Stewart-MacDonaldEverything for building and repairing stringed instruments!
Your order cart Your order | Account | Saved list
Sign in
Email
800-848-2273, 9AM-6PM EST, M-F
Home Free catalog Quick order International Customer service

Home : Tools : Special tools for Fretting : Fret Erasers

Fret Erasers


Read 95 Reviews   |   Write a Review

An easy way to make your frets shine! Fret Erasers™ are flexible self-padded rubber blocks embedded with abrasive grits.

See details below

Email a friend
Fret Erasers
 
Item# Description In stock Price Quantity
0472 Complete set of 5 SAVE $3.00 Yes
$30.95

0467 Coarse (blue) Yes
$6.79

0468 Medium (red) Yes
$6.79

0469 Medium-fine (green) Yes
$6.79

0470 Fine (gray) Yes
$6.79

0471 Extra-fine (yellow) Yes
$6.79


Selected currency  
 
 









 Processing...






Related items

Fret End Dressing File



Essential Fretting Kit



Gorgomyte Fretboard Conditioning Cloth



Fret Dressing Stick



Fret Polishing Wheels



Fret End Dressing File
Essential Fretting Kit
Gorgomyte Fretboard Conditioning Cloth
Fret Dressing Stick
Fret Polishing Wheels



Details
 Pictures
They're incredibly handy—use them in sequence as a final step on freshly-crowned frets, to erase fine file marks and scratches. The grits are color-coded for convenience. Frets gleam, and play buttery-smooth.

"I used to wrap abrasive papers around small rubber blocks, but that got a little clumsy. Fret Erasers are simpler and faster. No more sandy grit or sharp steel wool particles."
—Erick Coleman, repairman and StewMac tech advisor

Each Fret Eraser is 2-1/2" x 3/4" x 3/8" (63.50mm x 19.05mm x 9.52mm)

SAVE when you order the complete set of 5 grits.

Works on stainless frets, too!
All of our tools are suitable for use on stainless-steel fretwire, with the exception of our Fret Tang Nippers and Fret Cutters. Modern stainless-steel fretwire is known to be harder than the traditional nickel-silver blends, but our own shop experience indicates the wire does not cause premature wear of files or sandpapers.
/\ Top of product page
 Ratings and reviews
Fret Erasers
Fret Erasers
 
4.5 out of 5 stars
Based on 95 ratings Write a Review
Sort reviews by
Displaying 61 – 70 < 1  ...  6  7  8  ...  10 >
1 5-29-2012
Not what I hoped for

This looked great from other reviews, but I found them to be quite the opposite

They don't save me any time.
They still make a mess (eraser-like shavings)
They don't leave a shine any better than 0000 steelwool (Which is not great for anything other than a Squier).

My prefered method to polish after crowning is: Sanding-Stick with 400 & 600-grit belts, then 3M polishing papers.

Middleton Guitars  Southern California Read my reviews (51)
5 5-21-2012
sweet

I ordered all five grits and have done 10 fret dressings with these. a lot less mess then steel wool and sandpaper. Also recommend the mirco fiber pads and start with these then finish with micro pads you frets will, Gleam! I will never go back ..well unless I get a 25 year old guitar that has been played hard with original frets! Buy these.

kennylee  aberdeen maryland Read my reviews (4)
3 5-16-2012
Pretty Decent

Just started trying these in my repair shop on a tip from a friend. Have used on 3 fret dressings so far. In my limited use my conclusions are the following:
Don't seem to get the pre polish shine that I do when using some sandpaper and steelwool. I thought they would do a better job of this. Definitely cleaner on the hands than the aforementioned sandpaper and steelwool. Nice for doing a quick cleanup on frets for a guitar that is in for a setup and not really paying extra for a full fret polish. Shape is very nice to fit over the frets when using the fret guards from Stew Mac. Maybe my opinion will change after using them a few more times, but they are about a 3 or 3.5 to me. I can see perhaps using 400 grit sandpaper first and then going to these. My standard mode for polishing frets that have just been leveled and rouned is this: I usually go from 400 to 600 to 0000 steel wool, and them dremel polish them with diamond bar. That gets them just about factory shiny. These Fret Eraser alone dont even come close to that, but again, in conjunction with sandpaper first and dremel after I can see them being really useful. Hope that helps.

M. Adams  Pasadena, CA Read my reviews (3)
5 5-01-2012
Time Saver!

The fret erasers work very well for me!The 1000gt is overkill for me though, cause I do the final polish with a buffing wheel.

DJAcoustics  Michigan Read my reviews (3)
5 4-24-2012
5 for 5!

If you haven't tried these grit erasers you are missing something amazing! I bought the set of 5 and the time I saved using them once paid for themselves. This idea was long overdue.

Shannon D.  Jamestown, MO. Read my reviews (2)
4 4-19-2012
Great for a Quick Finish

I still prefer the sand stick and progressively finer grits after leveling or dressing but the Fret Erasers are quick and easy for putting a high shine on frets. I use them when setting up a new guitar. I also carry a couple in my gig kit (along with a couple of Fingerboard Guards) for quick touch ups.

JMAC  Denton, Texas
5 4-19-2012
Fret Erasers

They are not almond paste but they are
also excellent for working very well finished without worry.
Charly/Nîmes/South of France

charly  splendid Read my reviews (4)
4 4-18-2012
Fret Erasers

They do a nice job in a pinch. Don't know how much time I'll save with them as I am always set up with proper paper and sticks, but still nice to have.

Jerry Pietrzak BlueMystGuitar  Clark NJ Read my reviews (6)
Customer supplied image for review
4 4-18-2012
Still need to be buffed!

Great product to get you to buffing but still need to buff if your looking for that shine

Theguitarshop  USA
2 4-16-2012
mmmmm.....

I'm kind of disapointed about these erasers, i mean, they were supposed to work faster and better than sand paper. I also had to wait months to be able to buy them cause every time they were off the stock 'cause their popularity.

They arrived just by the time i was finishing my last refret and i was so happy to finaly use them... and then, the shine turned out very mediocre and they didn't remove file marks.

Maybe they work wonders with diamond grit round files, but not with teeth files. I've gotten much better results with a sandstick and then sand paper to the from 1000 to 2000.

But hey! i'll give them a chance, maybe i just haven't discover how to use them correctly yet.

Mario Gabinho Cárdenas Vega  México Read my reviews (17)
Displaying 61 – 70 < 1  ...  6  7  8  ...  10 > /\ Top of Reviews


Shown on page 5 of our latest catalog.
Select your items, then click ADD to order

To add items to your order, select the check box next to the item you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to purchase here, or in Your Order.

Select your items, then click Save for later

To add items to your saved list, select the check boxes next to the items you want. You can edit the quantity you wish to save here, or in your Saved List.


Toll-free order line:   800-848-2273   9am-6pm Eastern Time, M-F



Your order | Your account | Trade Secrets E-mail Newsletter
Home | Free catalog | Catalog Quick Order | International | Customer service
Our guarantee | Shipping | Security & Privacy | Contact us
Site map | About Us | Employment
© Copyright 2014 Stewart-MacDonald
Your shopping is secure with VeriSign! Trusted Commerce