Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Fretting : Fret Slot Depth Gauge

Fret Slot Depth Gauge


Read 35 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Be sure your fretwire will fit! Don't wait until after you've installed a fret to discover the slot wasn't quite deep enough!

See details below

Email a friend
Fret Slot Depth Gauge

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
5435 Fret Slot Depth Gauge Yes
$4.95


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Japanese Fret Saw



StewMac Wide Fretwire



Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam



Japanese Fret Saw
StewMac Wide Fretwire
Aluminum Radius-sanding Beam



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Dan Erlewine developed this remarkably handy "look-before-you-leap" gauge for quickly comparing the wire to the slot. Simply hold the flat edge against the fret tang, note the height of the tang against the reference lines, fit the appropriate curved edge into the slot, and compare the lines again.

The gauge is machined from .018" (.46mm) stainless steel for durability in the repair shop, and it fits into any fret slot. It's a big help for refret jobs (it fits bound fingerboards), for setting the depth stop on our adjustable fret slotting saw, and for setting the cutting height of our fret slotting table saw blade. The non-glare etched surface is easy to read, and the curved edges fit all popular radiused and flat fretboards.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Fret Slot Depth Gauge
Fret Slot Depth Gauge
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 35 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  4 >
5 1-17-2013
Fret slot Depth Gauge

Great tool for checking your slots are still the correct depth after gluing the fretboard to the neck and sanding the final radius.

Ian Toalster  Brisbane, Queensland, Australia Read my reviews (3)
5 9-13-2012
Gauge

this is good for a quick check of slot depth

bluesplayerx  ca Read my reviews (9)
5 8-29-2012
Great

A simple but useful tool. A must have.

sgregoryjones  Australia Read my reviews (5)
5 8-22-2012
grreat tool

prefect for fret job usefull

Ivan Souza  England Read my reviews (25)
5 7-09-2012
What a great help!

This little Gauge works great and is a time saver. Worth every penny!

CJORDISON  NORWALK, CA Read my reviews (10)
4 7-06-2012
A great tool.

A great tool.

Gusty  Ro Read my reviews (91)
5 5-21-2012
Very useful.

Important tool for the job scale.

Rodrigo Gomes  Brazil Read my reviews (44)
Customer supplied image for review
4 4-29-2012
Confused

I'm a bit confused as to what line I should be gauging the slot depth to, as there are 2 thin lines printed on the metal. Otherwise the metal fits in nicely and even scrapes out a bit of debris that may be trapped in the groove.

Peter Lagios  Clear Lake, Iowa Read my reviews (7)
StewMac responds

Peter,
The 2 lines on the gauge are used as reference marks to confirm that the length of the tang of new fretwire will fit into the depth of the fingerboard slots. If you ever have a question about how to use one of our products, please contact us. We would be happy to help.

5 4-11-2012
fret gage

perfect tool for gaging depth

Marvin James  Kersey, Colorado Read my reviews (9)
5 1-12-2012
Great

Perfect tools

niponz  Thailand Read my reviews (31)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 11 – 20 < 1  2  3  4 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 9 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce