.2mm) wide, with adjustable depth of cut for any fretwire. You always have an unobstructed view of your work, too—a feature you'll appreciate. Made of rugged aluminum and 12" (304.8mm) long, our miter box has convenient mounting holes for firm attachment to your workbench.

Note: Since the Miter Box only accommodates fingerboards up to 1/2" thick, it will not work for traditional Fender style one-piece necks, or one-piece cigar box guitar necks.


Saw precise fret scales without measuring. A special indexing pin in the side of the miter box is for use with our Dual Fret Scale Templates. They enable fast, easy and accurate fret slotting for common scales. No guesswork, no tedious measuring—a tremendous time-saver!


/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Fret Slotting Miter Box
Fret Slotting Miter Box
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 42 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3  ...  5 >
5 4-11-2014
Moc šikovná věc

S tímto boxem se pracuje krásně. Můžu všem jen doporučit.

miroslav hefner  chomutov, czech republic
3 4-01-2014
Nice but many marks were missed

This is a great box and does a fine job, but it could be so much better. For one, there should be height markers on the saw bearings so that you can easily match both sides to the same height. The threading on the height adjustment screws should be much finer.

Pacific North Coast Guitars  Washington USA Read my reviews (39)
5 2-17-2014
"How To" for Cigar Box Guitar or one piece neck

Aftern whining that this Miter Box wouldn't work on my Cigar Box Guitar builds ... I came up with a work around that is perfect. As the brass top part of the saw is what glides on the mitre guides ... just get yourself a 14" nylon cable ties and glue them right underneath the brass part of the saw. Perfect thickness with a smoothe edge. It's fantastic and works great. Now you have some working area to adjust the depth. Add a couple 1/4" thick x approx 3/4" wide guide pieces ... and your CBG neck will snap right into place in the middle and it works like a dream. StewMac: You can either post this or just eliminate the post I left whining about it. I love it. -M-

Michael A.  Modesto, CA Read my reviews (2)
5 2-03-2014
hyper pratique

travail soigné,prévoir la scie a dos qui va avec.

Françoisdu16  Charente,France Read my reviews (2)
5 11-07-2013
Miter box

Don't know what I'd do without this. I've been using it to fret my cigar box guitars and for my acoustic restorations. My frets are perfect using the box.

Pete G.  New Haven Read my reviews (2)
5 10-24-2013
Exemplo para todos!

Acabei de fazer outra compra simples e bem rápida neste maravilhoso site que serve de exemplo para o mundo que se chama.

Luthier Felix  São Carlos São Paulo BR
Customer supplied image for review
5 8-31-2013
fret supplies

Purchased the fret miter box and I think that it is one of the finest machines that I have had the privilege of using. No more "guessing" about the frets being straight. the Japanese saw is a rigid saw that fits the miter box perfectly.

John apettinato  Michigan
Customer supplied image for review
4 8-11-2013
Good but still needs finishing

I have just started using the miter box with the dual fret templates. It basically works ok but there is a fair amount of wobble with the template when cutting as the template is fairly loose in the box. I managed to fix this by grinding down the box base till the wobble was minimized. Maybe stewmac could make the base fit the templates more snugly or make the templates a touch bigger or put some grub screws in the box sides to adjust the fit of the template. No big deal really, just took a while to grind the base accurately. For the price it should work straight out of the box. cheers

Andrew Maz  Austria Read my reviews (2)
2 8-04-2013
accurate? not mine..

I received a fret slotting mitre box and was extremely pleased with the ease of slotting a blank fingerboard using a scale template. After slotting an entire board, something told me to check it with a square. To my surprise, it's about 1/16" of an inch off. After disassembling the box, it appears that the base is out of square and the screw holes that hold the sidewall in place are about 1/16" of an inch out of line with each other. Hopefully a replacement with better QC will be the ticket. I'm not happy about wasting a fingerboard blank. For the price (not cheap), a customer shouldn't have to worry about quality control..

jmczaja  NJ
StewMac responds

jmczaja,
Thanks for your order and review. We apologize for the out-of-spec miter box. We've sent a replacement miter box and new rosewood fingerboard blank today. Please contact us if you're not completely satisfied with the new box. Thanks.

5 7-12-2013
Very nice

The good: this can help you make very straight and perfectly even cuts at just the right scale length. The bad: It took me a little finesse to get it to work. One of the gnurled wheel nuts came with the knob askew so it wouldn't turn or fit in the slot (above the wheel bearings). I took it apart, gently filed some burrs off the slot (gently, this is aluminium, I believe, very light), and shaved the wheel until it moved smoothly. It's a little thing, but should have been an easy QC check (it wouldn't turn out of the box). Worst case I could have popped down to the hardware store and grabbed another for a few cents. The instructions could also be better. An online video demoing initial setup would help a lot. Took me some trial and error to figure out how to control the depth of cut. Despite the initial work, I had to do, it is a solid unit and will be a huge asset to cutting my frets. Also, well worth the investment to get the fret scale template that goes with this. Very happy with the purchase.

Joshua Allen  Urbana, IL Read my reviews (6)
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3  ...  5 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 11 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce