Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Fretting : Fret Rocker

Fret Rocker


Read 118 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Pinpoint those pesky high frets, and check the final height after you've redressed or replaced them, reach for the Fret Rocker!

See details below

Email a friend
Fret Rocker

Play video

 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
3770 Fret Rocker Yes
$24.45


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

String Action Gauge



String Spacing Rule



Dan Erlewines Nut Making Step-By-Step



Essential Fretting Kit



String Action Gauge
String Spacing Rule
Dan Erlewine's Nut Making Step-By-Step
Essential Fretting Kit



Details
 Pictures
 Video
Our 4-in-1 mini straightedge spans three frets and "rocks" to indicate uneven fret heights. Precision-machined for accuracy to .0015" per foot, the 4", 3", 2" and 1-5/16" edges make it versatile for any fretted instrument, from basses to guitars to mandolins.

The Fret Rocker is made of 1/8" nickel-plated steel with a satin finish, for durability in professional use. It's an indispensable diagnostic tool, before and after partial refretting and recrowning jobs. It lets you do more accurate fret work for better playability.

Essential for fretting
The Fret Rocker is one of seven tools included in our Essential Fretting Tool Kit, a compilation of tools you'll need for the fundamentals of fret work. Kit also includes our book, Fretwork Step By Step by Erick Coleman with Dan Erlewine.

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Fret Rocker
Fret Rocker
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 118 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5  ...  12 >
5 3-11-2013
Great tool

This tool is a must have for any guitar owner. It locates high frets and allows you to know which frets need to be adjusted down to eliminate buzzing.

Rick W  Long Island NY Read my reviews (3)
5 2-09-2013
Very nice product

Bought one of these to check my instruments over which I had never previously done. Located and identified several areas of concern. Its a great product very sturdy, the lengths are really cool. Nothing bad to say about the fret rocker, it works great!

RockinRonnie  Ontario Read my reviews (5)
5 2-03-2013
Fret Rocker

I bought this to conquer a problem with my Ibanez RG's and S series. They all have the wizard type necks, and they all have small issues above the 12th fret with buzzing. This allowed me to find all the spots and fix them so now everything plays perfect. I am not a luthier by any means, but I am handy enough to do this.

skerry  Billerica, MA
5 1-26-2013
Found my problem immediately

Nothing more to say. I had a hunch that maybe a fret or 2 were high and on receiving my Fret Rocker (which I had been putting off for too long) it exactly nailed my problem. I also found out it wasn't the whole fret, just half at the high strings on the 21st fret. Great, simple tool.

Russ Shirley  St. Petersburg, FL Read my reviews (2)
5 1-04-2013
Fret rocker

I've been around guitars for awhile. I became 100% disabled and homebound. So I started doing repairs and set-ups to keep busy. Perfect tool to put in your tool case.

John M  Hamburg NJ USA Read my reviews (2)
4 12-04-2012
Really great!

This is a very nice little tool and works well for its intended purpose. My only complaint is that even the small side is a little too big to check the high end of a mandolin or ukulele fretboard. But it is well made and I have no real complaints about it for guitars and banjos.

Blindrobert  Austin, TX Read my reviews (5)
5 11-28-2012
Fret Rocker

First tool that I have ever purchased for a guitar. Works great. I was able to determine what was creating the "buzz". (And I was ready to use a shim and raise the action.) Took it to a friend with the correct tools to file, smooth etc. and Voila.....better than new!!!!

Paul G95  Mississauga Ontario
5 11-26-2012
No Fret, Rocker

This item is pricey, but perfect. I can't imagine a more straight forward - or easier to use - tool for locating those high frets up and down the fingerboard. Could I make this? Yes. But I think I'd rather spend my energy working with wood. A great tool.

pcampbell  NY
5 11-09-2012
Excelent!!!!

absolutely a MUST in your toolbox for setting up and calibrating your instruments, recommended 100%

StringsFromHell  Chile Read my reviews (3)
5 9-28-2012
Great Tool

Necessary for any workshop and built to last.

Jeff L.  Appleton, WI Read my reviews (3)
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5  ...  12 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 12 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce