Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Fretting : Fret Scale Rule

Fret Scale Rule


Read 13 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Determine fret spacings and layout fretboards accurately.
SAVE when you buy the set of three.

See details below

Email a friend
Fret Scale Rule
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0806 All three rules SAVE $9.90 Yes
$79.95

0800 Gibson guitar rule Yes
$29.95

0801 Fender / PRS / classical rule Yes
$29.95

0802 Martin / mandolin / banjo rule Yes
$29.95


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Dual Fret Scale Templates



Saddlematic



Fret Slotting Table Saw Blade



StewMac Wide Fretwire



Radius Gauges



Dual Fret Scale Templates
Saddlematic
Fret Slotting Table Saw Blade
StewMac Wide Fretwire
Radius Gauges



Details
 Pictures
Instructions
"Before working on any vintage guitar, I always check fret accuracy with these rules."
—Dan Erlewine

Our accurate, high quality 22" x 1-1/4" x .030" rules, crafted of durable stainless steel for years of service in professional repair shops. Each rule has four different fret scales, and features precisely etched, easy-to-read markings on both sides.

#0800 Gibson guitar rule
This rule includes Gibson's long scale and three shorter Gibson scales. The three shorter scales are different lengths, but over the years Gibson has referred to all of them as 24-3/4". For more detailed information, see stewmac.com/fretscales
  • 24.562" Gibson (24-9/16")
  • 24.625" Gibson (24-5/8")
  • 24.750" Gibson (24-3/4")
  • 25.300" Gibson long

#0801 Fender / PRS / classical rule
  • 25.5" Fender
  • 25" PRS / Dobro® / National™ / Benedetto
  • 650mm classical
  • 660mm classical

#0802 Martin / mandolin / banjo rule
  • 24.900" Martin short
  • 25.340" Martin long*
  • 13-7/8" mandolin
  • 26-3/16" banjo
*Martin long scale: The scale used on Martin Dreadnoughts is commonly referred to as 25.4" but is actually 25.34".

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Fret Scale Rule
Fret Scale Rule
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 13 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2 >
5 4-28-2013
Great time saver

Well made and a great time saver. A+

Michael Shaw  Philadelphia USA Read my reviews (5)
5 12-14-2012
Excellent addition to workbench tools.

So simple, I can even use it! Seriously, a time-saver.

Bill Styler  Priest River, ID Read my reviews (4)
5 9-08-2012
easy job

fit scale made job to easy job

niponz  Thailand Read my reviews (31)
5 3-28-2012
ok

ok... gostei ... muito bom...otaniel brasil

OTANIEL  CASCAVEL, PR, BRASIL Read my reviews (25)
5 2-17-2012
great ruler

this gibson scale ruler is amazing. no more guessing. Mark and cut with no hesitation.

DT  New-brunswick Read my reviews (22)
4 2-03-2012
A lot cheaper than fret templates

If you want to cut your own fret slot on the cheap but are hesitant because of the price of the fret template that only offers one or two scales?

This rule is a good alternative, and it gives you 4 scales to work from... just make sure you don't confuse it.

It would be nice to have one scale for 4 different common manufacturers like Fender 25", Gibson 24 1/2", Martin long, and mandolin...

Tai Fu  Taiwan Read my reviews (20)
5 1-21-2012
excelent rule ,professional service

absolutely necessary for a new fingerboard

JSouth  Greece Read my reviews (6)
5 5-17-2011
Here's a tip:

I love this scale. No complaints! But I had a few near misses with confusing the Martin short and long scales (almost put the bridge in the wrong place!) I finally figured out to put tape over the scale I was not using for the current project...

morgdan  Mendocino, CA
Customer supplied image for review
5 2-11-2011
space ruler

This is really a good tool.I use to guess and hope to get it right. Most of the time I had to do it all over again. But with this ruler they're is no guessing. Its absolutely great. And when you play the instrument you'd swear its from the company itself. The spacing are so precise.

searchd so long  canada Read my reviews (4)
Customer supplied image for review
5 2-09-2011
Excellent

It has various rules as described:24.562 , 24.625 , 24.750, 25.300
It is very useful to measure and also to cut. Very accurate! Good material.
Gibson rules. No more guesses!

Ivan Souza  England Read my reviews (25)
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 9 of our latest catalog.


Dobro® is a registered trademark of Gibson Guitar Corporation.


National™ is a registered trademark of National Reso-Phonic Company.


Paul Reed Smith® and PRS® are trademarks of Paul Reed Smith Guitars.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce