Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Fretting : Fret Puller

Fret Puller


Read 40 Reviews   |   Write a Review

This tool is just for pulling, not cutting, frets. Its spring-loaded flush-ground 1/2" jaws are small enough for a better bite.

See details below

Email a friend
Fret Puller
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
1637 Fret Puller Yes
$26.45


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Chip Stoppers



StewMac Wide Fretwire



Double-edge Fret File



Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files



Fretting Hammer



Chip Stoppers
StewMac Wide Fretwire
Double-edge Fret File
Fret/Fingerboard Leveling Files
Fretting Hammer



Details
 Pictures
It helps reduce wood chip-out, and does a better job of getting under frets and lifting them than wider cutters. Comfortable rubber-coated handles.

Chip-free fret jobs: try the Fret Puller with our Chip Stoppers, and forever change the way you remove frets.

Works on stainless frets, too!
All of our tools are suitable for use on stainless-steel fretwire, with the exception of our Fret Tang Nippers and Fret Cutters. Modern stainless-steel fretwire is known to be harder than the traditional nickel-silver blends, but our own shop experience indicates the wire does not cause premature wear of files or sandpapers.
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Fret Puller
Fret Puller
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 40 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3  4 >
5 6-30-2013
PERFECT!!!

I used these pullers on a VERY vintage and fragile fretboard. The frets were filed almost flat, but this little gem snuck them out with very little chip out!!! A specialty tool for a specialty job!!!

Robert Meeks  Christiana, Pa.
4 5-05-2013
Good but not perfect

5 stars for design. The spring loaded handles makes "walking" the fret out in small steps a breeze. 3 stars for quality and execution. The jaws are not ground quite flat or sharp enough. It's difficult to get them into under the ends for the initial pulling action. The edges wore noticeably after one use. I am a long time Stew-Mac customer in the process of replacing or upgrading many 10-15 year old tools. It seems like more bells and whistles and less build quality is unfortunately a recurring theme compared to the older tools.

Midnight Luthiery  USA Read my reviews (6)
5 3-21-2013
Nice

really is made especially for guitar, my favorite.

Carlos GirĂ³n  Ny Read my reviews (28)
5 11-25-2012
A quality tool

First rate quality tool.

Will-Halligan  Southport England Read my reviews (4)
2 11-13-2012
paid all that for these??

Well, i bought these from Stew Mac deciding that they're the "right tool for the job." Perhaps I'm missing something here, but I can buy these elsewhere with the same style jaws for getting under frets. I'm going to use them because I have them, but I wont be re-ordering if they wear out.

ugly_guitar_guy  Los Angeles, CA Read my reviews (4)
5 11-04-2012
The Magnificent Tool

Upon receiving my package, which seemed to take forever to arrive (Canada customs, not StewMac's fault) I pounced on my bass neck like a feral cat. After long hours spent eagerly awaiting these pullers, I had already had my workspace set up and ready to go. I finished the job in no more than 30 minutes, all frets pulled clean out with no wood chipping or splintering. Last time I tried defretting (on a crappy guitar destined to be smashed for a video) it took me 3 hours, using an improper tool for the job. Get the pullers if you need to defret anything. Saves you time and does the job right.

Humps  Canada
5 10-09-2012
Fret and bridge saddle puller!

Really good tool for the purpose. I also use it with a small amount of pressure to remove the saddle from the bridge!

GavinB  Perth, Australia Read my reviews (26)
5 9-09-2012
fret puller

I tried prying tools-no good. Even tried drilling and extracting.(almost ruined board) Finally broke down and ordered fret puller. Worked like a charm, even on very worn frets. Well worth the price.

Joe's guitar  montrose,CO
5 8-27-2012
Easy!

The fret puller is easy to use with minimal damage or chipping to the fret board. I used it on a banjo with intricate inlays and experienced no difficulties with lifting of the inlays. Worth the money.

Dr. Don  Melbourne, Australia Read my reviews (10)
5 8-07-2012
The right tool for the job

Hardware store snips are not ground to the right shape to get under a fret. This tool is right for the job. It has been effective for me.

James Murphy  Plymouth England Read my reviews (12)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 1 – 10 1  2  3  4 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 11 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce