Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Fretting : Fret Press Caul

Fret Press Caul


Read 73 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Use your drill press! Our self-leveling steel fretting caul has a 3/8" shank to fit your shop arbor press or your drill press.

See details below

Email a friend
Fret Press Caul
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
4365 Caul with 5 brass inserts Yes
$53.67

4366 Caul only Yes
$39.42


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Fret Press Inserts



StewMac Wide Fretwire



Dan Erlewines Fretting Series



Fret Arbor Press System



Jaws



Fret Press Inserts
StewMac Wide Fretwire
Dan Erlewine's Fretting Series
Fret Arbor Press System
Jaws



Details
 Pictures
Includes five grooved/radiused brass inserts (6", 7-1/4", 9-1/2", 12" and 16").

Additional radii are available: Fret Press Inserts

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Fret Press Caul
Fret Press Caul
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 73 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5  ...  8 >
5 7-11-2012
I don't want to go back...

... to hammering frets. On all necks that are new or removable (bolt on) I set the neck in a cradle and use this with my drill press. Love it!

Chris Thomas  Elizabeth, PA Read my reviews (20)
Customer supplied image for review
5 6-26-2012
Works good

Well I'm done hammering fret from here on out. Much cleaner and consistent than tapping.

RLowVaughn  Boise, Id. Read my reviews (19)
Customer supplied image for review
5 4-12-2012
OK

ottimo prodotto. La stewart macdonald รจ una ditta veramente pazzesca.

Marco Ferrari  Italy Read my reviews (6)
5 4-12-2012
Absolutely Great!!

My first job doing frets on my first tenor ukulele and they turned out great, I can't imagine to have done them using the old method of hammering them in. It worked great on my 20 inch drill press.

Maysey  San Bernardino, California Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
5 3-23-2012
fret press crawl

I re-freted using slightly over radiused frets, and pushed them right in with the fret crawl. This is a God send!! Great product. A must have if you do any fret or re-fret job!! Currently have done three necks with minimal fret leveling in just the first week!!

mind explosion  decaturIl
5 3-16-2012
Fret Press Caul

OH YES..... I used this in my drill press to install frets with a Smile on my face the whole time !!!!! No hammer dings, uniform and very snug fit !!! What a treat !!!

Edward King  Staunton Va. Read my reviews (4)
5 3-12-2012
Yeah, has great value in the workshop

Still hammer in frets, only when necessary now.
Over an acoustic body,you still need to pull out the hammer, but all the others, and electric bolt-on necks, it's so cool! I feel (and see) a really positive seating of the fret with this caul in my drill press. Just wish all these great tools could be just a little less costly!! Great addition to the workshop

Dave Andrews  Margate, South Africa Read my reviews (6)
5 3-07-2012
excellent tool !!!!!!!

i used to pound frets in with a hammer, sometimes that is still necessary however this tool has made the bulk of my fret work much faster and easier.

S. Benson  Portage, wi. Read my reviews (2)
5 2-19-2012
great

Fantastic, easy to use and fast for a perfect job on my 1957 Strato

fenderlele  venezia, IT Read my reviews (3)
Customer supplied image for review
5 2-14-2012
Fret Press Caul

I have re-fretted several guitars in the last years, and always looked to this tool with curiosity but never bought it. Last week i decided to go for it and... FANTASTIC!!! refretted a 74 strat neck in 20 min?!? could not believe it myself, great tool...

Lillo  Switzerland
Displaying 31 – 40 < 1  ...  3  4  5  ...  8 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 10 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce