Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Fretting : Fret Press Caul

Fret Press Caul


Read 73 Reviews   |   Write a Review

Use your drill press! Our self-leveling steel fretting caul has a 3/8" shank to fit your shop arbor press or your drill press.

See details below

Email a friend
Fret Press Caul
 
  Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
4365 Caul with 5 brass inserts Yes
$53.67

4366 Caul only Yes
$39.42


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Fret Press Inserts



StewMac Wide Fretwire



Dan Erlewines Fretting Series



Fret Arbor Press System



Jaws



Fret Press Inserts
StewMac Wide Fretwire
Dan Erlewine's Fretting Series
Fret Arbor Press System
Jaws



Details
 Pictures
Includes five grooved/radiused brass inserts (6", 7-1/4", 9-1/2", 12" and 16").

Additional radii are available: Fret Press Inserts

/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Fret Press Caul
Fret Press Caul
 
5 out of 5 stars
Based on 73 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  ...  8 >
5 12-01-2012
Forget about hammering!

You want to keep your hammer nearby but this is the tool for the job!

Srdjan  Valjevo, Serbia Read my reviews (4)
5 11-16-2012
Perfect job

The fret press caul and a flat insert I purchased are excellent quality parts and did a great job on an acoustic guitar. Anyone wondering if pressing the frets in beats hammering them in I assure you it is the way to go.

Commissioner  Norfolk, VA Read my reviews (8)
5 11-15-2012
Fret Caul Press & Inserts

Pressing your frets in with this caul and the proper radiused insert is a far superior way to install frets over and above the old hammering technique. You get far more control, cleaner work, and no bounce back from hammering. If you buy the caul and set of inserts package, be sure to check that you also order all the individual radiused inserts you will need for whatever types of fingerboards you'll be working with, as the "set" leaves a few out. I got good results just buying the caul and all the inserts, and then using my drill press for pressing them in. Good investment.

John Rossbach  Elkins, WV Read my reviews (2)
5 10-29-2012
Service received with a smile

Sensational service. Quick and very easy.

GEC  Melbourne, Australia
5 10-24-2012
Must have gear

these items are not available in the UK and they are the best way to re-fret a guitar neck. They make the job so easy! One tip- I bought the range of brass inserts plus the Neck support caul!

John Carson  Edinburgh, Scotland Read my reviews (4)
5 10-19-2012
Perfect Fretting!

Why did I wait so long to press frets in? This tool sets those frets cleanly and evenly with no gaps!

Archtop  USA Read my reviews (9)
5 10-07-2012
Twin set

I bought two of these, one set is used with my arbor press and the other for use with the Jaws. Since I mainly built acoustics the two sets meant I didn have to bother changing the attachments to use either press. Would have liked to see a straight attachment for the ukelele kit that Stewmac provide.

GavinB  Perth, Australia Read my reviews (26)
5 9-18-2012
Wouldn't be without it.

Anybody who isn't pressing frets is living in the dark ages. This is a wonderful tool, and almost indispensable when working with stainless (much more springback from hammerblows).

Greg Robinson - Guitar & Amplifier Technician  Melbourne, Australia Read my reviews (54)
5 9-13-2012
Must have it.

We have been using this since years. It really helps the fretting. Very pro.

JoseSRV  Argentina Read my reviews (11)
5 9-09-2012
Fret press caul

I love this set up, with proper slot width, this works very nicely.

Dean W Richardson  Kirkland, Washington Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
Displaying 21 – 30 < 1  2  3  4  ...  8 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 10 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce